We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay at EB Morgan House”
Review of E.B. Morgan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aurora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
E.B. Morgan House
Ranked #2 of 5 Aurora B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The EB Morgan House is a step back in time, with old world charm and elegance. Dale, the Innkeeper, was very knowledgeable of local history of the inn itself and the town. His gracious demeanor only made the stay that much more enjoyable. The room and the Inn are impeccably decorated. Breakfast at the Aurora Inn was delicious and we were able to enjoy it on the outside deck, overlooking the lake. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattieNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

E B Morgan house was an Amazingly Fabulous wedding destination! Dale was a phenomenal innkeeper! He took us on a tour around the E B Morgan house giving us details of the history, owners, artwork and renovation of the house. The wedding party enjoyed a moonlit evening of enjoyable conversation and drinks on the veranda and on the terraced grass overlooking the shimmering Cayuga lake. If we were quiet, we could hear the waves lapping against the rocks on the shoreline.That night we retired about ten-thirty. As we unlocked room six with our key fob, we were welcomed by the sound of enchanting classical music on a Bose stereo. The bed had been prepared for the night. In the center of the bed was a silver platter with two chocolate truffles and a note. The sparkling clean bathroom was equipped with rosemary mint shampoo, conditioner and cream lotion. The glassed walk-in shower was water-spot free. (How do they do that??!) After a warm shower, we donned the clean white terry cloth robes and prepared our ensembles for the wedding day then we dropped the robes, climbed into bed and laid our weary heads for sleep. When we opened our eyes at eight in the morning, the sunlight flooded our room. Obviously we had a restful night! We got dressed and went downstairs for freshly brewed coffee (the best!) and muffins. (We missed the complimentary breakfast at Aurora Inns -seven to ten a.m.) We sat on the rotunda and discussed the wedding day plans. We decided to take a walk downtown. We walked past a white two story home with black shutters outlining the sides of the windows. On the door was a purple Hyacinth wreath. The walkway was lined with purple and white flowers, The yard was freshly manicured. The next house was a two story with burgundy colored shutters. On the burgundy painted door was a cream colored wisteria wreath. There were two more houses with freshly manicured lawns, On one porch, sat a young man, apparently enjoying the beautiful midday. We stopped at the bank about four doors down. It was made of gray stones (like Kansas limestone, only it was gray) A lady stopped on the bank path and asked if we had seen the two baby skunks amidst the flowering landscape.(No!,but we did see a baby chipmunk) We continued on, past the Aurora Inns (where we had missed our complimentary breakfast!) and stopped at "Bet the Farms." Out in the yard a couple of women were tending to the landscape with a homemade tool. They let us examine and try out the tool. (Hmmm, can we make that?). A cat was vying for our attention and one of the ladies asked if we wanted to adopt the cat. (Sorry, no thanks.) We conversed for a short while before entering the quaint winery. Inside, the owner was boxing wines to send to Napa California. (Are you kidding??!) He shared some of the history of his business and the owners and the transformations that had occurred within recent years. (Interesting!) He showed us a picture book of the before and after pictures of the downtown area. I purchased locally grown gifts that I could carry back to Kansas by plane. We made our way back to the E B Morgan house.
It was almost like a magical stay... The E B Morgan house was in pristine condition. The setting was perfect. The weather was perfect. Dale greeted us with a basket of refreshing bottled juice and water. He informed us that we could use our card to get a kayak or use the fitness gym. He offered to bring us sandwiches and snacks. We made our way to the terraced area. We connected up with members of the wedding party and just "hung out" until it was time to get dressed for the main event. It was a picture perfect wedding. The wedding party went to Aurora Inns for the reception. The food was exquisite! The service was great! Here's a funny part of the story.... The bride had forgotten her smart phone and sent her dad to retrieve it from the E B Morgan house. The dad had gotten a quarter of the way when he was met by Dale. Dale had in his hands, two bottles of champagne AND HER SMARTPHONE! We never saw him unless we were hungry, thirsty or in need of something! (Is he a mind reader??!)
After dinner we returned to the E B Morgan house to take more wedding pictures. Dale greeted us with fruit punch on ice. We partook of the delicious red velvet and chocolate 3 tiered wedding cake (made at a nearby bakery.) The setting sun across Cayuga lake made for a panoramic breathtaking view. What an amazingly fabulous wedding destination!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brenda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The word of the area is serendipitous! Truly, our stay at the Inn surpassed all expectations! The greeting from our Innkeeper, Lynda was warm, professional and she was a most gracious host.
The rooms are beautifully appointed and immaculate. The best thing is to just sit on the back porch of the Inn, overlooking Cayuga Lake, enjoying the solace of your soul! One of the finest places ever!

Room Tip: All beautiful! Choose the color that speaks to your heart ! Whether it is overlooking the lake or v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My husband surprised me with Dinner at the Aurora Inn and an overnight stay at the E. B. Morgan House for my birthday recently and it was the most wonderful experience! The inn is spectacular with top of line accomodations, beautiful decor and impeccable service. This was our second stay at the house and once again Dale was our inn-keeper. His warm, yet professional demeanor and attention to detail made our stay that much better. He is very knowledgable about the Inn and the area and made wonderful suggestions for our dinner. He also worite me a lovely birthday greeting that was waiting in our room after dinner. What a lovely gesture! I highly recommend a stay at the E. B. Morgan House (and dinner at the Aurora Inn)!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fabulous - a lake view would be an added bonus! Don't miss wine and cheese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This is the second time we stayed here. It's beautiful, clean and the service is terrific! Upstate NY is incredibly beautiful in the summer and fall. In my opinion it is more beautiful than the "wine country" north of San Francisco. This B&B is located right on a Norman Rockwell main street with a back yard that overlooks a major lake. Really beautiful! It has a huge porch that you can sit out on and enjoy the view. Breakfast is pretty basic with coffee and muffins. They offer wine at sunset.
Would come again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Our first time staying at E.B. Morgan House in the Finger Lakes region. We were completely impressed. Although it was still cool, we were warmed by the sun, sitting on the veranda at the back of the house with a gorgeous view of the lake. Our room was perfect - every detail was considered - and impeccably clean. Our host, Dale was friendly. He was there at the door as we first entered and thereafter, every time we came back to the inn. We told him that we would be back for a longer stay (only had one night this time) and that is certainly our intent. Once again we were guided by the reviews on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: We didn't see all the rooms but I believe that any of them would be suitable, based on what we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roamers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We went for a wine-pairing dinner at the Aurora Inn and stayed at the EB Morgan house, which was about a 1-2 minute walk away. Dale was the inn-keeper who ran the show. He was very friendly, gave us a full tour, was always around to answer questions, put out food and snacks, etc. We missed out on the wine and cheese appetizer hour since we were going to a wine dinner later, but you normally get a free glass of wine as well. The room was nice, and according to my wife, very nicely decorated. Dale had a catalog of where all the furniture came from, as apparently they have a decorator who furnished the entire place with fancy items. It was not a cheap stay, but was very nice and relaxing. Breakfast in the morning can either be muffins at the EB House, or full breakfast at the Aurora Inn (or both), and both were very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshuaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aurora
17.5 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
733 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
367 reviews
15.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Aurora Inn
The Aurora Inn
#1 of 5 in Aurora
301 reviews
15.7 mi away
Inn at Taughannock
Inn at Taughannock
#5 of 9 in Trumansburg
122 reviews
15.2 mi away
Cayuga Lake Front Inn
Cayuga Lake Front Inn
#6 of 18 in Ithaca
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E.B. Morgan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E.B. Morgan House

Address: 431 Main Street, Aurora, NY 13026
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Aurora
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aurora
Price Range: £121 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1858, E.B. Morgan House offers seven large, sunny guestrooms, many with working fireplaces, an exceptional collection of modern art, and an innkeeper who sees to every need. Guests are invited to enjoy E.B. Morgan House as they would a private home with the comforts of its library, parlor, dining room, and generous porches overlooking the lake and rolling lawns. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
e.b. Morgan House Hotel Aurora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing