We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Filipino Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Filipino Get Away”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We visit the Philippines twice a year and quite often stay at this hotel with our family, traveling from Bacolod City. The great advantage of this property is the less hectic environment as it is a smaller resort and beach. Facilities are great - spa, 4 restaurants, gym, nice rooms/suites, handy to the airport and have terrific staff. We have stayed here many times as well as when it previously was a Hilton Hotel

Room Tip: try to get a beach front room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Receiving a review from a returning guest is always an extra compliment for us as it shows us that we succeeded in providing the service levels expected from us in a consistent manner.
Thank you very much for your loyalty and the high marks you have given us in your review.
We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Cebu.

Thanks again!

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,045
    684
    307
    103
    61
See reviews for
718
682
88
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I went there last August 10-11 with my friends and we had an amazing time! For me - it was money well-spent for some R&R.

The lobby was beautiful - well lighted and my first impression when I got to the place was that the whole place was really breezy and cozy. We stayed in a 2-bedroom suite and the view from our room was simply amazing. Amenities wise - it has all that we need for an overnight stay.

My only feedback was that the AC in our room was not cool enough. There were some instances in the afternoon and in the morning wherein it was a little bit warm even though the AC was on full-blast. We asked their staff to check it but I guess there was something wrong with it because it wasn't cool enough even after they checked it.

Still, I would love to go back here and have another relaxing stay with a loved one.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tintin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion here on Trpadvisor.com and of course for the high marks you have given us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
My apology for the problem you encountered with the air conditioning in your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

i was there in August 2014 on the weekend during 'iron man' event for one day trip, the lobby was really nice... also the swimming pool, not big enough but okay, they have also water sports and spa center.
and the beach area looks nice with beautiful view... but it was too narrow, i guess it less than 1km length area.
i think it will be great if they get more beach area to walk around or running along the beach

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aris2setya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your day trip here in Mactan. I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities and services.
I have taken note of your comment regarding our beach. Actually all hotels here in Mactan have a small private beach, but we are focusing strongly on the cleanliness and water quality at our beach area, which I believe may compensate for the relatively small area.

We hope you will visit us again in the near future

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, BC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I visited Moevenpick Mactan with friends and stayed for a week. Upon arrival, you immediately feel the modern european style of this amazing resort. We were greeted immediately at reception and offered refreshing drinks and cold towels. Our 1 bedroom oceanview rooms had balcony and overlooked the ocean and pool. The staff was really amazing! They were professional and eager to assist. Of course, we are in the Philippines so get used to following up your request. Ibiza Beach Club was really a treat. Excellent food, vibrant atmosphere and amazing location but pricey if you are local. I highly recommend Moevenpick Mactan if you are seeking a modern style hotel in Mactan, Cebu.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SeethroughmyEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay here in Cebu. We understand that travelers have many choices and I appreciate you giving us a try. I am happy that we have lived up to your expectation and that you left with such a positive impression.

We do hope to welcome you back again in the near future

Thanks again

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

My wife-to-be and I stayed a night at the Mövenpick for our prenuptial photo session. It's also the venue for our wedding later this year.
Overall the hotel is great, it lives by its tradition to be Swiss and comes with a friendly Filipino staff. What I loved most is the simplicity of style and in my opinion it makes it look very clean.
There is nothing major I have to complain about, but there are however some little details that do need attention. Let's not forget, this being a Swiss hotel, every small detail counts and bring Swiss myself, I know.

First thing I noticed is the lotion bottle in the bathroom which has not been replaced with a new bottle. It was half empty, or half full whichever way you like it.
The hair blower didn't come with an adaptor plug (UK plug) and I couldn't find a suitable outlet plug anywhere in the room.
The bathroom itself looks dated and shows some wear. I think it's the same bathroom since when it was still the Hilton.
The breakfast, which came with a lot of variety tasted a little bland and is nothing to rave about, except for the bacon.

As I said, nothing major at all. I specially would like to thank the staff for the free upgrade and the exceptional friendly service! This hotel remains highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Philipp R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for the positive comments. We are thrilled that you have selected our hotel for your wedding and we will ensure you will have a memorable and unforgettable experience here.
I appreciate you pointing out some of the aspects that we need to address to further improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back later this year and please feel free to contact me at any time directly if I can be of any assistance in regards to your wedding arrangements

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight.

I arrived in the afternoon. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Check in at 1-ish took a while due to a short queue. Was asked for a 2.5k deposit which was waived if I was willing to pay in cash. I was.
The room was pretty okay, aesthetically pleasing. I booked a suite facing the ocean. It has a living room, bedroom, and bathroom.
The living room had an L-shaped sofa, a coffee table, and a flat screen TV. The room opened up to a small balcony that had a table and a couple of chairs.
The bedroom had its own flat screen TV, a desk, an alarm clock radio, and a big bed. My desk lamp was one of those designer art see-saw things that had the bulb on one end and the weight on the other. For some weird reason, the end with the light stayed down and it could not be adjusted. So I kept it upright to avoid overcooking the paper it was resting on.
The bathroom had a bath, sink, shower, and toilet. I needed help to unplug the water hole of the bath as I couldn't figure out how to do it. The staff told me that there should be something attached to the plug so that I could pull it out. The water was warm and stayed warm. I didn't realize there was no cold water at all until I tried to turn it on at the shower.
The resort had a swimming pool and a white sand beach. I spent most of my time on the lounge chair under the cloudy sky. I was able to catch a zumba session which was fun to watch.
I wanted food brought up to the room. When I called it in, they knew me by name and efficiently took my order. However, delivery took more than 30 minutes. I was easily distracted by the TV but I was hungry when the food arrived.
Check out was fast and easy. I was even given a small token for my visit.
Overall, I enjoyed my stay and I may go back. The kinks were minimal and tolerable.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Ma. Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
I thank you for writing this review and while your rating indicates that not all aspects of your stay were to your expectations. I appreciate you pointing some of the concerns out to us so we can work on improvements.
I am glad to read that you are considering to return on a future stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Knuth Kiefer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at Moevenpick. The staffs were friendly and attentive. Rooms were just perfect. Foods at the coffee shop and Ibiza were also delightful. Will surely visit the place again on our next trip to Cebu.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nette U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KnuthKiefer, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thanks a lot for the high rating and the positive comments. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and we do hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards

Knuth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
1.2 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#13 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
475 reviews
7.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
3,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu

Property: Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Address: Punta Engano, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines (Formerly Movenpick Resort & Spa Cebu)
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired enclave is set on its own private beach on Mactan Island and offers white sandy beaches, year-round summer weather and exceptional diving and snorkeling. Business is easy with various Executive Floors and an Executive Lounge. All accommodations feature high speed internet access. The resort is just ten minutes from Mactan International Airport and 25 minutes from cosmopolitan Cebu City, offering vibrant nightlife, extensive shopping and 24-hour casinos. For the ultimate dining experience, choose from the hotel's 5 restaurants and bars, featuring the Philippine's first and only Ibiza style Beach Club. Stay active with a visit to the fully equipped health club offering a professional gymnasium, steam room and luxurious garden spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Resort & Spa Cebu Hotel Lapu Lapu
Movenpick Resort And Spa Cebu
Hilton Cebu Hotel
Hilton Mactan Island
Hilton Lapu Lapu
Lapu Lapu Hilton
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu Cebu Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing