We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, clean but totally sterile” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Modern, clean but totally sterile”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

It is not all that it seems. Yes it is modern looking as it's been recently refurbished. it is clean. The lobby may look impressive. But it totally lacks character which I think it tries to achieve by overdoing the aesthetics. For the price one pays to stay here, sorry but I'm not impressed. Besides it's too remote to go anywhere.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank dartagnanaguilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
While I was very surprised about your headline and the comment you made on the lack of character of our hotel, it maybe a reflection of your personal taste and expectation, which is different from one person to the next of course and I am sorry that we did not meet this criteria for you.
I do hope other aspects of your stay were more positive though.

I thank you for your comments

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    620
    275
    101
    59
See reviews for
647
606
75
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for four days and three nights. Yes, it is expensive, but after staying there for four days it is no longer expensive but affordable. Their price is very reasonable becausr they will not only give you the beauty of sea but a five-star accommodation as well. They're staff are all kind and accommodating. The place is very beutiful, looking for relaxation this is the place for you. We never want to leave the hotel and tour the other part of Cebu. Staying at the hotel is enough to enjoy CEBU.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Lady_Nathalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
I would like to thank you for your high rating and the positive remarks. I am glad to read that you felt that our hotel offers you true value for the price you pay. I think this is the real measure for any guest. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Lobby is quite impressive with a starkly white theme dotted w green & blue accent colors to complement the white sails on the ceiling (don't miss the lobby toilets for a bit of a surprise). As you gaze beyond the lobby, you see an expansive view of the sea. The pool design is also quite nicely done. Rooms are fair in size, quite clean, toilet is fair in size but the toilet seat is a bit cramped, being squeezed between the tub and the wall. First day (only) toiletries are by Chopard but these are not replenished on 2nd & 3rd days. Food is a bit expensive tho and coffee was not good at all. Staff members are friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaoSev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and observations on this platform.
While your rating indicates that your stay was not as flawless as we would like you to experience our hotel, I appreciate the various positive aspects you have pointed out. I will also look at your comments on the coffee to see if we can improve this further

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
564 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Conveniently located at Punta Engaño, the Moevenpick has facilities up to the expected standard, especially the lobby and pool side.
We were upgraded to room suite and got an early check-in. The room's decor was trendy snd sophisticated. Ammenities were Choppard. There's a kettle and complementary water.
The breakfast was excellent, with variety (including many Korean popular dishes!) and high quality products.
Staff is friendly and always with a smile and ready to help.
We also went to the sps Delmar for a Vitality treatment. They have experienced and courteous staff. Overall it was a premium experience, only affected by the noisy music from the outside (beach club). They should take that into account when booking treatments in the evening.
We also recommend the water sports centre, for the people and the services on offer.
This resort is a cheaper option than the Shangri-la but still offering the 5 star experience.
Overall this is an amazing hotel / resort. We will be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hazinheira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
I am very happy that you had a memorable and overall positive experience at our hotel. I appreciate your review as well as the high rating you have give us.
We will look into the comment you made in regards to the music that is audible in Spa and see how we can possibly address this.

Again, thank you very much for your positive write-up. We do hope we can welcome you back again in the future.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

My review is based on my booking.
I booked two rooms for arrival in mid April and I should mention we as a Family are still looking forward to this break as we need the total wind down.
Excuse the rating, what else can I say other than expecting.
I booked with Asia rooms.com on the basis I pay direct to the Hotel deal.
I found out a couple of days later my credit card had been charged the whole amount in March.
After sending mails to the Hotel I was told this is correct as it was a special deal.
I dispute all the above as I paid top price and have a letter from Asia rooms saying I pay later.
If I wanted to cancel this booking I would lose all my money I am informed.
Hey, wait a min, this was not the deal I took.
Something has gone wrong and I feel angry about it as a consumer and held to ransom.
If the Manager reads this review I will be more than happy to produce the booking confirmation from one of the Hotels agents stating what I have said above.
Taking my money, over and close to 70,000 Peso and tell me it is a special deal is not on.
This is for 4 nights, 2 rooms.
Those that do not know currency conversions can assume well over one thousand pounds.
I did not get a special deal.
BE AWARE WHEN YOU USE A CREDIT CARD.
It is also easy to blame an agent, at the end of the day I am paying to stay at this Hotel.
If they use agents, like Asia rooms, booking.com and others it does not matter as I am a consumer who has decided to stay at the Hotel.

To the Manager,

See you soon and hope you can explain my concerns as well as verify what a special rate I got as against what I have searched online that indicates I payed top price as I always do when I travel.

Thank you.

Room Tip: Be aware of paying in advance as against a promise of paying the hotel direct.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank shawly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you very much for bringing this to my attention so we can immediately look into this and see where the error or miscommunication may be. The booking conditions are generally always clearly stated on the websites of our business partners and we certainly honor those.
I would appreciate if you could kindly email me the details of your booking do I can personally check on this ( Knuth.kiefer@moevenpick.com).

I appreciate you bringing this so we can resolve this prior your arrival. I am looking forward to welcoming you soon and hope you will have an enjoyable stay with us.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I rated this place already and I am not sure why trip advisor would not publish my first review of this hotel but I will attempt again. I initially visited with my ex-husbad who is in the US Army. Our frustrations came from the cold showers that we had to take as the hot water was limited. He had his share of cold showers in his career and was not pleased to have them on vacation. Also, I dont believe that the linen on the bed was fresh. It had an odd odor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
I am obviously concerned about the problem you encountered with the hot water during your stay. I would appreciate if you could possible email me further details on the dates of your stay. I know that we had a couple of days where the water was not very hot in the hotel due to an emergency repair we had to carry out on our system, but this has been a couple of months back and I am not aware of any additional problems.
Also, the very low rating you have given us indicates to me that you must have been unsatisfied with other aspects of your stay as well? If so, I would appreciate if you could provide me with further details. Kindly contact me at: knuth.kiefer@moevenpick.com

Thank you

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

the beach was definitely very nice. they kept the beach very clean. but the rooms were very small and the beds were small as well. when they say a twin size its really a twin size. the breakfast was a mediocre. for the price it was too expensive for the breakfast buffet. although the staff were very accomodating.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemika79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review based on your recent stay. I was surprised to read that you found our breakfast buffet mediocre as we generally get very good comments on our breakfast. I invite you to contact me via email to provide me with additional feedback on this so we can possibly improve further. You can reach me at: knuth.kiefer@moevenpick.com

Thank you very much

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
2.2 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#15 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
7.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu

Property: Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Address: Punta Engano, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines (Formerly Movenpick Resort & Spa Cebu)
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired enclave is set on its own private beach on Mactan Island and offers white sandy beaches, year-round summer weather and exceptional diving and snorkeling. Business is easy with various Executive Floors and an Executive Lounge. All accommodations feature high speed internet access. The resort is just ten minutes from Mactan International Airport and 25 minutes from cosmopolitan Cebu City, offering vibrant nightlife, extensive shopping and 24-hour casinos. For the ultimate dining experience, choose from the hotel's 5 restaurants and bars, featuring the Philippine's first and only Ibiza style Beach Club. Stay active with a visit to the fully equipped health club offering a professional gymnasium, steam room and luxurious garden spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Resort & Spa Cebu Hotel Lapu Lapu
Movenpick Resort And Spa Cebu
Hilton Cebu Hotel
Hilton Mactan Island
Hilton Lapu Lapu
Lapu Lapu Hilton
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing