We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet relaxation”
Review of E.B. Morgan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aurora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
E.B. Morgan House
Ranked #2 of 5 Aurora B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the E.B. Morgan house for my birthday, in November. The inn is set on a beautiful lake in upstate NY. We stayed in room # 7, which was towards the back of the house overlooking the lake, and featured a comfy king sized bed and a large walk in shower. The privacy that this room offered was great. We rarely saw another guest. The room was cleaned daily, and the care taker was very nice.
The grounds of the inn are also very beautiful. You can catch an amazing sunset from the back patio. But after then sun goes down, you have to make your way inside because the inn doesn't have any outdoor lighting at all. We found this to be disappointing as the weather was unseasonably warm while we were there, and we would have like to take advantage of the beautiful nights on the lake.
We originally found the E.B.Morgan house through a Groupon deal, and drove up from the city. We didn't do much research about the town of Aurora before going, and were quite surprised to find it so small. Surrounded by farmland there isn't much around for miles in any direction. The town has a small corner store, where you can get the essentials, and some baked goods. It has the Aurora Inn Restaurant, and then there is Fargo, the bar across the street. These are your primary (if not only) options for food while staying at the E.B. Morgan house, unless you want to drive to the next large town. Not really a problem, but it was limited. We also didn't find a gas station in the town. But if you're looking for a relaxing place to get away from everything, it's the place to go.
Another plus was that there were lots of wineries in the area. We didn't get a chance to visit them while we were there, but if we go back, we hope to.
Overall the E.B. Morgan House was great. If you go to the Aurora Inn for breakfast, make sure to try the french toast, it's amazing.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room on the lake. There isn't much to look at from the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QuidditchQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

This was our third time staying at the inn. Dale couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating. The house is exquisite, beds and well designed bathrooms comfortable. The porch...well you have to spend time on it to truly understand how wonderful it is. Enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Aurora Inn a few minutes down the road. All in all, worth the splurge and will keep returning.

Room Tip: all the rooms are charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We chose to stay in the beautiful old mansion called the "E.B. Morgan House," which is part of Aurora Inn on the side of Cayuga Lake.  There are only seven rooms here with huge reception rooms, high ceilings, large bathrooms, fireplaces in all of the bedrooms and we had a four poster bed, from which one can see down over the lawn and out over the lake!  

Upon arrival we were offered a glass of wine - as one is each evening and then each morning after enjoying a wonderful pummeling in the high jet shower, you can just wander downstairs in your bath robe to get coffee and muffins (we'd been invited to, so rude not to somehow.)

This is one of the most comfortable and delightful non chain hotels I have ever stayed in and I would go back in a flash if we're ever in the area again.

Word to the wise however, don't let your wife go into the Mackenzie-Childs studio just on the outskirts of town unless you want to spend all of your holiday budget - amazing !!!

Room Tip: In you prefer a more private stay, choose to stay in the sister E.B. Morgan House just along the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drusilla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

My partner and I decided to extend our trip to New York for a family wedding and explore the finger lakes. We are wine lovers from california and have looked forward to a winery tour for some years. We booked 3 nights at the the EB Morgan house. What a wonderful choice we made. The lakes are beautiful, the wine first class. Let's face it, the wonderful lake swimming and dry rieslings would be perfect even if staying in a dirty hut. Wine lovers...go to the finger
lakes! Lake lovers...finger lakes await! Just don't too many find this place or it might become crowded. But I digress...EB Morgan and it's delightful, warm, tender loving care giver, inn keeper extraordinaire Lynda was a DREAM. Hospitality students should visit this property to learn how to do everything right. It's not the view or the fireflies dancing in the trees at night from the lovely back patio. It's not the tastefully decorated and impeccably restored historic property, or the crisp linens, or nightly turn down with foiled wrapped chocolates and a meaningful quote left on your perfectly fluffed pillow. It's not the lemon ricotta pancakes or the beautifully seared fois gras appetizer and yes that is a set up as we now have a ban on the delicacy in California. All of this and more is only really to be appreciated because it is framed by the kindness and warmth of Lynda who welcomed us as if it were her own home and we were old friends. Our visit to back in time Aurora and EB Morgan was truly unforgettable. We are counting the moments until we are watching another scorching sun set over Cayuga lake, with a glass of Riesling raised in thankfulness for a beautiful world.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDEEMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

After dropping kids off at summer camp, my husband and I spent two nights at the E.B. Morgan House. We didn't want to leave! From the warm welcome by innkeeper Lynda, to the beautiful view of Lake Cayuga from the porch, to the lovely room-- it was all great. We also loved the 5pm wine, morning muffins and coffee. I enjoyed early morning and afternoon swims in the beautiful lake. The sister property Aurora Inn offers delicious dinners served on a deck overlooking the lake and complimentary breakfast. We hope to return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suebhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

After reading all the reviews, my husband and I chose the E B Morgan House to spend our first anniversary. We just got home after spending 3 wonderful nights there and we couldn't have been more pleased!! The inn certainly lived up to all of the glowing reviews! Our innkeeper, Linda was wonderful, as well. She was extremely helpful and informative as to the various sites that we would like to see in the Finger Lakes area. The room we stayed in was very comfortable, loved the bed linens and the bathroom. All of the little touches is what made this inn extraordinary!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful weekend at the E. B. Morgan House. I cannot say enough about our time there. The room we had was beautiful! Warm, inviting and comfortable. Our innkeeper, Dale, went above and beyond to make our stay perfect. The coffee and muffins in the early morning were a wonderful touch. Not to mention the wine and cheese in the late afternoon! The views of the lake were beautiful. I would highly recommend a visit to the E. B. Morgan House.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryGlaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aurora
11.7 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
368 reviews
17.5 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
733 reviews
15.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Aurora Inn
The Aurora Inn
#1 of 5 in Aurora
301 reviews
15.7 mi away
Inn at Taughannock
Inn at Taughannock
#5 of 9 in Trumansburg
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E.B. Morgan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E.B. Morgan House

Address: 431 Main Street, Aurora, NY 13026
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Aurora
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aurora
Price Range: £120 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1858, E.B. Morgan House offers seven large, sunny guestrooms, many with working fireplaces, an exceptional collection of modern art, and an innkeeper who sees to every need. Guests are invited to enjoy E.B. Morgan House as they would a private home with the comforts of its library, parlor, dining room, and generous porches overlooking the lake and rolling lawns. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
e.b. Morgan House Hotel Aurora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing