We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT VACATION PLACE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a great time at Moevenpick. The staffs were friendly and attentive. Rooms were just perfect. Foods at the coffee shop and Ibiza were also delightful. Will surely visit the place again on our next trip to Cebu.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Nette U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thanks a lot for the high rating and the positive comments. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and we do hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards

Knuth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,770 - 1,776 of 2,534 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Moevenpick Hotel has never failed my expectations as what I have seen on its webpage and other materials that featured this hotel, and even more it delighted me when my family stayed there in July 2014. When we got into its lobby, it's really impressive. The color combination of the furnishings and the surrounding provokes a light mood, and it's so neat and dainty. The staff over the reception area were so nice and accommodating, offering us at once with cold juice and beautiful shell necklaces. As we got up to our rooms, it exudes the same aura as the lobby. The pastel color combination and minimalist features are pleasing to the senses, and so much more the scenic view of the tip of Mactan island. When we went down to explore the entire vicinity, the swimming was crowded that time, but later in the afternoon and towards the night, the pool metaphors into a magical pond of inviting indigo, violet and blue with luminous lap chairs. The beach area is so generous of various seats scattered all over and the water is so clean and clear. Towards the marina where Ibiza beach club is located, Moevenpick got its edge among other resorts in Mactan. It is one of a kind. And when the night falls, it exudes a party atmosphere where you can drink, dine and chillax under the night sky. The food both in Sails Restaurant and Ibiza are very good. Though I found the dinner buffet in Ibiza quite expensive at P2,000.00 per head, the array of food is delectable and varied. One thing I just suggest is to make the elevators compliment the same aura as the lobby and room. Just a little make over.

Room Tip: Suggest a room on the side of the tower with a view of the sea, preferably on higher floors. The ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jerjamcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

I very much appreciate you taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay and I am glad that you had such an enjoyable time with us. I shall certainly share your comments with our team here at the hotel, which is a great source of motivation and encouragement.
I have taken note on your comment on the elevators and while it maybe a bit had to address this, we will see if there are some changes that could be done.

Thanks again

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We definitly enjoyed our stay at the Movenpick! We were warmly welcomed by the staff and was given a beautiful room with a few. We enjoyed the beach though it was just small. Equipment rental was cheap. Although we wished that the happy hour was more than just an hour, maybe they could extend it to 3 hours! It would be more fun! We would definitly visit again and recommend this place to out friends!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank eunice019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

I am happy to read you positive comments as well as your high rating. We always aim to provide our guests a memorable experience and I am glad that we succeeded in this endeavor.
I have taken note of your request of extending the happy hour, but I guess that would defeat the purpose of a happy "hour" :-)
Wee do hope to see you back here at the hotel again on a future trip.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience on this platform.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

the key feature of this resort is the Ibiza. yeah sure it's a catch and it's where they brought in the party experience, with class. i like the pool area, thought it may be crowded with kids around at day, but perfect at night. i'm also impressed how entire structure maximized the space with a lots of things going on. keeps your eyes busy and gives space to lounge and sunbathe. the beach though is small and has lots of pebbles as you swim. still you can enjoy the your spot at the shore where you can enjoy a dip with frequent waves.
love the bacon-onion thin crust pizza and buffalos.
the room has a boutique hotel interior--minimalist beds, colorful tones, i just regret the the room on the 3/F allocated to us doesn't have a bidet. no bathroom rag, but toiletries are provided for.

i recommend to friends and families with kids.

Room Tip: choose the higher floors for a better view at night of the Ibiza
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BoyAndLolit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our property. While I appreciate your positive comments overall, the rating of 3 out of 5 however did not reflect the positive impression you indicated in your write up. This being the case, I invite you to contact me personally to share your thoughts on some of the improvements you may want to suggest in order to further enhance our products and services? you may reach me at: Knuth.kiefer@moevenpick.com

I am looking forward to hearing from you

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here from 6~8, June, 2014 with my sister.

The public places(lobby, pool, beach, Ibiza club) are nice.

The room? Horrible.
I didn't expect a superb room as I booked it through the promotion offered by Hotels.com but my room was literally rubbish.

Broken shower door. No foot and face towels. Chicken screaming whenever there is sunlight. Too cold floor. Too old room facilities. Expensive food. So-so staffs.

I can here door closing sound up and down and side rooms! The furniture is motel-level!!!

You cannot turn off the room lights at once as there is no remote controller system! I should stand up and find every button before sleeping!

Well, the native staffs who brought us a room-service and helped my sister's surnburnt were nice but that is the only good memory I had in Movenpick, Cebu.

And though it was fixed, they charged me an automated advance fee and didn't cancel till I found it and sent an e-mail to remind them of recheck. It was fixed fast but not pleasant experience.

I will never go back and never recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank JIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

I am sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, particularly in regards to your room. I thank you for bringing this to our attention so I can look at some maintenance concerns you have highlighted.

Again, I am sorry that your recent stay was not what you expected, but I hope you may give us another try on a future visit.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our family of four stayed for 3 nights in July taking the one-bedroom suite (with a partial view of the sea). Movenpick was our second choice as our first choice was completely booked. I had initial reservations due to some poor online comments but generally unfounded.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful from the time we landed all the way through checkout and dropping us back to the airport. The hotel tries very hard to cater to families and children with daily activities and chocolate hour - the kids' painted seashells remain on the family cabinet. My kids were extremely messy when dining at breakfast but the staff made no fuss at all.

Dinner at Ibiza remains a key highlight...worth another trip to fill up on mouth-watering ribeye, sirloin, lambchops, grilled squid etc. And the evening atmosphere and shows were a delight as the kids boogeyed to 70's night. That said, the overall setup of the hotel seems to cater for singles and couples. In fact, the partying went on to early morning on our last night there.

Hopefully, the hotel would be able to add more attractions like its neighbor to enable more activities for kids.

Overall, a solid vacation with the family...and I wished I discovered this place before the kids arrived!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

I am grateful for your positive comments and would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to Cebu. We understand that customers have various choices when selecting a hotel and I am happy that you entrusted us with your holidays.
I am glad you and your family had an enjoyable experience with us. We do look to further enhance our offers for children here at the hotel by adding even more activities for them.

Again, thank you for your time to share your experience on this platform and we do hope to see you and you family back here on a future trip to Cebu.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I am part of an events company organizing a worldwide conference in Cebu. This hotel is one of the hotels we are picking to house our delegates from all over the world. They have contemporary interiors and when we conducted room visits, most rooms looked very clean, trendy and functional. The bathrooms were very nice as well. They had Givenchy amenities and unlike European hotels these amenities are free (well I guess its safe to say its included when you pay per night).
You get the feel and vibe of those Miami hotels when you enter. Very hip and upscale but reasonably priced. Its more of a resort hotel than a business hotel though.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the ocean, youll get amazing sunsets and a view of their pool too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

We very much appreciate the high rating and positive comments about our hotel and we look forward to hosting your delegates in our hotel. We thank you for your trust in our facilities and services and look forward to work with you on your event.
If we can be of any further assistance, please contact us at any time.

Thanks again

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
1.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
727 reviews
7.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,483 reviews
0.3 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#16 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu

Address: Punta Engano | Mactan Island, Lapu-Lapu City, Cebu, Philippines, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines (Formerly Movenpick Resort & Spa Cebu)
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £73 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun, sand and sea await you at Mövenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu. Home to the hugely popular dining and entertainment venue, Ibiza Beach Club, this 5-star Mediterranean-inspired beachfront hotel is the ultimate hotspot for travelers seeking fun and comfort in a trendy setting. Surrounded by expansive marine life, and a location that is only 6 kilometers from the Mactan International Airport, the hotel is the ideal choice to jumpstart your Cebu journey. Feel the thrill of exciting water sports and adventure, or take a refreshing dip in the swimming pool or Sea. Nights come alive as Ibiza Beach Club commands the rhythm of the Mactan night scene with its showcase of live, world class entertainment accompanied by award-winning cuisine. The hotel is also the perfect choice for all kinds of occasions, from business events to weddings, with venues ranging from intimate spaces, ballrooms or lush tropical grounds, to a luxurious beach side bar and club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Resort And Spa Cebu
Movenpick Resort & Spa Cebu Hotel Lapu Lapu
Hilton Cebu Hotel
Hilton Mactan Island
Hilton Lapu Lapu
Lapu Lapu Hilton
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing