We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a great restaurant in Hermitage”
Review of La Bobine

La Bobine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Finally a great restaurant in Hermitage”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We are in La Reunion for 3 weeks on business and La Bobine was recommended by local colleagues after we had been complaining about the sub standard restaurants we had be experiencing in Hermitage. What a fabulous venue. We arrived without a reservation so couldn't get one of the spectacular banquettes right on the beach, but the table we did get still had a fantastic view of the sunset and surrounding beach. The food also lived up to it's promise. We had the swordfish curry and beef tataki which were very tasty and well presented. Certainly the beef was the best we have had on the island so far. The staff were friendly and attentive, so all in all we had a great evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bk7_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    641
    279
    147
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved it !”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Perfect for vegetarians! They prepared a delicious off menu option for me. We ate like kings in a beautiful restaurant on the beach for a reasonable price. We loved it so much we went back the next week !!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best on the beach - La Bobine !”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

What's not to love @ La Bobine: blue lagoon, sandy beach, private cosy shaded tables very discreet just above the beach with extensive views blending into the back drop with wooden stick decor sourced from Madsgascar & woven into the fabric of this beach front venue plus exemplary food & friendly service !

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Safari747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant by the beach”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great location, right by the beach, lovely setting and relaxed atmosphere. Great food, cooked freshly and with great care. Fish dishes in particular are delicious. Friendly staff who looked after us brilliantly. During our 2 weeks holiday we went there 3 times, we were never disappointed and it was by far our favourite restaurant in the area. Really worthwhile to go back and try as many dishes as possible.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton-le-Moors, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice setting - grim food!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

As with other reviewers, I cannot fault the location of this restaurant - right on the beach, with great views over the lagoon and sunset. However ... I have to say that the food was utterly disappointing. I had a steak that was fatty and riddled with gristle - my partner had a local carri dish that was equally as unpalatable. Complaints to the (indifferent) staff merely resulted in a shrug of the shoulders and a comment of 'that's how we make it here'. Needless to say, we did not go here again, and I would certainly not recommend it at all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nwukcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bobine also viewed

Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Arrondissement of Saint-Paul
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Arrondissement of Saint-Paul
 
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Arrondissement of Saint-Paul
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Arrondissement of Saint-Paul
 
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Arrondissement of Saint-Paul
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Arrondissement of Saint-Paul
 

Been to La Bobine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing