We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly resort best on reunion great location on beach”
Review of LUX* Saint Gilles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LUX* Saint Gilles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

reunion is a great Island to explore from vulcano to beach And lux is a great place to relax very friendly staff great rooms with ocean view make sure to rent a car And explore. lovely golf course with great views in Proximity. Also Try good restaurants in neighborhood

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review.
We are pleased to see we have been able to meet your expectations and next time we will do our most to be above your expectations.
Looking forward to welcome you back in a close future.
Best Regards,
Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 2,754 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

Lovely hotel in Reunion, we stayed for 3 days as part of our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. Loved the restaurant on the beach, and they put on a special romantic meal with fantastic food. Service was excellent and the Front Desk went out of their way to help when disaster struck and the helicopter company that was meant to be the highlight of our stay cancelled overnight. With just a few hours until we left they helped book us on to a trip with another company (tip: use Corail helicopters, they were great) and saved the day. The trip was superb, from shoreline up volcanoes and through amazing valleys and waterfalls, well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to write this review.
I am pleased to read that we have been able to save your honeymoon highlight.
At LUX* Ile de la Réunion we are delighted to help guests to celebrate life and love of course.
Looking forward to welcome you back maybe for your first anniversary.
Best Regards,
Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

A hotel in an attractive setting with good snorkeling on the adjacent beach. The food is excellent and the facilities being most attractive. The variety of bread at breakfast was incredible. Sharing with the sparrows and cats was a pleasure for us, but perhaps this isn't for everyone.

I was unfortunate enough to have arrived two days after an operation which put me at a disadvantage in not being able to access the superior room booked - this was their decision. So far no refund for having a standard room. To shower I had to step into a tall full sized bath as no separate shower. Not easy after an operation. The room fridge didn't work (replaced at once) nor did one of the table lamps (also replaced).

The bed dipped into the middle; OK for honeymooners, but a bit too intimate for 70+ year olds.

The management keep themselves remote - at least it seemed from the English speaking guests.

Their is a small shopping centre about 300 metres away where local produce can be purchased.

As in Mauritius there is no dairy industry so all milk is either reconstituted or UHT.

Most of the staff are friendly and courteous although not all speak English. Some knowledge of French is useful. On our visit the Jewel in the Crown was Benjamin the head Concierge.

Room Tip: Try the bed to see if it supports two comfortably, check the bathroom to see if the facilities can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morton J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for the time taken to share your LUX* Ile de la Réunion experience on TRIPADVISOR.
I would like also to present you sincere apologies as it seems we haven't been able to meet totaly your expectations.
I feel very sorry about the operation you had before you stayed with us. We have been informed about it only when you arrived. I hope you will agree that a room on the first floor was not really convenient for you. Your Travel Agent already contact us and I am pleased to tell you we are actually trying to find the best solution to change the picture you have of our hotel.
A special thank for your words about Benjamin.
Dear Sir, once again please accept our sincere apologies for the different inconveniences you met during your stay.
I hope we will have the occasion to welcome you again in the future.
Best Regards,
Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Chef de Réception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed in june 2013 as part of our honeymoon package. Friom trhe second we arrived until the second we left, everything was absolutely perfect and totally met our raised expectations. You feel totally at home and relaxed thanks to the attentive but not intrusive staff. Everything that was included in our half board package was explained in deep so we never felt awkward in any of the restaurants or facilities and anyone not happy with the choice on offer is being picky!! The staff always seemed to be doing something and were all very professional and genuinely nice and friendly and not at all pushy on optional extras etc. Yes they offer you the chance for extra activities and drinks etc but only once, and they are after all running a business and is their job. The buffet had an excellent choice at both breakfast and dinner. Anyone that can serve me hot chicken curry at 6 am gets my eternal thanks. The other on site restaurants were of exceptionnal quality and style.Everything was sparkly clean throughout. You feel safe and secure within the hotel grounds with gated security etc. Our room was excellent, clean, well stocked with gadgets and plenty big enough. Brilliant power shower and the best courtesy shower gel etc that i've ever had in a hotel. The beach is a real beach where you can swim safely and the pool area is very pretty and becoming to that " picture postcard " dream. The immediate locality is very safe and clean, there is a supermarket within walking distance to stock up on munchies, suntan cream and bottled water if you want to save a bit of money. An easy drive from the airport and then a good base point for investigating the island. The photos don't do this hotel justice , it is better in real life. You gets what you pays for and i would recommend this hotel to anyone, we also stayed at the palm hotel spa which was also exceptional but the Lux is definitely the better choice for a more relaxed and friendly experience and better choice as part of a " package " Our wedding went perfectly and thanks to the LUX our honeymoon started better than we could ever have imagined, thankyou Mr and Mrs Stubley

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to share on TRIPADVISOR your experience of LUX* Ile de la Réunion.
We are very pleased to see how you enjoyed your stay, it has been a real pleasure to welcome you.
We are always delighted to help our guest to celebrate love & we feel really privileged to welcome honeymooners.
We hope now to have the luck to welcome you back in a close future, maybe to celebrate your first anniversary.
Best Regards,
Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stay in family for 2 weeks, great atmosphere, food is very good, fantastic home made ice cream and cocktails are just amazing... Big swimming pool where you can swim if you wish, beach and lagoon for the sea water fan... ! Bravo and will be back again
Don't miss the concierge services and helicopter tours...

Room Tip: ask for suite 176 - great room nice fittings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdgardGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to share on TRIPADVISOR your experience at LUX* Ile de la Réunion.
We are delighted to see that we have been able to meet your expectations.
I am 100% agree with you, the helicopter tour is just amazing, a kind of MUST DO here.
Looking forward to welcome you back in a close future.
Best Regards,
Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed here for here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon in April. The room was adequate but we never did manage to find the light switch to the balcony and we found a cockroach in our room every day! Some of the staff in the hotel were rather curt and didn't always seems happy to help. In order to make the most of our time on the island we went early to breakfast every day, although there was a large choice, there were very few staff around and on a couple of days no one came to ask if we wanted tea or coffee so we left without. The food and drink at the bar/restaurants and buffet are very expensive and we therefore ate out in local restaurants. However, the honeymoon meal that was arranged for us at the Beach restaurant was fantastic and very romantic. We were lucky to have eaten there as we were not told that we needed to book the meal 24 hours in advance and also found out that the restaurant is closed some nights of the week, that only left us one night when we could eat. The beach next to the hotel was excellent and the beach house had plenty of equipment which you could borrow. We really enjoyed snorkelling and loved coming back in the evening and going for a swim in the sea. Although we had a great holiday, this hotel was not particularly memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to write this review.
We feel sorry as it seems that we haven't be able to meet totaly your expectations.
We aim for quality & guest's satisfaction that is why your feedback is really important for us.
We shared it with the management in order to increase the quality of our service.
In case you plan to come back to Reunion Island in a close future, please do not hesitate to contact me, I will be delighted to help you to organise your stay and I will make sure that you will have a memorable stay.
Best Regards,
Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Pleasant hotel. Comfortable room, all necessary amenities were there.
The intern who welcomed us was a bit uninformed and thus did not provide us with all the details we needed...the reception staff took care of that afterward. Half-board does not include drinks like bottled water.
Alexandra at the concierge desk was very helpful on activities.
Excellent buffets, better than the restaurants! Nice access to the beach, snorkeling equipment available.
I would go back to this hotel.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank SquidJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to share with TRIPADVISOR's users your experience of LUX* Ile de la Réunion.
We are delighted to see that we have been able to meet your expectations.
We hope to have the luck to welcome you back in a close future with your family for a memorable stay.
Best Regards,
Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Recif
Hotel Le Recif
#2 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
1,442 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Boucan Canot
Hotel Boucan Canot
#4 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
453 reviews
4 mi away
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa
#8 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel
3.4 mi away
Residence l'Archipel
Residence l'Archipel
#6 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
283 reviews
5.2 mi away
Iloha Seaview Hotel
Iloha Seaview Hotel
#2 of 3 in Saint-Leu
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Saint Gilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Saint Gilles

Address: 28 Rue du Lagon | L'Ermitage, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434, Reunion Island (Formerly LUX Ile de La Reunion)
Region: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Price Range: £131 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Saint Gilles 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the western coast of this lush volcanic island, LUX* Saint Gilles (formerly LUX* Ile de La Reunion) faces a shimmering expanse of aqua-blue waters, fringed by a stretch of immaculate sands. Tucked away in acres of beautiful tropical gardens, Creole villas sit in the shade of coconut palms and filao trees, just steps from the coral-sheltered lagoon at L'Hermitage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your LUX* Saint Gilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Ile De La Reunion Hotel Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
LUX* Saint Gilles Reunion Island/Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing