We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity at the Finger Lakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of E.B. Morgan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aurora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
E.B. Morgan House
Ranked #2 of 5 Aurora B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Serenity at the Finger Lakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

(This review is actually for March 2011)

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights before heading to Niagara Falls,and it was beautiful. The Inn is beautifully decorated, as was our room, which had an amazing view of the lake. The chocolate-dipped strawberries and local Finger-Lakes wine was an added treat :)

Overall, it was an amazing stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
77
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

My wife and her sister recently spent a night at the E.B.Morgan House.In the past my wife and I have stayed at the Aurora Inn several times.
My wife much enjoyed this property with great views of the lake.excellent outside areas for reading etc. The innkeeper was most helpful and courteous.
Dinner (burger) at the FARGO across from the Aurora Inn was great as in the past.
Breakfast at the inn was tasteful as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChucksterRhinebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

The EB Morgan house was built in 1857 by a wealthy entrepreneur who counted the founders of American Express, Wells Fargo and Cornell University among his friends/business partners. The house stayed in the family until 1961 when it was donated to Wells College. It was renovated on an "unlimited budget" (funded by Pleasant Rowland, founder of American Girls dolls/alumna of Wells College/Aurora resident and the Aurora Foundation) and is simply spectacular - luxurious, traditional decor enlivened with colorful floral arrangements, whimsical McKenzie-Childs accessories, and well-chosen contemporary art. It is complemented by a charming innkeeper, Dale, who has a gift for making you feel truly welcome throughout your stay.

We stayed in Room #4 which is on the third and has a corner "village" view. Spacious, bright and sunny, it has persimmon colored walls trimmed in white, a remote-controlled gas fireplace, windows with pocket shutters, a spacious bathroom, a queen-sized bed with a floral chintz canopy and cream duvet, and free WiFi. No lake views, but we didn't miss having one. We enjoyed them instead from the luxuriously appointed living room downstairs which offered comfortable seating and a warm, crackling fire.

Aurora is very quiet village and we thought it would be a lovely place to overnight on our road trip in the Finger Lakes. We had visited Corning, Rochester, visiting museums, tasting wine along State Route 14, and were on our way to Ithaca. We wanted to enjoy the inn's lovely lake views and luxurious accommodations. We also considered the Aurora Inn but chose to stay in the EB Morgan because it was once a family home, with the scale and intimacy we wanted. It has onsite parking and a lovely circular driveway in front. Upon arrival, the innkeeper welcomed us to the library to register as guests. Arriving in the late afternoon, we quickly joined other guests enjoying complimentary wine and cheese. By contrast, the Aurora was always an inn, built for people shipping goods on the lake. Its entrance fronts the road and has a formal lobby with a reception desk and a white-linen restaurant onsite. The EB Morgan only offers coffee and muffins in the dining room downstairs in the morning, and guests have to walk 5 minutes to the Aurora if they prefer the complimentary full breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluenote18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island, New York (Buffalo area)
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed here one night on our way home from Maine. We thought we needed a treat. We had previously stayed at the Aurora Inn and were not sure what to expect. But this property is actually nicer than the Aurora Inn because of the setting. Our room was beautiful. The innkeeper was gregarious and welcoming. Sitting on the back porch watching the sun set over Cayuga Lake was a treat. And the included breakfast at the Aurora Inn was an additional bonus, also in their dining room that also overlooks the lake.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loranfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the E.B. Morgan house for my birthday, in November. The inn is set on a beautiful lake in upstate NY. We stayed in room # 7, which was towards the back of the house overlooking the lake, and featured a comfy king sized bed and a large walk in shower. The privacy that this room offered was great. We rarely saw another guest. The room was cleaned daily, and the care taker was very nice.
The grounds of the inn are also very beautiful. You can catch an amazing sunset from the back patio. But after then sun goes down, you have to make your way inside because the inn doesn't have any outdoor lighting at all. We found this to be disappointing as the weather was unseasonably warm while we were there, and we would have like to take advantage of the beautiful nights on the lake.
We originally found the E.B.Morgan house through a Groupon deal, and drove up from the city. We didn't do much research about the town of Aurora before going, and were quite surprised to find it so small. Surrounded by farmland there isn't much around for miles in any direction. The town has a small corner store, where you can get the essentials, and some baked goods. It has the Aurora Inn Restaurant, and then there is Fargo, the bar across the street. These are your primary (if not only) options for food while staying at the E.B. Morgan house, unless you want to drive to the next large town. Not really a problem, but it was limited. We also didn't find a gas station in the town. But if you're looking for a relaxing place to get away from everything, it's the place to go.
Another plus was that there were lots of wineries in the area. We didn't get a chance to visit them while we were there, but if we go back, we hope to.
Overall the E.B. Morgan House was great. If you go to the Aurora Inn for breakfast, make sure to try the french toast, it's amazing.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room on the lake. There isn't much to look at from the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuidditchQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

This was our third time staying at the inn. Dale couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating. The house is exquisite, beds and well designed bathrooms comfortable. The porch...well you have to spend time on it to truly understand how wonderful it is. Enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Aurora Inn a few minutes down the road. All in all, worth the splurge and will keep returning.

Room Tip: all the rooms are charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We chose to stay in the beautiful old mansion called the "E.B. Morgan House," which is part of Aurora Inn on the side of Cayuga Lake.  There are only seven rooms here with huge reception rooms, high ceilings, large bathrooms, fireplaces in all of the bedrooms and we had a four poster bed, from which one can see down over the lawn and out over the lake!  

Upon arrival we were offered a glass of wine - as one is each evening and then each morning after enjoying a wonderful pummeling in the high jet shower, you can just wander downstairs in your bath robe to get coffee and muffins (we'd been invited to, so rude not to somehow.)

This is one of the most comfortable and delightful non chain hotels I have ever stayed in and I would go back in a flash if we're ever in the area again.

Word to the wise however, don't let your wife go into the Mackenzie-Childs studio just on the outskirts of town unless you want to spend all of your holiday budget - amazing !!!

Room Tip: In you prefer a more private stay, choose to stay in the sister E.B. Morgan House just along the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drusilla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aurora
11.7 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
17.5 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aurora Inn
Aurora Inn
#1 of 5 in Aurora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
15.3 mi away
Geneva on the Lake
Geneva on the Lake
#7 of 11 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
19.1 mi away
Cayuga Lake Front Inn
Cayuga Lake Front Inn
#9 of 17 in Ithaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E.B. Morgan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E.B. Morgan House

Property: E.B. Morgan House
Address: 431 Main Street, Aurora, NY 13026
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Aurora
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aurora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1858, E.B. Morgan House offers seven large, sunny guestrooms, many with working fireplaces, an exceptional collection of modern art, and an innkeeper who sees to every need. Guests are invited to enjoy E.B. Morgan House as they would a private home with the comforts of its library, parlor, dining room, and generous porches overlooking the lake and rolling lawns. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
e.b. Morgan House Hotel Aurora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing