We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“three day family gathering”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aurora Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aurora Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Aurora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“three day family gathering”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

This Inn is great and we had a nice family get together for a few days. The rooms are well appointed and spacious. But....poor air conditioning- the days we were there hot and the AC could not keep our room remotely cool. It is an old Inn, but we've stayed in equally old properties before without this being an issue. We were in room 7, which is beautiful, but on the top floor, which added to the heat. Other family members were in other rooms with temperature issues as well.
All that being said, the Inn staff went above and beyond to make things better. They gave us fans and by the last night installed an extra cooling system. So, big kudos to them.
The food is very good, but service was pretty slow. The bakery down the street is a good option for breakfast if a leisurely large breakfast is not your thing. The pub across the street offers good sandwiches and salads as an option to the dining room. All are owned by the Inn and equally good food.
Our bathroom was large with a very nice looking tile shower, but was awkward to test the water temp etc without getting water all over the floor. The door didn't open well over the bathmat towel.
Although, the Inn is a great property with beautiful grounds, there isn't much to do outside of the
Inn. If you are there for a very quiet time, this is perfect. But, three days was a little long for us in this very small village. We would return to this property as it is well run and beautifully restored, but would stay for a shorter visit.
The front desk staff is friendly and goes above and beyond to assist their guests. It is worth a visit!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsiehlmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    39
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
33
183
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Island, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a fantastic view of Lake Cayuga from our room which had a fireplace and luxurious bed. The furnishings are impeccable and our Innkeeper host was fantastic.Our meal at the Inn was excellent with a great selection of local wines--their are numerous local wineries to visit.
MacKenzie Childs is just down the road and our visit there was the highlight of this trip for me.
Can't wait to go back and stay at the new Rowland House.

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandyB117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have been to the Aurora Inn many times but decided to try the new Rowland House sister of the other two properties. It is absolutely beautiful. The decorating is perfect with Pleasant Rowland's own art collection throughout this home. It sits directly on Cayuga Lake. We had a beautiful room with a view of the lake. Everything here is top of the line. The manager Dale is very friendly and always going the extra step to make sure your stay is wonderful. He is a great asset to this place. We love coming to Aurora because it is so peaceful. We have had dinner in the Aurora Inn dining room before but tried the Fargo Bar & Grill across the street (owned by Inn). We both had sandwiches and they were very good. Breakfast the next day which is included was excellent. All meals are served at the Aurora Inn. This was our once a year trip. We look forward to next year!

Room Tip: Rowland House #5
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We just finished hosting a wedding at the lovely Inns at Aurora. Overall, it is a beautiful venue with great food options and a spectacular view. Our weather was perfect, too. This is a lovely renovated lakeside in with two restored historic homes also available for B&B. There are few issues with this site and it is well worth the price. In general the staff is very professional in terms of hosting the event and provide good service. They are extremely efficient. Book this place a year in advance. The only down sides for us were that we did have to hire a bus to shuttle folks from other locations (room blocks) to the Inn. The rooms themselves are expensive for the area, so most of our 110 guests stayed other places, in Auburn, a half hour drive from Aurora. That is not the Inns' problem certainly :>) Also, there were some minor lapses in communication, in terms of rooms blocked for the wedding. But basically, it was a very classy and well run location for a lovely early summer wedding.

Room Tip: get a room at EB Morgan house with a lake view. Enjoy the porches and the fire pits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenbeesneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waybe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Second time of many more. Love it. Area is gorgeous. Staff are absolutely friendly and the view reeeeeeelaxin.

Over 150 wineries to chose from. Oodles of lakes to see.

The rooms in Inn are comfortable. Food is good. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brtcom007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olcott
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Aurora Inn is a beautiful place to visit year round. The rooms are very charming and the dining is terrific. There are a couple neat shops in the village and Mackenzie Childs is just outside of town. The Fargo across the street is a neat pub also owned by the Inn folks as are a couple other Inns in the Village.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hartford, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I actually stayed in the E.B. Morgan House. Amazing attention to detail. We ate at Aurora Inn and they could not have made our experience better! Amenities, location, staff, value. I highly recommend these locations.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanButl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aurora
11.8 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
17.6 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
16.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Vineyard Inn & Suites
15.5 mi away
Geneva on the Lake
Geneva on the Lake
#7 of 11 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cayuga Morning Star Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Inn

Property: Aurora Inn
Address: 391 Main St, Aurora, NY 13026-9608
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Aurora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aurora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aurora Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the shores of Cayuga Lake amidst a tiny, heritage village in the heart of the Finger Lakes, the Aurora Inn and its lakeside dining room has a pedigree dating back to 1833. The original country inn has been impeccably restored to appeal to today's most discerning guests. The Aurora Inn has all the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with services and amenities that only a luxury hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Aurora Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Aurora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing