We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly beautiful Inn in the Finger Lakes!”
Review of Rowland House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aurora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rowland House
Ranked #3 of 5 Aurora B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Rowland House (newest house of the Inns of Aurora) was absolutely amazing in every way.Every inch is decorated beautifully with careful attention to every detail. Outdoor porches and dock are every bit as beautiful as the inside. Dale our innkeeper was extremely friendly and professional, and gave just the right amount of attention to our needs. Whether it was the wine and cheese in the evening, the music playing outside, or the morning coffee and muffins, he was attentive and thorough. We would come back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We loved room 6! Lake view is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Redkidrising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

My husband & I stayed at The Rowland House which is part of the Aurora Inn. It is absolutely amazing with breath-taking views. This is a great place for a romantic getaway. The staff here are all very friendly and the service is amazing.

The only cons are since being right on the lake there are fruit flys & nats flying all around and some can get into your room. I kept off on me at all times to prevent from getting bitten. Also, the temp of the house on the second & third floors are warmer than on the first floors. We could not get it cool enough in our room on 2nd floor.

We booked the wine tour package and had a blast visting all the wineries. It wasn't explained that you are just paying for the driver (which is a must) and then need to pay extra for the tasting fees). Since this was our first wine tour, a better explanation is with fees is needed. Ask for Ron for your driver, he will give you a great tour and go above & beyond! An excellent Breakfast is included every day at your choice of two different locations. We would def recommend this place and will def come back. This place gave us the relaxation we needed.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank mpierry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was a magnificent property just completely refurbished and re-opened in May 2014, this property is a lake front property over looking Cayuga lake. It is a bed & breakfast with 10 rooms , sitting room,s parlor, dinning room, wrap around porch and much more. The Innkeeper Brian is a great attentive and helpful person and the décor is beautiful with well appointed rooms and bathrooms. Meals are severed up the block in the Aurora Inn but this is coffee and muffins in the morning on site and wine and cheese in the evening. It is a bit pricey but a great experience.

Room Tip: room # 4 full lake view king bed in a large room and large bathroom and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed in room 10, which features hand-painted polka dots. Though the room bordered on being a bit overly country with roosters and plaid, the hotel itself is a piece of art. Every room and common area is beautiful as is the waterfront. Check-in was smooth, though we sadly arrived much later than planned due to traffic at the border. Despite this, we were given a full tour of the property. Beds were very comfortable and the bathroom even had a heated floor. The hotel was very quite and it was nice having a child-free space. It was also nice having all of the doors mag-locked with a key fob instead of having the standard card system. We had previously stayed at the Aurora Inn in the main building and enjoyed this just as much. I did enjoy the quiet of this building though in comparison. The main inn sees a bit more traffic as it also has the restaurant. That being said, you will need to leave the building and go down the road to the main inn or bakery to eat which may be inconvenient in winter.
On that note, breakfast options included the main inn or Dories bakery, which seems to be affiliated with the Inns. We opted for the bakery and it was AMAZING. Id highly recommend this option over the standard breakfast fare! The bakery breakfast included a slice of quiche or breakfast sandwich, a pastry, and a coffee/juice. My husband had the quiche while I had the sandwich (egg and cheese on a fresh croissant). We both ordered a parfait (and took it to go as it was too rich for the morning) that we enjoyed later in the day. It was the best breakfast of our whole trip!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I just stayed two nights for a business management meeting held at this gorgeous property. Brian's service was wonderful, the rooms unbelievably beautiful and the location amazing. Who would think having a small management planning meeting could be so lovely!! Brian, your service was over the top. A must stay for anyone wanting to get away to a peaceful, tranquil spot with 5 Star quality and service. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

What a wonderful get away ! This 10 room property opened May 1, 2014 and is now our favorite property of the Aurora Inn family. Decorated to perfection ! Sitting out on top of the boathouse in Adirondack chairs watching the sun set over the lake is a treat. Breakfast at the Aurora Inn (easy walking distance) is always a pleasure and dinner at the Inn is special.
This has really become a destination worth visiting.
Brian the Innkeeper is very friendly and is excellent with names. He serves wine and cheese/crackers at 5:00 PM and a guest has the opportunity to chat with the other guests.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Birdhouse Suite" Room 309 which is a smaller room, but the only room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The recently renovated Rowland House is just beautiful. Meticulously maintained inside and outside. The wrap around porch overlooking the lake is so peaceful. Brien was on duty while we were there and he was very accomodating and helpful. He gave us a complete tour of the House and updated us on the history. We enjoyed appetizers and wine on the porch every day and met some lovely people while we were there. I wouild highly recommend this beautiful spot and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MASintich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aurora
11.6 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
362 reviews
17.5 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
729 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
14.2 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
0.2 mi away
The Aurora Inn
The Aurora Inn
#1 of 5 in Aurora
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowland House

Address: 453 Main Street, Aurora, NY 13026
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Aurora
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aurora
Price Range: £113 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1902 on the shore of Cayuga Lake and extensively renovated in 2014, Rowland House features restored fireplaces, original paneling, and other period architectural details. Guests are invited to enjoy ten guest rooms, each sumptuously appointed with private marble baths, original modern art, flat screen televisions, wireless internet, and luxurious linens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing