We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Young couple”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of LUX* Saint Gilles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LUX* Saint Gilles
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Young couple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

great location (close to many various hikes and sightseeing), very nice people in staff, very nice food, nice lagune with possibility of swimming and nice snorkeling, huge swimming pool, nice beach (maybe not too flat).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Branislav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taking to share your review following your stay at LUX* Ile de la Réunion.
We are delighted & proud to see you had enjoy your stay with us.
We all look forward to welcome you back in a close future, in order once again to help you to celebrate life.
Warm Regards,
Stephane Baras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,384
    644
    252
    90
    30
See reviews for
576
1,256
64
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This has been our 5th trip to the hotel, and what a difference a few years make! The management seem to have become complacent, and are trading on their past reputation. Nothing is quite right anymore. The service is slow. We had to call 3 times to get our TV fixed. They did not accommodate our request of ground floor adjacent rooms despite us having book over 6 months ahead of our trip. The hotel looks shabby. The paintwork on the outdoor banister leaves a lot to be desired for and in fact the wood is so rough that I got a splinter in my finger. some of the alleys have got missing slabs. Attention to details is definitely not that of a 5 star hotel. Despite having booked a room for 3 we only got towels for 1, and blankets for just one of the beds. The cupboard doors don't run very smoothly and look old and tired. Whilst most of the staff and especially the cleaning staff are nice and polite, quite a few of them are a bit too smug and condescending. Finally for today, the food!! Tonight we went to the fish buffet at 45 euros a head you would expect something half decent, well there again you would be disappointed. Although there was lots of choice, the quality of the products was not worthy of the price we paid. It was clear that these fish had spent more time in a freezer than in the sea in the days preceding the buffet. As for the deserts they were nothing to write home about except perhaps for the creme brulee. The rest felt just like these little mignardises that you can get from Picard in France and defrost just a few hours before your guest arrive. It was definitely not home cooking, but processed food. Very disappointing for a so called 5 star hotel. I think the name of the hotel is not reflected in the quality of the offerings. This is definitely not "Luxe"! the management should be careful not to rest on their pas laurels as it won't take long before people realise that this hotel does not deliver what it sets out to do. Although the hotel is currently fully booked I anticipate that this will change very soon. Customers who pay that kind of money will expect the best and only the best. The management should be prepared to invest more in the regular maintenance of the hotel and training of its staff to ensure that the hotel returns to its former glory when it was truly a real pleasure and unique experience to stay here. As it stands it runs the risk of loosing its clientelle and of becoming just any other hotel. I don't think we will be coming back unless we hear of significant changes. What a shame as we have such good memories based here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to present you sincere apologies.
It seems we haven't be able to meet your expectations for this 5th stay in our property, we feel very sorry for this.
We aim for quality & guest satisfaction that is why we share your review with the management in order to improve the quality of our services.
We took also the initiative to send you a "private" message in order to get more specific informations. We do need your help in order to find the right solution.
I know & I can understand that a simple mail, perhaps, won't change the picture you have of the hotel now but I promise you we all look forward to welcome you back in a close future in order to propose you the kind of stay you deserve & you can expect when you stay in our hotel.
Once again, please accept our sincere apologies.
We all remain at your disposal.
Best Regards,
Stéphane Baras,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed in LUX hotel for 7 nights and was one of the best holidays we had. The room was nice, the staff friendly and helpful. There are few restaurants inside the hotel with good quality and variety of food but some require reservation (one dish is approx.25 euro). I recommend the rum cocktails from the bar next to the swimming pool (ask for Johnatan he's the best !).
Also, you can play tennis, watch a French movie under the sky or search for the secret bar :)
The island is perfect: a beautiful beach just next to the hotel with corals and fish (snorkelling is the main attraction and equipment is provided by the hotel for free). You can rent a car from reception area (approx. 50 euro) and visit the volcano and the mountains (you need to make a booking a day before).
Taxi to/from airport is 80 euro !
This is not a cheap place to visit but worth the money spent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiberica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to share your experience following your stay in our property.
Our hotel is shinning because of our guests, you are our gems.
We aim for quality & guest satisfaction so you cannot imagine how your feedback is important for us, it will give us the opportunity to improve our services.
Dear Guest, I would like once again to thank you very much.
We all look forward to welcome you back in a close future.
Warm Regards,
Stephane Baras,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

- Large, clean and comfortable room
- Direct access to the beach with free beach equipment (chairs, umbrellas and snorkeling kit) and bar service
- Friendly and helpful staff
- The best food we've had in our entire stay in Reunion

We had only book bed-and-breakfast, but if we were to go again, we would not hesitate to book the half-pension and enjoy the hotels' fantastic restaurants every night!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MissVMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to share on tripadvisor.com your review following your stay at LUX* Ile de la Réunion, you cannot imagine how your feedback is important for us.
Your remark about the half-board is really kind, I am of course agree with you as half-board give the possibility to enjoy every restaurants in the hotel without any additional cost.
Restaurant La Cuisine with a wonderful buffet each night, Restaurant La Plage with our tasty Island Kitchen and L’Orangine, our amazing Gourmet Restaurant, will be pleased to welcome you during your next stay.
We all look forward to welcome you back in a close future.
Best Regards,
Stephane Baras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We spent a week at the LUX Ile de La Reunion and everything went as expected for a 5-starred property. Location is great as you are within walking distance from nice restaurants right on the beach, also you're only a short drive away from St-Gilles where you find nice restaurants and shops,etc.

The island itself Is a jewel and since it is part of France, you shouldn't be disappointed with the food at any time.

Room Tip: Some interesting restaurants nearby include La bobine, Le Manta, and Chez nous (in St-Gilles)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dex888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUXReunion, Directeur général at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to share your review after your stay at LUX* Ile de la Réunion.
We aim for guest's satisfaction & quality so your comments are really important for us.
We all look forward to welcome you back in your paradise a close future.
Best Regards.
Stéphane Baras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reunion
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

have stayed at and visited the Lux a few times over the years. The hotel has always been OK but the setvice was never 5 star. Thankfully, this has really changed. The new female manager is very welsoming, everyone from the funny guy who picks up your cases to the people in the bar are very polite and helpful.

Two specific staff really made our stay. One is the really nice young man at the juice bar from Mauritius I think and Floryan at the cafe. These guys spoke to us every day, asked how we were and gave great service. Both deserve a promotion.

On one night rge beach was closed due to pollution. Within 30 minutes the guys at the juice bar had laid out free cakes for all the kids. That is 5 star service.

I also have to praisr the nice girl in the PLAY centre. During every othet stay there was.never anyone there but the new girl organised loads of stuff for kids.

Great stay

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reunionvisiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrild572, Responsable réception at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to share you great review following your stay at the Hotel LUX* Ile de la Réunion.
I have been delighted to read it but you cannont imagine how I have been happy to share it with my colleagues.
I would like also to thank you very much for your special comments about Floryan and the "nice young man".
We all look forward to welcome you back in a close future.
Warm Regards,
Cyril de Loze de Plaisance
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed at Lux for three nights. Great property fronting the beach with movies on the beach, a ice cream stand and various add ons. Friendly staff and large rooms. Loved the buffet dinners with Creole specialities like Flambed bananas. Stephanie and her team are just great! Kudos. The island itself has lots to offer including a volcano trek! Only thing found the wifi very slow..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyrild572, Resident Manager at LUX* Saint Gilles, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you very much for the time taken to share on TRIPADVISOR your feedback following your stay at LUX* Ile de la Réunion.
Stéphanie and the whole team is glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding your comment about the WIFI, I would like to inform you that we are working on an efficient and sustainable solution.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at LUX* Ile de la Réunion.
Best Regards,
Marie-Lucie Ajax
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Recif
Hotel Le Recif
#3 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
4.0 mi away
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa
#7 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Les Creoles
Hotel Les Creoles
#2 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Boucan Canot
Hotel Boucan Canot
#4 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akoya Hotel & Spa
Akoya Hotel & Spa
#4 of 5 in La Saline les Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
7.7 mi away
Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Saint Gilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Saint Gilles

Property: LUX* Saint Gilles
Address: 28 Rue du Lagon | L'Ermitage (après le Leader Price), Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434, Reunion Island (Formerly LUX Ile de La Reunion)
Region: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#1 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Saint Gilles 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the western coast of this lush volcanic island, LUX* Saint Gilles (formerly LUX* Ile de La Reunion) faces a shimmering expanse of aqua-blue waters, fringed by a stretch of immaculate sands. Tucked away in acres of beautiful tropical gardens, Creole villas sit in the shade of coconut palms and filao trees, just steps from the coral-sheltered lagoon at L'Hermitage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your LUX* Saint Gilles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Ile De La Reunion Hotel Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
LUX* Saint Gilles Reunion Island/Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing