We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SDR Mactan Serviced Apartments
Reviewed 26 February 2014

hii we were in the hotel for 21 day with my wife in the first day when i search in the room the wifi i cant connect and in the reception said ne that ibterbet is only in the lobby but thay going to give ne a router to have internet in the room free. in the morning when i call to check about the internet they said that i have to pay 100 peso per day and i start to splaind that one day before ib the reception said ne for free ad i am 21 day andnot recived any discount in the price for the room so i think that the internet have to be free. after a few minute some one call me back and said that i recived i for free/.
when we waked up in the morning we dont have power in the room again i call to the reception and they say that just 16.00 in the afternoon the power back mmmm only 6 hours without power no air conditioner no internet no possible to take a bath ..... so expent money outside to enjoy of air conditioner eat a breakfast and have wifi in any mall ...... when we come back in the evening after the break power the router in the room stop to without internet 3 day.
in the period of our stay in the room we ask 2 time for toilet paper and we used 3 times the laundry services after when we did check out and we r in the parking waiting for a taxi to the airport the receptionist ran outside and say that we have to pay for 3 landry service and for the toilet paper heheheh 50 peso i travel 2 or 3 times in the year to many countries is the first time that in a hotel i have to pay for a toilet paper .... maybe i have to pay to for the water and the power ????? ahhh andabout the landry we paid all why i have to pay againg??? with kind of register u used.
in the 21 day 4 times without power for 6 hours. i want tell u sir mananger that i am vice director in a 5 start hotel in the desk front in my country so i know exactly an hotel have to give services to the guest.
i have many more things to tell about the clean about the housekeeping but after 1970 character i dont want continue.
in the recepcion the services is very good and the employers very helpfulls

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gonateco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davephils, Guest Relations Manager at SDR Mactan Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank-you for the praise of our reception staff and employees. We try our best to serve our guests.

We are sorry for your experience with the free internet. As our hotel has ethernet connections, we were unable to connect your computer as you did not have an ethernet provision. We did however offer you to use the free internet in the lobby which works even if there is a 'brownout' or power disruption.

I understand that the hotel also searched and provided a complimentary router for you. Unfortunately, as there was a once a week scheduled power disruptions (something we have no control over as the airport was getting an upgrade of power due to the expansion), your wireless router did not work during this period. As mentioned, you were offered to use the free service in the lobby even during this period.

Regarding the toilet paper, we are accommodation providers who rent out serviced apartments and non serviced apartments out. Guests have the choice between 'serviced apartments' or 'non serviced apartments'. It is cheaper of course to stay in the non-serviced apartments but there are differences in level of service and provisions. Having reviewed your case, we have decided to provide free toilet paper even in the non-serviced apartments.

Thanks again for your feedback. It helps us to continually improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

I travelled there with my family 2 weeks ago. Our 2 significant criteria were a swimming pool & own kitchen facilities. The swimming pool & surrounds did not look clean. I did not see anyone swimming in the pool during our stay. The pool next door at the Lancaster was available for a fee. This was annoying as there appeared to be a strong connection between SDR & the Lancaster. Guests could freely move between the establishments compromising general security in the area. The kitchen facility appeared very old & not well maintained. I will have to lower my expectations in kitchen facilities if this is the norm. The rooms (we faced the street) were very noisy at night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WombatJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davephils, Guest Relations Manager at SDR Mactan Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thanks for your feedback.

We have noted your comments and we have scheduled the kitchen in that room to be updated. Unfortunately, that is one of the few rooms that has not had an update. Anyway, we always appreciated feedback as it helps us to do better. Thank-you.

Regarding the swimming pool, there are two swimming pools in the condominium. The small pool is free to use. The large resort style pool is free if you spend Peso 250 (around 5 USD) in the independently run bar. If not, you can simply pay Peso 200 (US$4 per day including towels) and use the pool all day. As we are part of a condominium, we have no control over this cost.

Given the economical cost of usage, or the ability to use it for free if guests buy a few drinks in the bar, most of our guests are fine with the arrangement. However, we do appreciate that this doesn't apply to all guests.

Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had a pleasant 4 week stay, The apartment lived up to our expectations (Having used the same apartment twice before)
We were meet at the airport and our transfer was promptly arranged .
I can tell you after 14 hours, plus 6 hours in transit at Singapore getting rest in the apartment is a big thing.
Some improvements from last year was new bed duvet cover. The apartment had been nicely prepared as far as the cleaning went and I could see the seating and cushions has been given a recent wash.
One area of concern was no hot water on arrive ,However this was resolved promptly.
We thank the manager Phelgie and staff for a present stay.

Graeme & Fleur

Room Tip: Found some nice food places close to SaveMore the Magellan Bar & Pizza place , both serve a coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Murtong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davephils, Manager at SDR Mactan Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Firstly, it is great to welcome you back Graeme & Fleur.

We are delighted that you once again chose SDR Serviced Apartments - third time - as your residence during your stay in Cebu.

We look forward to welcoming you back with even more improvements but our same big smiles on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We have stayed here for the third time.One month stay inJan. 2007 then followed by another month in Dec 2011 and again three weeks in Nov.2012 .Our room is overlooking the big swimmingpool,where my husband is fond of swimming.I like also their small kitchenet where you can cook what you like and have your groceries bought in the nearby supermarket about 8 mins walk.Phelgie the manager is very helpful and respond immediately whatever we ask or need during our stay in SDR.We like to come back again next year..i hope we still get a nice room overlooking the big pool :-)Thanks Phelgie and the SDR Team"

Room Tip: Rooms fronting the roadside are better,its quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davephils, Manager at SDR Mactan Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank-you again for your business. We are delighted that you chose SDR Serviced Apartments for the 3rd time. We will do our very best to make sure that you can get the same room overlooking the big pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Two of us have been staying here for 2 months already. Enjoy it very much. We have a 2 bedroom condo unit. The Manager miss Phelgie could not be more helpful or polite. Responds instantly to our needs. Great local knowledge and always very helpful. A rare asset to have someone like this in the Philippines. The location is great. Walking distance to Save More supermarket and restaurants, airport, and Waterfront airport hotel (get a temporary pool, gym and spa membership if you are staying a month or more). Short tricycle or taxi ride to Gaisano Mactan Mall (van transport to the big malls in downtown Cebu City from there every hour), municipal building, post office, facilities.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room overlooking Matumbo Road. It is a bit noisy but its the shady side of the comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honolulumark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davephils, Manager at SDR Mactan Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

We thank-you sincerely for choosing SDR Serviced Apartments in Cebu for your accommodation choice. Even more so that you are a seasoned traveller and have stayed with us for over 2 months!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Returned again to SDR in July 2012 for 10 days.

* Service excellent as always.

* I stayed on the 5th floor E block which has views over to Cebu City, Mandaue City and Consolacion. Road traffic and beeping of Trike's is audible here, but being higher up not so bad.

* Corridors are drab as are unfinished rooms from the outside,

* Inside rooms lovely and large inside, even if some furnishings a bit dated (inbuilt wardrobes).

* Internet (Cable) generally fast and available with just the occasional slow periods or outages.

* Cable TV good (many channels in both English and Tagalog) and reliable with only a brief outage.

* Only one power outage this stay that affected all of Lapu-Lapu City (lasted about 1.5hrs).

* Staff always super friendly and exceptionally helpful.

* Only main problem is unlike Aussie toilets, the toilets are not really made for flushing toilet paper (this is a problem throughout Philippines), so limit use of toilet paper or you will be dealing with blocked toilet / CR.

* Aircon always worked fine, not quite as cold as I like but plenty cold for my Filipina fiancee.

Room Tip: Choose a high up room - Rooms in D or E block facing road have better views, or the back of B block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imetmytruelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davephils, Manager at SDR Mactan Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Great to welcome you both back yet again! Thank-you for being a supporter of SDR Serviced Apartments. We will continue to strive to improve and thank-you for your honest and frank review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Very pleasant stay at all times Management and staff were outstanding.
Large room with all the amenity's that we required.

We did get a earthquake during our stay, Although it was some distance away the buildings shook quite a lot, 6.8 at the quake center.

As I'm a building contractor (retired now) I will say this building stood up well and I could not see any signs that the quake had done any damage.

Although I'm from New Zealand this way my first experience of a earthquake.

The New Zealand embassy in Manila and the New Zealand people in Wellington sent emails to see if we were safe,so thumb's up to them as well.

Thanks a lot to staff and management.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murtong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davephils, Guest Relations Manager at SDR Mactan Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank-you so much for your positive reviews and your continued patronage of SDR apartments in Cebu.

We are always glad to get feedback from our guests. It helps us to strive harder and improve.

Yes, the earthquake was a difficult time for us all in Cebu and Bohol, but we are blessed that our building is very strong. We suffered very little damage.

Thanks again for your second visit to SDR and we hope you will come back again and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites
#14 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
120 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eloisa Royal Suites
Eloisa Royal Suites
#6 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
474 reviews
3.5 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#16 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
0.4 mi away
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
4.3 mi away
ALTA Cebu Resort
ALTA Cebu Resort
#1 of 4 in Cordova
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SDR Mactan Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SDR Mactan Serviced Apartments

Address: | Kiener Hills Condominums, Brgy. Matumbo, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: £24 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SDR Mactan Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You may be out of your time zone, but not your comfort zone. SDR Mactan Serviced Apartments in Cebu, provides your own slice of paradise. You will have a cozy fully-furnished, 36.5 sqm - 65 sqm high standard apartment with kitchen (larger than nearby 5-star resorts) in a great location, with free wifi internet, cable TV, DVD player (with a selection of movies), kitchen, cooking facilities and implements, balcony and stylish contemporary furnishings. We have the award-winning Italian restaurant "La Bella" pizza bistro. Fully licensed, serving home-made pastas, salads and of course their famous pizzas. A home-away-from-home in Paradise. We are just 5 minutes from the airport and close to the beach. The Cebu Yacht club is just 5 minutes away and so is Marina Mall with over 100 retail stores and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your SDR Mactan Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sdr Mactan Serviced Apartments Hotel Lapu Lapu
SDR Mactan Serviced Apartments Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing