We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to rest”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samar Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caluwayan Palm Island Resort & Restaurant
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to rest”
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

I had great visits there for the weekend.
It's 1 hour from tacloban by van.
The place is very clean and good service.

There is one thing you should know - no wifi / Internet. And the cellular signal is not so good ...


I had good time there !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robi-TLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    19
    11
    9
    13
See reviews for
27
6
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I've stayed in this resort in june 2012 for a very few days. That was more then enough. Front desk: a disaster. Restaurant: a disaster. Service: disaster, OJT level. Room: OK. As it is brandnew. Nature: nice. Beach: plenty of jelly fish. Mobile signal: zero. WIFI: no. TV: NO. Overall conclusion: Stay far away from this resort. Samar has more to offer!.

Room Tip: Spend your pesos in another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wghvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Samar Island hotels

Tacloban City
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Fresh seafoods (crabs, fish, and more) plus native foods (camote, saging at puto). Clean rooms, cottages and CR. Well-manicured landscaping and well-maintained swimming pools. Owners are down-to-earth ... you cannot detect them as owners. And what's more? Prices are negotiable ... discounts are available for any type of customer ... an individual, groups, private or government ... sounds like an advertisement? But these are the TRUTH AND NOTHING BUT THE TRUTH ... try it and you'll love it...

But remember to book in advance ... the rooms may not be available

Room Tip: rooms facing the sea are more relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Light2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Nice location, horrible service! Our group of 10 ordered a lot of food at the restaurant. We waited 2,5 hours for our food to arrive and when it finally did half of our order wasn't there. They were out of food but didn't bother to inform us at the time we made the order. Some of the staff told us we could eat the food we brought from home, since we were starving and they had made us wait for two hours for food they didn't even have. At the second we took out our own food the staff came rushing yelling at us for eating what we brought ourselves after all. All in all, overpriced with really bad service and a lack of logistics. Will not go back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Henoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormoc, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

just read some of the comments here and it reminded me of a day trip i had a year ago. we rented a boat, since the language is different, it was my friend who communicated with the local boatman as to what the price was. at the end of the day upon paying we were charged a different rate, upon insisting that we pay the agreed rate between boatman and my friend, manager/owner started shouting and said that she will let the boatman pay for the deficiency ( which was thousand over!) . Never had i met management as rude as her . I shudder to think how she treats her employees. Wish everyone would boycott this place so that she would learn that in the service business, service is required, and not be such a snob.

oh another thing, there is a beautiful public beach next to the resort, but since there is no right of way, you have to pay to get into the resort in order to go to the beach.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
10 Thank v H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las pinas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Quite and awesome place..room was very nice and clean..little sad because we were not allowed to swim in the sea only on infinity the swimming pool..

Room Tip: ground floor rooms facing swimming pool highly recommended..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank supladapretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012 via mobile

The manager and most of the staff are unprofessional. They lack "people skills". Food is very expensive at the same time the beach is plain local. Unless you go over the next island where you find a white beach (white sand & blue beach) lol

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachAtWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samar Island
70.1 mi away
Ciriaco Hotel
Ciriaco Hotel
#1 of 3 in Calbayog City
93 reviews
12.3 mi away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#2 of 21 in Tacloban
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Oriental Leyte
The Oriental Leyte
#1 of 1 in Palo
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hotel Estrella
Hotel Estrella
#6 of 21 in Tacloban
12 reviews
12.0 mi away
Go Hotels Tacloban
Go Hotels Tacloban
#8 of 21 in Tacloban
137 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel XYZ
Hotel XYZ
#3 of 21 in Tacloban
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caluwayan Palm Island Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caluwayan Palm Island Resort & Restaurant

Property: Caluwayan Palm Island Resort & Restaurant
Address: Caluwayan, Marabut, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Samar Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Samar Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Caluwayan Palm Island Resort And Restaurant
Caluwayan Palm Island Resort & Restaurant Hotel Samar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing