We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value In Reunion”
Review of Hotel Le Recif

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Recif
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This really offers great value in Reunion. The rooms are the right size for two people, not to big and not too small, just right. There are two pools to choose from and you can through the gate to the public beach. There are shops and restaurants nearby as well as the casino and nightclub, if that is what you are looking for. The area around the pool and bar area is good and the breakfast is adequate. WiFi id free and if you have more than one devise they will simply give you another password. Staff were very friendly and O had a very late check-in and the took me straight to my room and we did formalities in the morning.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the ground floor so that you can walk out from your room, some face close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TutinsPony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent G, Directeur d'Exploitation at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014
Google Translation

Cher client,
Nous vous remercions d'avoir déposé un sympathique commentaire sur le site de Tripadvisor. Nous sommes ravis de lire que nous avons su répondre à vos attentes ainsi que les loisirs situés aux alentours de notre Hôtel.
Dans l'attente d'avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir une nouvelle fois dans notre établissement,
Je vous adresse mes meilleures salutations,
Laurent G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 1,407 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

For South African travellers, this is an expensive three-star hotel which needs to be dragged out of the 80's - tired and shabby décor, below average breakfast, basic bedroom. The hotel is old and needs some attention. Access to the public beach is through a security gate and across a road. This is not a Mauritian hotel beach paradise experience so don't expect this. We didn't have the dinner which, at 30 Euros, didn't seem a good option so can't comment on the quality of the meal - there are a number of great pubs and restaurants in Saint Gilles Les Bains which we'd suggest you try. There was Wi-Fi which was useful. Would we recommend the hotel? Depending on your budget and what you're looking for, this is not the hotel for a romantic getaway and would be better suited to a young family looking for something basic and childproof. I would suggest shopping around before you book. Apparently, there's a very nice four-star hotel in the area called the Saint Alexis - we found out too late and would have had to pay a 100 percent cancellation fee!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie-Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Lives up to its three star rating. No nasty surprises. Friendly staff. Well situated with direct access to the beach. Rooms are a decent size and had all the expected amenities. Tv was tiny though. Had a very pleasant stay and will recommend it.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank werwortmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Nice hotel area at the beach, friendly smiling staff. A place to relax.
The reataurant and bar had good standard and good food.
Our room was average, needs to be renovated. WiFi all over the hotel, but very unstabile.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie_S57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We arrived at about noon, the end of a 23 hour journey, where we were completely ignored on arrival. When we checked in, it took a while and the staff would choose others over us. When we arrived at the room, it was very small, and dark. The free internet let one person at a time on it, and was extremely slow. When we handed in our laundry for cleaning it was temporarily lost. Nothing I can think of that was positive about this resort.

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank Scarletthk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent G, Manager at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Sir,


First of all, i would like to thank you very much for having stay at HLR ile de la Reunion. I Understand we have not been able to meet your expectations. So I would like to present to you my sincere apologies for the different inconveniences you met during your stay. we aim for quality & Guest satisfaction, which is why your feedback is really important to us.We shares it with every managers involved in order to take the right decisions & the right Actions to improve the quality of our service.
Our rooms are 28 mt2.We now installing Fiber optics to solve this problem
Once again please accept our sincere apologies for all inconveniences you met during you stay

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The hotel has a very pleasant atmosphere. We had a nice welcoming smile by the front desk staff.The room is very clean,only with some moisture in the bathroom while needs a bit of painting.. The garden of the hotel is the main asset to have a pleasant moment and breath a cool air... The two swimming pool is very clean. The only big disadvantage of this hotel is the restaurant especially during the breakfast time where lots of birds is flying all over the restaurant. I also suggest to implement the WIFI service in all the rooms as this will lead to more privacy than to come in the lobby every time...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Stayed here for 4 days in December 2012. Our first night we arrived very late seems this the trend with flights from SA. We were put in a room close to the local disco it was noisy and carried on till about 4am. The painting was also peeling off the walls in the bathroom in general this room needed some maintenance. We asked to be moved to another room in the morning which we were. this room was now on the 2nd floor above one of the kids swimming pool again noise noise noise. In general not the greatest hotel the best was the freshly squeezed fresh orange juice at breakfast... That is all I can rave about furthermore nothing..... You pay for what you get. Choose someone else.... The buffet is over priced. Also be advised the mosquitoes are rife in December

Room Tip: Don't go near the disco area avoid pool area unless you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LouisaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains hotels
1.5 mi away
LUX* Saint Gilles
LUX* Saint Gilles
#1 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
2,678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles
Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gill...
#11 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
853 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Boucan Canot
Hotel Boucan Canot
#4 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Residence l'Archipel
Residence l'Archipel
#5 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
276 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa
Le Saint Alexis Hotel & Spa
#7 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Creoles
Hotel Les Creoles
#3 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Recif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Recif

Address: 50 Avenue de Bourbon, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434, Reunion Island
Region: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#3 Family Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#4 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Price Range: £99 - £401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Recif 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Le Recif reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Hotel Du Recif
Hotel Le Recif Reunion Island/Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing