We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come and experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Come and experience”
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

I went with my wife to this resort hotel for 5 days. First time we went Philippines and we really enjoyed very much.
Very clean place and very good people providing service. We very much like the beach. Very quiet and no noise around there. Food and drinks are not that expensive compare to Europe so I think it is good value for us.
It's close to airport also so very convenience too.
We like Philippines and we want to come back soon.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Djokovic67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
I am glad to read that we left you with such positive memories on your first trip to the Philippines. I appreciate you taking the time to write a review about this on this website and I do hope that you will be visiting the Philippines, and our hotel again in the future

Thank you

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,086
    701
    310
    105
    63
See reviews for
740
699
92
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chongzhou, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I read the reviews here and was expecting to find a good but maybe a little flawed hotel. What I found was an excellent place, run by great people.
Sure, there are more luxurious places you can go to and the design may not be for everyone. But I found it refreshing and they are not trying to be stiff and boring.

The food was good and although the breakfast restaurant really does not seem to fit the design of the rest of the hotel, I did enjoy the breakfast.

The beach club they run is nice and relaxing and I love their signature mojito they serve over there. Unique and flavorful.

If you travel to Cebu, make sure to visit the Whale Sharks as Oslob. Absolutely breathtaking and overwhelming. An experience I won't forget so quickly.

Thanks for a great vacation and memories.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel.
It is always nice to read that we managed to exceed the expectations of a guest and my team will be very happy to learn about your comments.
Indeed Cebu offers a very unique opportunity to encounter Whale Sharks, which adds to the attraction of the destination as a whole

We look forward to welcoming you again on a possible future visit

Thank you

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was my second trip to the Philippines and I was initially not impressed with my first trip to Boracay as I found it way overbuilt and too expensive for what it was.
This time I chose Cebu and I liked the destination much better. The hotel did its part to convince me as I have to say the service was very friendly and accommodating. They offer good free internet and the place is well kept and managed in my opinion.
I liked the layout of the place and although the beach is not comparable to Boracay, it serves its purpose and unlike in boracay you can actually see marine life in the cristal clear waters.

So this place convinced me to give the Philippines yet another try,- probably I check out Palawan next time?

Thanks again too all the staff at this beautiful hotel

Room Tip: chose a high floor for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferdinand D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
I am happy to read your positive remarks about our hotel as well as Cebu as a destination. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and hopefully will equally enjoy your next trip to the Philippines

Thank you

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Got to say kudos on the promotion. Prompted to have my buddy to get me one during their Ayala sale. The new look is eye candy. The pool is not so boring anymore.

Could have been better if the breakfast staffs were properly manned. Thanks to Emy for making sure our 10 minutes wait for our coffee find its way to our table.

Room Tip: Their pillow is bliss
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you very much for the support you have given to our recent charity mall sale that benefited the re-building efforts after the Super Typhoon Yolanda devastated large areas in the Philippines.
I also appreciate you bringing to our attention the problem you had over breakfast so we can rectify this.

We hope to welcome you back again soon

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Didn't know before that cathay pacific flyes directly to Cebu from Hong Kong.

Mövenpick was recommended by a good friend of mine.

Pre arranged airport pick-up for my family. Airport staff had hotel signage not guest name which I found it nice for me.

Drove 10minutes through the local village here I arrived very modern hotel. First I was greeted by cute looking black Labrador at the gate.

When the car approached to the lobby, you will amazed with fantastic views and fresh breeze.

Staff are very kind and accommodated. We were lucky to get free upgrade to 2bed room suite instead of two deluxe room we originally booked.

These people really know how to make you feel so special. We only stayed for 2 nights but we were so spoiled by them.

We enjoyed a lot especially IBIZA dinner. You better empty your stomach before go there. :-)

We thank all the staff those who taking care of our family. We will be back very soon.

Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuen134245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
I thank you for choosing Moevenpick on account of a recommendation of your friend. I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your experience and plan to return on a future visit.

Again, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on this website.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed in your beautiful modern design hotel last weekend. When we arrived at the airport. A staff from Movenpick met us with a smile. She escorted us with our luggage and help us find a car as we don't make an advance car reservation. She's very courteous and accommodating.

Upon arrival at the lobby we were amazed with the ambiance and the unique design of the lobby. Bellboy greeted us with a smile and introduced us to the front desk. Check in was swift, and Mayshielle the Lifestyle concierge gave us a hotel tour. I usually stay in Shangri-La but my officemates in Singapore recommend this hotel.

The staff are friendly, food outlets have little selection but the restaurant near the beach area Ibiza the food and service was fantastic.

Movenpick Cebu is a boutique resort but the service, food and the staff are very well trained just like in Shangri-La. If not because of my loyalty card in Shangri-La, I wouldn't stay there rather stay in Movenpick Cebu as they give me what I expected for a 5star service.

I will definitely come back to stay for 3 nights and 2 nights in Shangri-La.

I

Room Tip: Stay in an ocean view deluxe room, it has panoramic view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1980joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
I am happy to read your review on our hotel based on your recent stay with us.
I will certainly share your comments with the entire team as well as a source of motivation and encouragement.
We look forward to your next visit and if there is anything we can do to make your stay even more enjoyable, please feel free to contact me directly at any time

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I bought the relief + rebuild GC at Ayala and booked it a week after. I did not expect too much from that stay, if it was not for the purpose I wouldn't mind staying in this resort.
Checked in was smooth, it was not a busy day for them. Just a thought, are they offering welcome drinks like the other resorts?
Our room was great! We were given a plate of fruits (in lieu of welcome drinks?) Well, Thank you!
Entire day was peaceful, we enjoyed the pool and the night ended with a good sleep. The problem was during the breakfast. We entered and was asked of our room number and done! The restaurant was full and we were not escorted or assisted to a place where we could seat. We settled by ourselves and took breakfast. We observed that only few staff (3 or 4) were present, were they cost cutting during that time? I guess so - but should not be to guest expense. We ordered coffee 4x but none has arrived! Good thing we forgot of our coffee and enjoyed the food instead. BUT SHOULD NOT BE THE CASE!
At beach, they lack of towels, aren't they expecting to have that many guest during that time?
We'll this would be the last I'll stay in this resort. Again, if not for a good cause, I'll not stay in this resort!
My concerns are very simple but mind you - you lost me! FOREVER!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pyong_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
I would like to thank you for your support to our recent charitable mall sale in which we have donated 80% of all room revenues to the rebuild fund for victims of the Yolanda super typhoon that recently hit the Philippines.

On another note, I have to apologize for the experiences you ha in our hotel, which do not reflect the general level of service you can rightfully expect from us. We thank you for your comments and we will take this as an opportunity to improve further.
I understand that you are a colleague from a neighboring hotel who has spent a night with us, hence your observations are very valuable to us.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
1.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#12 of 31 in Lapu Lapu
479 reviews
7.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 89 in Cebu City
3,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu

Property: Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Address: Punta Engano, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines (Formerly Movenpick Resort & Spa Cebu)
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired enclave is set on its own private beach on Mactan Island and offers white sandy beaches, year-round summer weather and exceptional diving and snorkeling. Business is easy with various Executive Floors and an Executive Lounge. All accommodations feature high speed internet access. The resort is just ten minutes from Mactan International Airport and 25 minutes from cosmopolitan Cebu City, offering vibrant nightlife, extensive shopping and 24-hour casinos. For the ultimate dining experience, choose from the hotel's 5 restaurants and bars, featuring the Philippine's first and only Ibiza style Beach Club. Stay active with a visit to the fully equipped health club offering a professional gymnasium, steam room and luxurious garden spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Resort And Spa Cebu
Movenpick Resort & Spa Cebu Hotel Lapu Lapu
Hilton Cebu Hotel
Hilton Mactan Island
Hilton Lapu Lapu
Lapu Lapu Hilton
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing