We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would love to return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“would love to return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is one place that deserves a "5" rating in my opinion.
It was a pleasure from arrival to departure and my girlfriends and I had such a blast!
The design is modern and chic and the staff very friendly and professional.
We arrived early in the morning and without even asking for it they offered us an early check-in as the room was ready. Few hotels do that, which I always find strange.
The breakfast was of good overall quality. Internet was free and quite reliable and the weather was great. Ok, that last point may not be in the hand of the hotl, but it certainly helped to make our visit a great experience.
We would love to come back if our schedules permit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southeastasiahgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel on this website. I appreciate the high marks you have given us and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please contact us ones you wish to return so we can assist in handling your booking.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    620
    275
    101
    59
See reviews for
647
606
75
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We just completed a very enjoyable stay at this hotel early March and felt we should drop a few positive remarks.
We would like to thank the staff at the hotel for making our short , 3 day break a very relaxing experience. The Spa service was quite expensive, but very professionally done.
Food was good and the front office did a great job providing us with information about the area.
All in all a very nice experience and despite the fact that we had a delay on our flight coming in and out of the Philippines, we keep it in positive memory

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
The entire team here at the hotel appreciated your positive comments and high rating of our hotel based on your recent stay with us.
I thank you for sharing this with other travelers on this website who may find this information useful for an upcoming trip to Cebu.

Again, thank you very much

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quezon city
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I booked hotel for an overnight stay and was pleasantly surprised. We were upgraded to a bigger room ( albeit a smoking floor) and really enjoyed our ocean view.

Location: Tucked at the very end of the island but accessible via commute, I think. 30 mins away from the city.
Room: Very spacious, looks well maintained, sheets are clean and comfy
Bathroom: Had a tub ( although didn't get to use it), spacious, and clean
Staff: pleasant and accommodating
Buffet Breakfast: was not included in our agoda booking so we had to pay for it. We arrived early so we had breakfast on both days and it was the same stuff. My big disappointment? No Danggit.That was weird. On the other hand, putong bisaya con chocolate was available. Yum!
Pools: There were 2 and both big enough but we didn't bother with them because they had a small white sand beach front. I think, the white sand was imported. Water was crystal clear and on a sunny day, it was perfect.

Ibiza- had a very limited ala carte menu, IMO. They had the 7 or was it 8 step grilled meat kind of buffet but didn't really appeal to us. It was a happening place, though. Wine was great and the performances were very entertaining.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are great for the, well, view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alias34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you had an overall positive experience based on your rating but you did point out a few areas I will certainly look into to see where improvements are possible.
In regards to your comment about the limited offer at the Ibiza Beach Club, I was however quite surprised as we have a large Tapas menu as well as various BBQ and snack items on our a la carte menu in addition to our Balearic Churrasco, which actually features 14 different cut of meats and seafood.
I do hope you will return on another occasion and if I can be of any assistance with a future booking, please feel free to contact me directly at any time

Best regards,

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I booked in de luxe room a month before my birthday with my 2 best friend. I paid extra for one person to make sure everything will be smooth. Upon arrival,we like to rest but no extra bed. We have to call reception,twice in a span of one hour to follow up,then we have to call again for extra amenities 3 times ,because,they bring 1 item at a time and to top it all,our bathroom was clog and flooded.
I was planning to book them for my wedding renewal function but sad to say,I went and signed with the competitor instead.
Although, the event coordinator was extremely nice,she,did not show up on the 2 days that I stayed. She said she was busy and tried to contact me last minute. My conclusion ,I was not important enough to be part of her busy schedule.
In fairness to the staff,they are so friendly and smiling,which is a delight to every customer.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Josiebeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Needless to say I am very concerned about the problems you had pointed out. Clearly we have not lived up to the level of service and detail you rightfully can expect from us.
However, I would appreciate if you could personally contact me as I would like to double check on a few more details with you, particularly about the handling of your event inquiry.

Thank you

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

If you are looking for a place in Cebu away from the city, Movenpick resort is the place to go. Very private and peaceful. It is the best place to unwind. Kind and helpful staff, they made us feel really special and welcome. And the breakfast, it was very satisfying! We stayed here in October last year for business and pleasure and looking forward to visiting the place again, this time purely vacation!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winnie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to share your impressions of our hotel on this website.
I am happy to read that you had a positive stay and that you are planning to return. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

This resort has managerial issues. This is such a shame as there are some really productive / friendly staff who prevented this review from becoming a disaster.

When hell broke out on the morning we decided to have breakfast with our "Executive Package", the manager could not provide an apology and decided to keep us quiet with free mocktails. Instead of apologizing for the unfortunate situation, he gave the excuse that he had talked to other F&B managers and discussed how they all had the same problem with over crowding breakfast due to not expecting people to wake up so late for breakfast? Uh... Is 930AM not a reasonable time to eat Breakfast? We weren't even supposed to have breakfast in the lobby in the first place as we purchased an "Executive Package" which includes breakfast and tea.

Only when we finally arrived to have our tea that was included with our "Executive Package" did we receive a letter that explained the whole package benefits - 1. Eating Breakfast in the executive lounge (instead of the chaos in the main lobby) 2. Free Laundry for the day 3. Free tours. Why was this not informed/ letter given to the customer as soon as we had purchased the package? Is this not common sense? All that was informed was that there was breakfast and tea with free flowing drinks.

It really is a shame to see this happen under a well known brand of Swiss Hospitality.
We did not feel like we got our value for money, unfortunately.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms were pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Resortcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not in line with your expectation and I apologize for not leaving you with a positive impression of our hotel.

Having looked at the problems you have pointed out, clearly we could have handled things better and I apologize that this was not the case. I believe a number of miscommunication issues added to the said problems.

We will take this as a lesson to improve further and despite the less than satisfactory stay you had with us recently, I do hope you will give us another try on a future stay.

Thank you for bringing this to my attention

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I was quite satisfied. Staff are very nice to customers.
Pool is windy and cold.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Junsik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank ye you have given us. We are happy to learn that you had such an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
2.2 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#15 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
7.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu

Property: Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Address: Punta Engano, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines (Formerly Movenpick Resort & Spa Cebu)
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired enclave is set on its own private beach on Mactan Island and offers white sandy beaches, year-round summer weather and exceptional diving and snorkeling. Business is easy with various Executive Floors and an Executive Lounge. All accommodations feature high speed internet access. The resort is just ten minutes from Mactan International Airport and 25 minutes from cosmopolitan Cebu City, offering vibrant nightlife, extensive shopping and 24-hour casinos. For the ultimate dining experience, choose from the hotel's 5 restaurants and bars, featuring the Philippine's first and only Ibiza style Beach Club. Stay active with a visit to the fully equipped health club offering a professional gymnasium, steam room and luxurious garden spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Resort & Spa Cebu Hotel Lapu Lapu
Movenpick Resort And Spa Cebu
Hilton Cebu Hotel
Hilton Mactan Island
Hilton Lapu Lapu
Lapu Lapu Hilton
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing