We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Breathtaking View

Untouched and beautiful! Unspoiled! Boat trips from Naval might change from time to time, so be... read more

Reviewed 6 August 2019
delight g
,
Cebu Island, Philippines
One of the Most Picturesque Island in the Philippines

very long road trip, very long boat rides.... but very worth it!! The entire island offers a 360... read more

Reviewed 16 July 2019
Jhun R
,
Guiguinto, Bulacan, Philippines
Read all 60 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Leyte Island
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
38
17
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
38
17
2
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2016

It was one of the best trips I’ve ever had so far. :)

With the side trips going to Sambawan island, your eyes will already be filled with nature. You’ll be experiencing a lot of mode of transportation upon going there: From Naval, you have to ride a bus going to Cawayan then get a boat going to Maripipi Island. In Maripipi Island, you’ll enjoy a quite long motorcycle or “habal-habal” ride going to Ol-og which is considered as the nearest jump point going to the island.

Let’s talk about the island then. So, Sambawan Island is really quiet literally. For me, I could consider it as a deserted island with just having nipa huts and a scheduled electric supply. So much for that anyway, I was there just to witness how breathtaking the island is.

When I got there, I have observed that the sand and the water are just as usual as some other beautiful beaches here in Ph but when you got to their view deck (very important), everything is just wonderful. Wonderful is an understatement I guess. I could just stay there for hours and relieve stress.

What a great day!

Date of experience: February 2016
2  Thank donnyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 December 2016

This place gives you amazing view and some Instagram-worthy photos. You can swim from the shore but i suggest you wear aqua shoes just in case. Php2500 for kubo good for 10pax. Haggle you can get it for Php2K :P (if off peak)

Date of experience: December 2016
1  Thank 825trishaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Went here from Agta Beach resort in Almeria, Biliran. Boat ride from Agta resort took about 1.5 hours. Upon arriving we registered and were briefed on the diving.

They charged us 500 pesos per person with unlimited diving and includes the island entrance fee. This is a very good rate. I guess the rate was like that because we have our own dive boat and DM.

Diving is pretty goof, lots of nice corals but average in terms of the number of fish variety.

The island itself is nice, but the sand is not sandy but composed of broken shells and corals. The water is crystal clear.

What I did not like though was the food that can be bought, it was limited to canned food. Since it is an island, we were expecting to see fresh sea foods but we were not in luck.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank DiverPeeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Beautiful island in Eastern Visayas which is unspoiled and have few visitors owing to its remoteness. There are few facilities in the island due to its small beach area so bring your own water and food.

Cheapest would be to bring a tent and just pitch for just 150 php ( $3). Or rent one in the resort. The entrance fee for day trip is the same as overnight fee. Haha

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank byrone29
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2016

This island is so beautiful and amazing, one of the best I would say in the Philippines. The best part is, it is very unspoiled by tourists. The island gets a lot of local visitors, and several tourists, but on week days it is very quiet and amazing. We went on a weekday by hiring a boat from Agta beach for 3500 P for the whole day. The waters of the island are so beautiful, the only thing is that there is some trash floating in the waters as approaching the island, but not right on the beach, guess it gets brought by the current from the other bigger nearby islands, which is the only thing I would say was not good about the island. Definitely walk up to the look out point, where you can see the whole island, it is one of the highlights and a perfect photo opportunity. Bring your own food and snacks, as food is more expensive there. Enjoy snorkeling there, as there are some fishes there, but snorkeling is not the best compared to other places. The beach is made of broken corals, so its not a sandy beach, but it was still white and beautiful. Definitely make a trip to this island when you get the chance to visit Almeria/Leyte.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews