We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Iloilo Midtown Hotel
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Iloilo City
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is my third stay at the hotel, and it was quite a kick that some of the staff remembered me from past visits. The hotel is located in Iloilo City Proper, and is within short walking distance to Museo Iloilo, SM Delgado, Robinson's Place, Amigo Mall and MaryMart, to name a few. It is also convenient to the SuperCat terminal and the Guimaras pump boat terminal. Cabs are always passing by the front, so it is always easy to get one for transport. Walking around the city proper is educational and entertaining, especially to get the "feel" of local culture. Street vendors have an amazing array of local treats (roasted corn and boiled peanuts being two of my favorites), Cab fares to SM City (the "big" mall) run about 80-90 pesos, and it is quite an experience being in rush hour traffic in Iloilo. The staff in the hotel are very friendly, helpful and conscientious, and will bend over backwards to assist you with any problems. The restaurant downstairs had really good Chinese food as well. The room was comfortable, clean, and the walk-in shower was a real boon. When I return to Iloilo (and I hope soon), there is no doubt I will stay again at Midtown. I know a couple of my friends who work at the hotel will recognize my pic.

Room Tip: I stayed on floor 7 facing the street, and found it to be noise free both from outside and inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank burronuggets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

From the outside, the Midtown Hotel looks quite appealing. The facade and lobby are clean and attractive, the reception staff smartly dressed and pleasant to talk to. But wait...

The room I stayed in was awful. An uncomfortable bed and pillow that gave me a terrible night's sleep and a neck ache that I carried for the rest of my Phils trip. The shower was nothing short of disgraceful. A valve at the bottom directs what little water there is to either a spout at the bottom (odd, since it's not over a bath) or the shower head above. The switch didn't work - only sending half the water to the shower head, where it barely managed to emerge and run down the dirty tiled wall.

At breakfast you are given a choice of a few western foods, eggs, sausage, ham etc. It too was horrible. To add insult, I noticed two breakfast staff at a table nearby tucking in to some sort of fried noodles, which looked pretty good compared to the mess I had before me. For paying customers however, that isn't on the menu.

WiFi - forget it. It doesn't work. TV? Snow, no sound, dodgy remote. Pfft.

So having endured a bad sleep, aching neck, no shower and disgusting breakfast, my recommendation is that you stay somewhere else. There are several other hotels in Iloilo that will provide vastly better accommodation at the same price.

To the owner and management of the Midtown Hotel I say this - think about the experience of your customers. That will determine the success of your hotel.

Room Tip: The best rooms are at other hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

stayed in this hotel during Jaro's Nuestra Señora de la Candelaria feast..staffs were attentive & helpful,room is spacious but the interior needs repainting & major make over the in house resto Summer Place serves authentic Chinese cuisine that is a by word in the city..located near the Iloilo river wharf -Muelle Loney & the central business area..we only stayed for one night & I noticed a girly & karaoke bar across & some spooky looking guys lurking in the dark ..hmmm,come on! let's make Iloilo great again,dubbed long time ago as the Queen city of Western Visayas.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raymmiconmapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel is well located in the center of the town and reasonably priced but the rooms need renovation. The worst was the breakfast: cold scrambled eggs,old ham and poor service. The dress of the waiters looked weared same as the restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SteveHH1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

If you want a hotel right within Iloilo city this hotel will do. It is near different malls and transportation is not an issue. I am giving this a 4 star though because of the restaurant within the hotel - Summer House which serves the best Chinese cuisine in town. The hotel needs to be upgraded ASAP though if it wants to attract new customers.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dafufu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The building is old and even the bed linens and towels looked tired and worn out.
The only consolation in staying in this hotel is that they gave us a spacious room,its located right at the heart of the city(near the pier and a major department store) and the chinese restaurant at the first floor which is very popular to locals.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed here during the Dinagyang celebration. It's smacked right in the middle of town. I chose this hotel since the dance parade passes by the corner just a few meters from the hotel. The supermarket and restaurants are all within walking distance. But interestingly, it is also accessible to nightly entertainment as it is right across a couple of girly joints.
They have newly-refurbished rooms specially in the annex. You can have a clear view of Iloilo from the rooftop but be ready to take the stairs, though. With the building having 2 elevators, it only reaches the 4th floor. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic–choices of ham, sausage with egg and rice, and coffee or juice. Parking was difficult as it’s a one- way street.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFrancis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Iloilo City hotels
0.4 mi away
Go Hotels Iloilo
Go Hotels Iloilo
#12 of 33 in Iloilo City
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Circle Inn - Iloilo City Center
0.2 mi away
Harbor Town Hotel
Harbor Town Hotel
#5 of 33 in Iloilo City
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Iloilo Business Hotel
Iloilo Business Hotel
#19 of 33 in Iloilo City
69 reviews
1.6 mi away
Injap Tower Hotel
Injap Tower Hotel
#7 of 33 in Iloilo City
228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amigo Terrace Hotel
Amigo Terrace Hotel
#11 of 33 in Iloilo City
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iloilo Midtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iloilo Midtown Hotel

Address: Yulo St., Iloilo City, Iloilo Province 5000, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Panay Island > Iloilo Province > Iloilo City
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Iloilo City
Price Range: £24 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Iloilo Midtown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Iloilo Midtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing