We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sour Notes at Sugarland Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sugarland Hotel
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Bacolod
qc
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Sour Notes at Sugarland Hotel”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel is old, and it's age is showing. The guest room while clean, was lacking in warmth and cozyness. Bathroom facilities need refurbishing. Breakfast buffet was just okay, nothing to write home about. The housekeeping staff need more training in taking care of guest needs/requests. I asked to borrow scissors and scotch tape from them, because I needed to wrap something. The person who answered the phone said she couldn't provide any because these were with her supervisor, who wasn't in yet. Huh? Shouldn't she find a way to provide service for a simple guest request? That staff encounter really turned me off. Good hotels provide reasonable guest requests promptly, so sorry to say - I cannot consider Sugarland a good hotel. My rating for this hotel is only FAIR!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anabelleochoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    46
    24
    11
    8
See reviews for
32
15
5
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
264 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I've been told by locals and relatives that Sugarland is a great hotel to stay in. I say it's just okay.

The Wifi inside the room is iffy, it only works certain times a day. The whole week I stayed there, the elevator only worked once or twice. One time I asked for a room clean up and when I returned they only cleared the dishes from room service, but whatever was in disarray was left in the same condition. Another time, before entering my room, I heard voices from inside. Turns out housekeeping left the telly in my room on- to local news. The safe wasn't working, either. Oh, and your keycard sometimes gets disabled too....which means you have to go down to have it enabled, and then climb the stairs back up- not something I relish doing after a long day at work.

What was good? Well, the breakfast buffet options were few, but tasty. The sotangjon guisado is worth ordering, too, on a day when you're too lazy to go out to eat (Sugarland is not near any decent restaurant). At P 150, the serving is huge and tastes divine. There is a balcony/ terrace area in almost every room, which means you can go out and get some sunshine, fresh air, or smoke if you are so inclined. The fixtures and decor are pretty, you get free water, coffee fixings for 2, and organic toiletries every time you have your room cleaned.

Service was also okay, most of the time staff are friendly. I would not say they are efficient or that they would exert any extra effort to make my stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool side, it makes for a good breeze when you step out the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna May V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olongapo, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed here for 3D/2N during my business trip in Bacolod. I enjoyed staying here, the rooms are clean, nice hotel staff and has good basic amenities. Though quite far from some establishments, there are public vehicles always available outside the area. And also, I really love the 'Death by Chocolate' cake they serve in their restaurant. :)

Room Tip: If there will be ongoing functions during your stay, ask for a room away from the function rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I stayed for 4 days and it was really very comfy and convenient. It has everything that I want in a average hotel. 1. Wifi (inside the room) 2. Free Breakfast 3. Swimming pool (not so big though) 4. good location and 5. very good service. Price is also reasonable 1,600.00 corporate rate.

So, overall I was really satisfied. =)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j3ffry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Our choice of hotel during our 11th wedding anniversary proved to be the best! Its has a homey feel but still undeniably first class. The food served were also deliciously homemade taste.

All of the employees were so friendly and accommodating. They were so helpful and understanding that they allowed us to extend our stay in our room until the afternoon in order to wait for our flight schedule without any additional fee.

How's that for a world class service!

Kudos to you! We enjoyed staying in Sugarland and we hope to be back!
I've already been telling my family and friends to stay in your hotel whenever they're in Bacolod.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Firstly the hotel is located a good 10min drive outside the city, which we didn't realize when booking. I think the location information on their website is totally misleading about that.
It wasn't such an issue though.

The pool area is really nice. The hotel is quite clean, although one of our rooms had to be changeds cause of a terrible humidity/damp/mold odor...

The service is alright, considering Filipino standards in the province. The food is terrible, don't spend p250 for the brakfast unless you really enjoy scrambled eggs that have been sitting for hours, bad orange juice, horrible coffee... I'd suggest to go into town where you'll find some decent local coffee shops...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoAkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

Service ok. Check in quite fast. Receptionists should be advised to be more friendly and smile often. Room structure is very very poor as it emits the sound coming from the pool area which they often use for function. You cannot enjoy a dip when you want since area is utilized for gatherings. Definitely not recommending for anyone who wants to after a days work/activity. Not going back here as well.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duhhduhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bacolod hotels
2.0 mi away
Circle Inn - Hotel & Suites
2.2 mi away
L'Fisher Hotel
L'Fisher Hotel
#1 of 29 in Bacolod
319 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inns Bacolod by The Oriental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Planta Centro Bacolod Hotel & Residences
1.1 mi away
O Hotel
O Hotel
#2 of 29 in Bacolod
208 reviews
1.3 mi away
Goldenfield Kundutel Hotel
Goldenfield Kundutel Hotel
#18 of 29 in Bacolod
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sugarland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sugarland Hotel

Property: The Sugarland Hotel
Address: Araneta St. Singcang, Bacolod, Negros Occidental 6100, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Occidental > Bacolod
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Bacolod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sugarland Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugarland Hotel is a Bacolod landmark. It has 83 new rooms and 5 new suites. All rooms are well appointed with individual safes, coffee mixing trays, mini-bar, and 24-hour room service to name a few. Enjoy fantastic food at the new TWIST Cafe or at the poolside bar & grill. Relax; take a dip in the brand new swimming pool. WIFI service is free at the cafe, lobby, and at the poolside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Sugarland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarland Hotel Bacolod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing