We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I booked in de luxe room a month before my birthday with my 2 best friend. I paid extra for one person to make sure everything will be smooth. Upon arrival,we like to rest but no extra bed. We have to call reception,twice in a span of one hour to follow up,then we have to call again for extra amenities 3 times ,because,they bring 1 item at a time and to top it all,our bathroom was clog and flooded.
I was planning to book them for my wedding renewal function but sad to say,I went and signed with the competitor instead.
Although, the event coordinator was extremely nice,she,did not show up on the 2 days that I stayed. She said she was busy and tried to contact me last minute. My conclusion ,I was not important enough to be part of her busy schedule.
In fairness to the staff,they are so friendly and smiling,which is a delight to every customer.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Josiebeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Needless to say I am very concerned about the problems you had pointed out. Clearly we have not lived up to the level of service and detail you rightfully can expect from us.
However, I would appreciate if you could personally contact me as I would like to double check on a few more details with you, particularly about the handling of your event inquiry.

Thank you

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    666
    300
    102
    59
See reviews for
702
653
82
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

If you are looking for a place in Cebu away from the city, Movenpick resort is the place to go. Very private and peaceful. It is the best place to unwind. Kind and helpful staff, they made us feel really special and welcome. And the breakfast, it was very satisfying! We stayed here in October last year for business and pleasure and looking forward to visiting the place again, this time purely vacation!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winnie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to share your impressions of our hotel on this website.
I am happy to read that you had a positive stay and that you are planning to return. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This resort has managerial issues. This is such a shame as there are some really productive / friendly staff who prevented this review from becoming a disaster.

When hell broke out on the morning we decided to have breakfast with our "Executive Package", the manager could not provide an apology and decided to keep us quiet with free mocktails. Instead of apologizing for the unfortunate situation, he gave the excuse that he had talked to other F&B managers and discussed how they all had the same problem with over crowding breakfast due to not expecting people to wake up so late for breakfast? Uh... Is 930AM not a reasonable time to eat Breakfast? We weren't even supposed to have breakfast in the lobby in the first place as we purchased an "Executive Package" which includes breakfast and tea.

Only when we finally arrived to have our tea that was included with our "Executive Package" did we receive a letter that explained the whole package benefits - 1. Eating Breakfast in the executive lounge (instead of the chaos in the main lobby) 2. Free Laundry for the day 3. Free tours. Why was this not informed/ letter given to the customer as soon as we had purchased the package? Is this not common sense? All that was informed was that there was breakfast and tea with free flowing drinks.

It really is a shame to see this happen under a well known brand of Swiss Hospitality.
We did not feel like we got our value for money, unfortunately.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms were pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Resortcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not in line with your expectation and I apologize for not leaving you with a positive impression of our hotel.

Having looked at the problems you have pointed out, clearly we could have handled things better and I apologize that this was not the case. I believe a number of miscommunication issues added to the said problems.

We will take this as a lesson to improve further and despite the less than satisfactory stay you had with us recently, I do hope you will give us another try on a future stay.

Thank you for bringing this to my attention

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I was quite satisfied. Staff are very nice to customers.
Pool is windy and cold.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Junsik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank ye you have given us. We are happy to learn that you had such an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Moevenpick started my journey into patronizing local hotels & resorts. It triggered my passion for travelling. The cost of their accommodation was not as pricy as the other hotel resorts in Mactan but they superseded all aspects of hotel expectation. The room smelled good & looked beautiful. Wai til you see their toiletries, ahhh they're just so lovely. Their interiors (lobby/pool/facade) were santorini inspired (looked neat, classy & carefully thought of). The swimming pool was very clean and just right. The hotel is as lovely as the beach. Club Ibiza was gorgeous not only during the day but most especially during the night. We had buffet breakfast at the Sails restaurant & the food was simply awesome. Most of all, what I always recall about Moevenpick is the concierge. It topped it all. The experience was more than what we paid for. I will keep coming back.

Room Tip: Pick a room that has either the view of the pool or the beach. Ours had the latter. either way, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram_Bee_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Reviews such as yours are a confirmation for our entire team that our efforts in providing our guests with a great experience are successful.
I appreciate your compliments which I will certainly share with all of my colleagues.

We do hope that we will see you back here again very soon.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Had a pleasurable experience last weekend during our sales convention. Will definitely come back and bring my family. Food was awesome! super great!!! Enjoyed my cozy stay at the Ibiza bar last Wed with free 2 cocktail drinks since it was ladies night. Buffet at ibiza was also great! Had wine all you can with buffet. Stayed for 2 nights and buffet selection esp the salad bar during lunch and breakfast was perfect! I loved eggs benedict available at buffet, awesome! =) I love it!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write the review above. It is with pleasure to read that you had such a positive experience with us and that you are planning to return soon with your family.
We are also thankful for your nice comments about our food.

Thanks again

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at many hotels throughout my years. This, I would have to say, is one of the better hotels simply because of the service level and attention that was provided. The staff took such great care of my wife and me while we stayed there that there is no other hotel for me when I return to Cebu.

It all started with the personalized care that was provided upon check in. The staff took us around the hotel and advised us of hours and available features before allowing the bellhop to take over and escort us to our room. This is not that amazing, I know. But, my wife had forgotten a fairly important item , contact solution, and we mentioned it to the staff. Before we were done with the bellhop, the frost desk staff had arrived in our room with a loaner bottle and a guarantee of a permanent replacement to follow the next morning.

They did come through and had exactly what my wife required and would not take any payment for it. This was way above what any hotel staff should have done. They simply took extremely good care of us. They knew our names after only one meeting and addressed us accordingly. It was simply an amazing stay and should anyone be considering a trip to Cebu, they absolutely should place this hotel at the top of the list for consideration. I know that this is my new home on Mactan Island.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Not only am I happy to read that you have had an enjoyable stay with us, it also makes me proud about my team reading about their initiative to assist your wife with the needed contact lenses liquid. I believe it is the people that set one hotel apart from another and I am glad that my team has displayed excellent customer service in this case.

Thanks a lot for sharing your experience on this website and we do hope to welcome you back again soon

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
2.2 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#13 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
7.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu

Property: Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Address: Punta Engano, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines (Formerly Movenpick Resort & Spa Cebu)
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired enclave is set on its own private beach on Mactan Island and offers white sandy beaches, year-round summer weather and exceptional diving and snorkeling. Business is easy with various Executive Floors and an Executive Lounge. All accommodations feature high speed internet access. The resort is just ten minutes from Mactan International Airport and 25 minutes from cosmopolitan Cebu City, offering vibrant nightlife, extensive shopping and 24-hour casinos. For the ultimate dining experience, choose from the hotel's 5 restaurants and bars, featuring the Philippine's first and only Ibiza style Beach Club. Stay active with a visit to the fully equipped health club offering a professional gymnasium, steam room and luxurious garden spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Resort And Spa Cebu
Movenpick Resort & Spa Cebu Hotel Lapu Lapu
Hilton Cebu Hotel
Hilton Mactan Island
Hilton Lapu Lapu
Lapu Lapu Hilton
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing