We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our vacation at the Mövenpick” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our vacation at the Mövenpick”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Our family enjoyed our 3 night stay here to attend a beautiful wedding.
Beautiful resort with beautiful facilities.
Good rooms, average size, with complete amenities.
Good food selection at breakfast. What was great were fresh fruit juices made to order.
Staff were very helpful and Service was enthusiastic but sometimes slow (maybe they're understaffed?)
Location is about an hour's ride from the city, which was ok with us as we preferred to stay in the resort and lounge about the beach and pool anyway. If you plan to swim in the sea, better to bring shoes that can be worn in the sea as the sand is not fine (sharp corals, rocks, shells).
Renovations were still ongoing but not intrusive.
They need to do something about the fruit flies though, which seem to be everywhere, even In our room and the restaurant.

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors seem to be newer and will give you a great view of the surroundings and ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pblanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
I am happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay here with us during the recent wedding that took place in our hotel.
I took note of your comments on the issue about the efficiency of our employees. We are continuing our training efforts in order to improve this. We are also currently working on the beach quality and the reduction of flies in our open areas.

I hope we will welcome you again soon to our hotel.

Thank you

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    617
    275
    99
    58
See reviews for
645
598
74
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

This review is based only for Day Use
Having the same rate as some other three-star resort in Mactan with buffet lunch, we decided to try this resort looking at the good reviews.

We arrived during breakfast and The Sails restaurant is full including tables near the lobby. And most of the attendants are busy.

After paying at the reception, we asked for the changing room so we can change for our swimming attire.

Nobody could direct us to a shower room or a changing room, we went back and forth, waited for one attendant to ask for the manager for a while. No wonder thy were having a hard time as there is none.

The manager explained that the hotel is being renovated so there is no provision for a shower room. If they have a day use package, they should have included a changing room for these guests.

There were only two pools we saw and each of them are small. The beach near the hotel allowed for swimming or other water activities is also small.

After finding out that we have limited access to everything, we decided to just refund and transfer to another resort.

Good thing we didn't have any problems getting the refund.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank happyionnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
I appreciate your review as it helps us improve further on our facilities and services. As you pointed out, the hotel has recently re-opened and we are still in the process of fine tuning our services. I apologize for the obvious lack of communication from our team as we do have shower and changing rooms available of course.

I hope you will give us another try in the near future and please feel free to ask for me personally if I can be of assistance.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

I went to see the new renovation done at the Movenpick. I took special interest in the floors and decking, and I think they have found a very elegant way to combine the indoor flooring with the outdoor Merbau decking. The combination of contemporary furniture and the maritime and natural feel is genuine, and very well done.

Room Tip: If you need to work while staying at the hotel, ask for a room with a desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stangegaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
I am thankful for your positive comments on the results of our recent renovations and you pointing out the large amount of natural wood decking implemented throughout the entire public areas, gardens, beach and the new Ibiza Beach Club. I believe this aspect of our renovation has helped tremendously to bring across our vision to enhance the natural look and feel of our hotel and has already received a lot of positive remarks from our guests.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed only 1 week after the official opening of the hotel, which is a new Movenpick in a renovated hotel. Clearly renovations did not go as planned because all was not yet finished. The room above us was being worked on all through our first night, with crashing and banging all through the night. The business centre was not open nor two of the three Restaurants in the hotel. Wifi did not work as offered.
But... the staff were amazingly friendly, every one of them. The hotel gave us free cocktails, unexpectedly so, and a free sunset cruise (which was cancelled because of weather, but they made up for it with free wine).
Once they get over the teething troubles, we think it should be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scots_Pinoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
I thank you for posting the first review of our hotel after our recent re-launch. I agree with you that not all is ready at this stage and I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. I am glad however that you found our team to be friendly and accommodating as we try to compensate for the current shortcomings. I appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back again ones we have completed the last areas of the hotel so you can fully enjoy all facilities.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
2.2 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#15 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
7.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu

Property: Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Address: Punta Engano, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines (Formerly Movenpick Resort & Spa Cebu)
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired enclave is set on its own private beach on Mactan Island and offers white sandy beaches, year-round summer weather and exceptional diving and snorkeling. Business is easy with various Executive Floors and an Executive Lounge. All accommodations feature high speed internet access. The resort is just ten minutes from Mactan International Airport and 25 minutes from cosmopolitan Cebu City, offering vibrant nightlife, extensive shopping and 24-hour casinos. For the ultimate dining experience, choose from the hotel's 5 restaurants and bars, featuring the Philippine's first and only Ibiza style Beach Club. Stay active with a visit to the fully equipped health club offering a professional gymnasium, steam room and luxurious garden spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotelopia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Resort & Spa Cebu Hotel Lapu Lapu
Movenpick Resort And Spa Cebu
Hilton Cebu Hotel
Hilton Mactan Island
Hilton Lapu Lapu
Lapu Lapu Hilton
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing