We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super love the place! :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Me and hubby spent our 1st wedding anniversary here and it was amazing! We stayed in a lagoon view room for 3 nights and did lots of the activities available within the resort (biking,kayak, firing range, jetski, we even got to try the giant slides in Mogambo falls! & of course the diving rock). Spent a good time in the waterfall deck which is very wonderful and private. We love the small jacuzzis around the kilimanjaro pool. The food is delish. Everyone was great! I mean the staff, even the gardeners greet you. The place is wonderful & romantic especially at night. This place is something Cebuanos should be really proud of. The place is great for any celebration. On our 10th year together, we plan to renew our vows here! We're going out of the country for our anniversary for this year 2011 and maybe we'll be back in Plantation Bay the year after! :)

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mrandmrsshihtzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,831)
There are newer reviews for Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,130 - 1,136 of 1,831 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2011

Ive never had the unfortunate accursedness of staying in a place which looked so good in the brochure, and yet was the worst place ive ever stayed, the staff were intolerable, drinks never came, and when friends came to visit us we were slapped with 2000PHP each for them to simply come inside to see us, surprising us with an extra 8000PHP bill when we checked out. The buffet lunch was the only reasonable thing we enjoyed, although was all cold food with unlit heaters, it was good food. There is no manager on site and i wasnt going to spend my holiday complaining to manager over endless problems that werent in the brochure, we couldnt even get out as the office staff wouldnt call us a taxi as we had to use there car service 1200PHP to go 3 kms to other hotel shangri la. The shangri la ended up picking us up for free which was a good surprise. For an expensive hotel this place is one of the worst, and hope they clean the place up, as it could be a great resort, Reading the other reviews it seems like a real estate or managers quote explaining all the facilities and how great they are. Im sure they not from real guests and simply hotel writing itself up.
Can someone else please write also a honest review so i dont feel stupid putting this review in pot of obvious hotel owners reviews.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank etroy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Notwithstanding a slight hiccup upon check-in (our room was not ready and front desk officer was going to put us in a temporary room while waiting for our room), I must say that our overall Plantation Bay experience was extremely satisfying and enjoyable. First of all, the people....contrary to what has been written on some blogs, we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.... from the gentleman who manned the Plantation Bay counter at Mactan airport, to the duty manager named Angela (who efficiently resolved our check-in problem), to the restaurant attendants (especially Jacque, Weng and Bobby at Savanna), the Mogambo Spa staff (Hazel, Elaine, Kristine, Jen), the car driver (Lyndon), even the bibingka attendants (Roel and Vonn). We were so pleased with their level of service that we vowed to write a blog about them. It was amazing to see warm smiles from everyone we encounter. Even more so, since they weren't doing it for the anticipated tips (the resort has a strict no tipping policy).
The facilities are beautiful. We stayed in a one-bedroom suite at the Xanadu Lodge. The room was very spacious with a full living area (with a night bed) and a big bedroom with a king size bed. There is a large full bathroom and another powder room in the living area. We had a large patio literally a few steps from the large saltwater swimming lagoon. There is also a nice little island with a hammock. We spent a lot of time in the patio, just taking in the scenery and enjoying the nice breeze. The water in the lagoon was warm and comfortable. However, we really enjoyed swimming and lazing around in the whirlpool areas in the Kilimanjaro fresh water pool. The highlight of our stay was our spa treatment at the beautiful Mogambo spa, where they have three large jacuzzis (two with hot water) and a refreshing cold water pool and water fall area. The massage was heavenly.
Overall, probably one of the most relaxing and satisfying vacations we ever had. Highly recommend this, especially for families.

Stayed: December 2010
1  Thank Rdkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

So, this place is pretty big. In fact, they take you to your room in a golf cart. But it's not too big that you can't walk around, and in fact, it's a nice walk as the property is configured in a circular shape.

The best feature here is the water. They have several salt water lagoons, and most of the rooms look out onto them. Our room was a "water's edge" room, which allowed us direct access to the lagoon from our balcony, which was kinda cool. If you're looking for a quieter room, try one of the windward rooms that surround a little private fresh-water pool. There are three other fresh water pools as well. Lots of water activities such as slides and swim up bars. Great place to bring the kids too.

This trip was planned as a romantic get-a-way so that I could propose to my girlfriend. The hotel offers a "Romantic Rendezvous Package", which I highly recommend. For only $120 US extra, they assign you a private butler who arranges for some services at the times you specify. To begin, they will completely "romance" your room by adding candlelight, draw a bubble bath, and sprinkle rose petals on the bed and in the bubble bath (see pics). When you arrive at the room, the music of your choice is playing and candles are lit. They also provide a beautifully arranged dozen red roses, and sparkling wine and chocolates. At dinner, which we had scheduled out at Lover's Rock, a private rock overlooking the beach, they also have serenaders come and sing for you. It was really all very well done, and the butler was very discreet when contacting me. The only hitch for us was the weather, which precluded us from dining at Lover's Rock, so we were accommodated at the adjoining restaurant.

My only real complaint is transportation. This resort is located pretty far from the main town, but easy enough to get a taxi to take you. However, when you want to leave to go into town, they will not call a taxi for you. You are forced to either use their hotel car (at 3x the rate of a cab) or wait for a taxi to drop someone off and grab that cab. We opted for the latter, with not too long a wait.

Oh, one more thing....the Spa here is beautiful! I would highly recommend booking the spa package that included a special "zen designed" room and a massage for two every night. Once inside the spa area, it's very secluded and quiet, and has a three beautiful soaking areas that you can use, as well as a waterfall you can swim under. It's really awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sleeper-Keeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

I'd highly recommend this place if you have young children, love scuba diving or just kicking back by the pool and enjoying massages. There is enough to do at the resort to keep all occupied the length of stay. We took advantage of the resorts' promotion received a hefty discount for staying 6 nights at the resort. The room we stayed in was a 2 bedroom suite and there were 3 adults and 1 child (16 mths old) travelling.

ACTIVITIES
Diving - The resort is perfectly nestled on the edge of Mactan facing the outlaying islands. If you are keen on diving, the aquasports shops located onsite will be able to provide you with all the equipment and services you need to complete multiple boat dives - to locations including Hilutungan Island Marine Santuary, stingray point and also to a wreck nearby. Each dive spot is about 20-30 mins away by boat.
Spa - When not diving, we spent most of the time at the spa - usually in the evenings while bub was asleep. Spa is open till 11pm in the evening so it was a perfect way for parents to have a nice relaxing dinner and massage. A babysitter is available on demand and costs a mere 200pesos an hour with the first 30 mins free.
For Kids - there is a children's activity centre onsite. admittedly, it's small and a little pokey and musty, but my son and the other kids there seemed to enjoy nonetheless. There is also a small open air playground and plenty of pools with shallow water for kids to play in.
Other stuff - a firing range (yes you heard right), USD20 buys your 7 bullets and you can choose from a small selection of pistols to shoot with.
Other other stuff - rocking climbing wall, tennis, games room, bikes and archery. There is also daily activities run on the resort for guests to participate in like fish feeding, crafts, henna tattoos etc.

FOOD
There are several restaurants and cafesto choose from, each with it's own theme (seafood, Italian/Spanish, fastfood, international cuisine). We tried each one in turn but found that the 'dinner buffet and show' which is held nightly was the best fun for all at around 990pesos per adult. A different show was put on each night eg, Grand Sahara, Hawaiian Luau, Filipino Fiesta etc My son loved the shows and dining outdoors.

All in all, we really loved our stay at the Plantation Bay Resort and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dogsneaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

This is a big resort with lots of visitors on packages from Korea (while we were there) and has a huge swiiming area around which it is centered.

Would suit a family who wanted their kids to have a safe swimming experience ( a really fun water slide) and has beautiful food, safe environment etc. Staff very friendly, very good language skills etc, but I would agree with another review in that they seem to have lotsof rules to follow. No minibar unless organised with reception etc, strict midday checkout even though the resort seemed only about 40% full. Lots of activities for a day or two. We liked the wall climbing, the archery and the slide which were free. Other activities like jet ski and parasailign are avilable but expensive.

We also liked the Phils culture night. Great food that night too.

It is expensive however...well the rates we paid were. I am not sure if better packages are available but we stayed in lagoon room and with meals it worked out to be at least double any other premium hotel in cebu. But would recommend it for a relaxing stay if dollars arent a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank extralite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Great family resort. Busy with water sports and activities everyday. Friendly staff. Reasonably priced.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank Westgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
3.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
4.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
704 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 91 in Cebu City
3,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Bay Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Bay Resort And Spa

Address: | Marigondon, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £140 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plantation Bay Resort And Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort in a class of its own. Set in 11 hectares of secluded grounds yet only one hour (when traffic is bad) from Cebu City, Plantation Bay offers one of the largest privately-owned waterways in the world, with the clean elegance of colonial-plantation architecture. Decompress from life’s pressures in the healing tranquility of an environment that truly feels “away from it all.” If you have ever spent time at a tropical plantation, you know what we mean. If not, come and discover a refreshingly different Flavor of Life. Whether you’re traveling for a family vacation or romantic getaway, for business or pleasure, this is far and away your best choice in the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Plantation Bay Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Bay Resort And Hotel Lapu Lapu
Plantation Bay Hotel
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing