We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE LOVED IT! - FANTASTIC STAFF!”
Review of LUX* Saint Gilles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LUX* Saint Gilles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is the most wonderful hotel and truly exceeded all our expectations.
This was in part due to the excellent service by the dedicated staff; foremost amongst the staff is Arthur, who is the most charming, gracious host at the Orangine Restaurant, where we had a superb and memorable dinner. We owe him special thanks.
By chance we met Arthur again a few weeks later in South Africa whilst holidaying there, an incredible coincidence.
We have promised ourselves a return visit to the Lux Hotel some time soon, and have no hesitation recommending to the most discerning of guests.
Sincere thanks to all from Jacquie & Malcolm Knight.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank TripTipsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear Jacquie & Malcolm,
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding our hotel and especially our team at L’Orangine.
It was a real pleasure to meet you & we look forward to welcoming you again in our premises.
I’ll always remember this unexpected meeting in South Africa. As you can imagine we had a wonderful time there!
I wish you a wonderful Christmas & a happy new year,
Kindest regards, Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 2,757 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Lux is apparently the only 5 star hotel in Reunion, but is it really a 5 star hotel? I'm not so sure!

We decided to splurge a little to celebrate my birthday in Reunion and stay at a 5 star hotel.
When we arrived, the staff immediately knew who we were and just asked us to fill in a few forms. One of the staff then directed us to our room but unfortunately that's all she did. She did not tell us about the facilities at the hotel, and instead we had to ask about breakfast and dinner times, the locations of the restaurants, and whether bottled water was free - which it is.

We found out that breakfast starts at 06:00 and ends at 10:00, but the egg station only operates from around 7:00. Dinner is from 19:00 till 21:30. The food itself was mostly good, stay away from the pizza though. They prided themselves on making really good pizza, but we were disappointed, the base was hard and there was not much flavour. We did however, especially enjoy the dinner at Le Oringine (one of 3 restaurants at the hotel). The drinks were a bit pricey but 5 star hotels usually are. We also booked dinner at La Plage, but when we go there we were told that the restaurant was closed for a function... not very pleasant, especially as we had booked the week before and no apology from the staff.

Our room was a bit disappointing. Having stayed at 4 and 5 star hotels previously, we expected the same, if not better. The room was small (we had a supreme, which I think was the largest), with a really small bathroom. Otherwise the usual, minibar, coffee, air conditioner were accounted for. We did have some laughs over the creamer though. I take coffee with creamer, and after finishing the first sachet we were unable to get anyone to refill it. Two of the staff didn't understand what we said, the other said it was the responsibility of the morning cleaning staff.

Reunion in general is not very English friendly. Only a few folk speak English. The hotel take pride in the fact that they have English staff who wear a badge so you can recognize them, unfortunately for us we found that these staff also struggled to communicate (try asking for decaf coffee!).

The staff on the whole were friendly and tried to assist wherever possible, but sometimes making promises they couldn't keep. For example we were told that we should have wifi in all rooms, and when we mentioned that we didn't have access except in the lobby, the receptionist said it was a technical fault and they would fix it as soon as possible. Needless to say we never did get wifi in our room. It almost seemed that the ground staff were unaware of what actually was happening in the hotel.

The hotel has a gym, a business lounge (2 or 3 computers, and wifi access), massage facilities, tennis, outdoor table tennis, volleyball and various sea and pool activities. They advertised for outdoor movies at 21:00 and we sat on the outside chairs laid out for the movie, but the movie never played! The staff could not give us a reason. This was the same on the 3 nights the movies were scheduled for.

Overall, a mediocre experience, disappointing actually since we had high hopes for this "5 star" hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahendren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to share with us your feedback following your stay in our property.
Please accept our sincere apoligies as it seems we haven't be able to meet your expectations.
Your review is really important for us that is why we shared it with the management in order to improve our service quality.
Dear Guest, I can understand a simple answer on this website won't change the picture of the hotel you have now but in case you plan to come back in Reunion Island please do not hesitate to contact me.
I will be delighted to organise your stay & to propose you the service you deserve.
Looking forward to welcome you back in a close future,
I remain at your service.
Best Regards,
Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was the second LUX hotel we stayed in as part of our holiday, and we expected the same if not higher standard as this was billed as the only 5 star hotel in Reunion. We were sadly disappointed.

Check in was strange, our bags were left at the drop off point and we were advised to walk down the short path to reception, where we stood around until a member of staff appeared, who asked if we had booked a room! It was tempting to say no!

We then sat and waited some time before a different member of staff asked if we would like a drink. After waiting again, we were advised our room was ready, we asked about booking the restaurants for dinner because we knew they had limited space, and were told that everything woudl be explained - but it wasn't. we were then taken straight to our room with no explanation of the facilties, layout or availabitiy. We asked again about the restuarants and we were told they would find out - which they did, although what we were told was incorrect as the Orangine was closed for the film festival.

Our deluxe room was what I'd call a standard. No bath robes, limited toiletries, broken bed side lamp, art work missing (lights where they should be but no pictures) and safe locked 'open'. We asked and did get bath robes, although no extra toiletires (moisturiser) the light was fixed and the safe reset. However, this is supposed to be 5 star hotel and you would like to think these things would have been checked before any guest arrived.

Location was on the beach front although the clubhouse (which we eventually found), for water sport equipment and beach towels was behind the bar, some way from the beach.

Food - as previous reviews have said was ok but nothing special.

Evening entertainment, although advertised was limited to two guys playing guitars during one of the evening meals. The bar, which was apparently the hub of the entertainement (hotel description) was usually empty with no entertainment.

Staff - this depended on who you got. They ranged from either being very friendly to totally ignoring you. One night we must have had the 'naughty table' as we were to one side, away from the other guests and had to wave (politely)to get service.

Check out was a vast improvement, we were given a shower room. But when we were picked up the only person to say 'au revoir' was the security guard.

If we visited Reunion again this woudln't be our first choice of hotel, which is a shame as our previous experience of the LUX brand (4 star) had been exceptional.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bean10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to post this review on TRIPADVISOR.
It seems we haven't be able to meet your expectations, please accept our sinceres apologies for the different inconveniences.
We aim for quality & guest satisfaction that is why I shared your review with my colleagues in order to improve our service.
If you are ready to give us a second chance, please do not hesitate to contact me, we will do our best to change the picture of the hotel you have.
I really hope we will have the luck to welcome you back in a close future.
Best Regards,
Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Very expensive for what it is. Beach location, but the beach is just unpleasant. Personal is usually very helpful and nice, some are just useless and not professional. Euro 15.- for a glas of prosecco .... Well well well. Room is ok, but not much more. Food can be ok to very poor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itzibitzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for your review.
It seems we haven't be able to meet your expectations, please accept our apologies.
We aim for quality & guest satisfaction that is why your feedback is very important for us.
It will help us a lot in order to improve our service quality.
Please accept once again our sincere apologies.
We all look forward to welcome you back in a close future.
Best Regards,
Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I really liked the location, the atmosphere and the service. I have stayed here twice now and certainly would recommend a long weekend here, if you are livining in Reunion or Mauritius. The rooms are modern and clean and some have larger bathrooms, which are great. The food was good at both the buffet in the evening and the a la carte restaurant. Breakfast also provides great food. Did not use the gym but it looks well equipped.

Room Tip: Select one of the rooms on the upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TutinsPony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to write your review after your stay at the Hotel LUX* Ile de la Réunion.
We all look forward to welcome you back in a close future.
Best Regards,
Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent a weekend at the Lux for my older brothers wedding. Firstly the room that I shared with my mother and other brother was clean with a nice view and had quick access to the enormous and magnificent pool. The service during the wedding was perfect with smily and approachable staff. The Lux made my brothers wedding an unforgettable experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trystano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for your kind review following your stay at LUX* Ile de la Réunion.
We aim for life celebration so we're really proud to read your brother's wedding was great.
We all look forward to welcome you back in a close future.
Best Regards,
Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Spent a week at the LUX Réunion. I was new to the island and not a French speaker, but the hotel staff were great assisting me with anything I needed. The hotel sits on a very nice coral beach with a lagoon, and has a huge, very clear and clean pool. Nice room. I appreciated the quiet and effective air conditioner as it got a little warm outside in the middle of the day. The food was exceptional, especially breakfast with crepes made to order. Overall, a really great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skytube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to share your experience of LUX* Ile de la Réunion.
We are all looking forward to welcome you back in a close future.
Best Regards,
Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Recif
Hotel Le Recif
#2 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
1,443 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Boucan Canot
Hotel Boucan Canot
#4 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
457 reviews
4 mi away
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa
#7 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel
5.2 mi away
Iloha Seaview Hotel
Iloha Seaview Hotel
#2 of 3 in Saint-Leu
800 reviews
3.4 mi away
Residence l'Archipel
Residence l'Archipel
#6 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Saint Gilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Saint Gilles

Address: 28 Rue du Lagon | L'Ermitage, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434, Reunion Island (Formerly LUX Ile de La Reunion)
Region: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Price Range: £133 - £385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Saint Gilles 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the western coast of this lush volcanic island, LUX* Saint Gilles (formerly LUX* Ile de La Reunion) faces a shimmering expanse of aqua-blue waters, fringed by a stretch of immaculate sands. Tucked away in acres of beautiful tropical gardens, Creole villas sit in the shade of coconut palms and filao trees, just steps from the coral-sheltered lagoon at L'Hermitage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your LUX* Saint Gilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Ile De La Reunion Hotel Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
LUX* Saint Gilles Reunion Island/Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing