We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great time away from the cities and all.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mambukal Hot Spring Resort
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Bacolod
Jackson, Missouri
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great time away from the cities and all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Wife and I went March, 2013. Went midweek so no crowds around. Travel from Bacolod by car took less than 1 hour and cost us around 50 US. Although we found out that you could ride buses right to the gate of the resort from Bacolod. Don't know from where so it's a mute point.
Read about it in Philippines Travel Guide, so went expecting to stay the night. Got there and decided on a cottage for around 2000 piso a night. It was a very nice room. New furniture indoor and out on the porch, plus hot water, ref, and aircon. No phone ,tv, or internet, but thats not why we went. Plenty of activities to do during the day, and we sat outside at night and had a few drinks. Definately need insect repellant and coils at night.
During the day we went to see the water falls. Only made it to 2 as the trail starts to get steep after #2 and it was hot and humid. My favorite was the swim in the hot spring. Also had a large pool but couldn't see getting in it when there was this 45 degree spring to soak in! Also bat watching. The colony was said to number 5000. Quit active even in the daylight. Plus a bridge with thousands of swallows under it, you walk under and see close up. A lovely place to walk as there is no traffic and lots of the trees have the name and common uses for them on signs.
There is a food court open during daylight hours with pinoy food and a surprising selection of seafood, considering it's on the side of a volcano! Plus soft and hard drinks. And a bunch of sari sari stores at the little village by the resort entrance. We went there and sat drinking beers in the evening talking with the locals, seemed real friendly. I will definately go with my kids next time. They love water.

Room Tip: We asked for the best room they had. There are also family and cheap rooms in the old Inn. We didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bossjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    28
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
29
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Mambukal is still a great place to relax and bond with your family. The place maybe old but well maintained. When you are in that place you'll forget the inconvenience of having no wifi. You will enjoy the place and be with the nature. Being surrounded by nature is refreshing to the soul.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhesean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

We wanted to hold our business conference in a cool, hilltop-surrounded-by-trees setting with a quiet and unpolluted environment so we decided to book it in this mountain and hot spring resort .

Booking was only one phone call away. We immediately got a booking for a modest size conference in the coffee shop area and a suite room (2 adjacent rooms with 3 beds each sharing a common bath). The arrangement was pretty straightforward. They provide the facilities and we can bring our own food without corkage.

We got a 20% senior citizen discount. Overall, we got a good value for the package but there's an entrance fee of P50.00 per head and P15.00 for light vehicles. There's also an extra P100.00 electrical charge per gadget plugged in.

Upon arrival, the staff were very accommodating. They provided for most of our extra requirements for a business conference, e.g. table for our LCD projector and hot and cold water dispenser, with a smile.

The hotel though was very old and rustic but far from the maddening crowd. It needed a lot of repairs. But we were satisfied with the conference area and the rooms although some windows were broken. There was a balcony overlooking the property where guests can relax. One can see the roofline of the new cottages below. We were told that the local and foreign tourists prefer to stay in the modern cottages (with 4 beds in a room) versus the traditional hotel accommodations.

They also had a dormitory which can accommodate 20 pax per room. I plan to hold a students' seminar there sometime in December.

Room Tip: Hilltop hotel is quieter but farther. Cottages below are near the swimming pool and hot springs area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank profzulueta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

We arrived during the afternoon and we stayed at one of their LGU cottages the room was spacious since ther's nothing in much in it. It has 2 beds, an open cabinet (no hangers), a table with 2 chairs, a kitchen sink & cupboards and has a bathroom with hot & cold shower. The bed was uncomfortable so we asked if we can transfer to a different cottage(since it's off peak we were able to do be transferred to a different cottage). The 2nd cottage is pretty much the same except for the shower head in the 2nd cottage it was old & not really functioning well. we requested for an extra pillow and you will have to go to their reception area(which is a walking distance from the cottage) JUST TO GET A TOWEL (it wasn't ready for the guest). aside from this overall the resort was fine, they have a spa beside one of the dipping pools which is GREAT (it was so relaxing that i fell asleep)...OVERALL THE VIEW IS REALLY GREAT...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mhilani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

I arrived very late and took a room then..............The Room...... dirty and smelly damp soaking pillow and as for the matress it should have been in the rubbish dump...................slept on a couple of chairs The hot spring was nice, and the guide that took me up to the water falls was excellent. Would i go again yes but will never stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ozman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bacolod hotels

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We booked a quiet cottage where the entranced and primary view was against a beautiful hillside.. but it turns out it was where all the workers there gathered and noisily did chores all day.. we complained but there was nothing they could/would do. even construction was going on 15 feet from our entrance as they prepared materials for other areas of the resort. overall the place has a lot of potential but from a service level they really have no idea of what reasonable expectations are concerning foreign tourist.. also, no security anywhere.. we were sometimes 'befriended' by young men on the paths in the jungle that wanted to help us or guide us to various places but we had no idea who these people were.. when hiking on some of the trails we encountered groups of young filipino men camped out and making food and for all we know they could have been rebels. we just had no idea.. they didnt seem to be tourist.

Room Tip: make sure you see your accomadation before you book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

You would think that a mountain resort is a place where you can do alot of fun activities during the day and get a good night rest in the evening... Well this is no place to spend a quiet, cozy moment whenever you need it. I understand the place is so popular that's why its always I mean always packed, and during peak season you could bump into each other wherever you go... We did mountain trekking/pool dipping, "ride for life" thing, eating, swimming, and alot of walking so when the evening comes we were so tired and just ready to have a goooood night sleep but here goes these people who got a room literally next to us, brought a big "karaoke system" and played the thing all night long til morning, PLUS they were laughing and screaming to the top o their lungs like they were on drugs, we assumed they were on drugs because if they were on alcohol and drunk, that could knock them out. They have these security guards with their automatic weapons and loaded guns so we thought they would take care of it because they were definitely disturbing not just us but all other people. We couldn't go out and make complain to these security guards because we were scared that they might do some crazy things to us, because theyw ere there right in
front of our exit. So we waited the next morning and made complaints about it, we did not really ask for any kind of reimbursement, we just gave them a advice that "hey look, if you want foreigners to come to this place you better do some improvements on these matters." It could have been a trip of our life but it was ruined, ruined because of LACK OF SECURITY AND LACK OF STRICT IMPLEMENTATION OF RULES in terms of respecting other occupants. Hell, they said try to respect and tolerate some people playing music, but how about try to respect other people's right to a nice vacation.

Room Tip: Choose their most expensive one, that way yo avoid being in close proximity to other people that wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bacolod hotels
14.7 mi away
Circle Inn - Hotel & Suites
15.4 mi away
The Inns Bacolod by The Oriental
15.4 mi away
L'Fisher Hotel
L'Fisher Hotel
#1 of 29 in Bacolod
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Luxur Place
Luxur Place
#11 of 29 in Bacolod
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
15.2 mi away
Goldenfield Kundutel Hotel
Goldenfield Kundutel Hotel
#22 of 29 in Bacolod
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
15.6 mi away
Royal Am Rei
Royal Am Rei
#10 of 29 in Bacolod
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mambukal Hot Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mambukal Hot Spring Resort

Property: Mambukal Hot Spring Resort
Address: | Minoyan, Bacolod, Negros Occidental, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Occidental > Bacolod
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Bacolod
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Mambukal Hot Spring Hotel Bacolod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing