We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to see on such a small island”
Review of Hotel Le Recif

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Le Recif
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“So much to see on such a small island”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Hotel Le Recif is literally nothing more than 50m from the beach & very well poistioned , walking to St Gilles at any hour is very safe & about 15 mins where there are plenty of restuarants,casino,Clubs, shops etc. Reunion is very expensive for South African tourists due to currency being Euro's but definately worth a visit. A couple of Hotel staff could speak a bit of english but I suggest if Reunion wants to attract more non French speaking tourists then they need to focus on this as at some places we really battled. Hotel in general is very comfortable, breakfast area can to improved to keep out birds as it's rather unhygienic but generally a problem on all islands we have visited,not a major concern to us though.There is a lot to do in Reunion, we spent 7 days there a few days ago & it was way to short. Guide , Cedric arranged through Hotel was a great help as he could speak english & took us to some non tourist places which made the trip more personal. Amongst activities we did was paragliding , deep sea fishing , mountain biking , snorkelling , flyboarding - awesome , white water rafting , microlight flights & of course trips to volcano & cirques(extinct volcanoes) . It is one of the islands we will return to one day & perhaps do some trekking as many areas are remote. Infrastructure is great,wonderful highways & tarred roads. Thank you Le Recif & Reunion for a busy but memorable holiday

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing. Rooms next to the pool are convenient but nothing is to far
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andre' H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent G, Directeur d'Exploitation at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Google Translation
Cher client,
Nous vous remercions d'avoir déposé un commentaire sur le site de Tripadvisor.
Nous sommes heureux de lire que vous avez apprécié votre séjour parmi nous ainsi que l'Ile de la Réunion. En effet, il y a beaucoup d'activités à découvrir en mer et montagne. Par ailleurs, vous avez entièrement raison sur le fait que nous ne parlons pas assez bien l'anglais toutefois, sachez que nous avons déjà planifié des formations en ce sens.
Dans l'attente d'avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir lors d'un prochain séjour,
Je vous adresse mes sincères salutations,
Laurent G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    571
    207
    65
    10
See reviews for
423
622
37
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lumezzane, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed at Le Recif for 4 nights over Easter. I was very happy about the room size and how it was clean but i guess that it's a bit too expensive for what it is, being a 3 star hotel.The service is very slow, you can wait up to 40 minutes for a sandwich to be ready. If you do not speak french you can have some difficulties communicating, specially with the waiters. The location is not the best, a bit far from Saint Gilles but it's very good if you just want to relax there.
If you wanna work out at the gym... well good luck about that, if you can call it gym
After all i enjoyed my staying there and didn't have any kind of problem but it could be a better hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melzago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent G, Directeur d'Exploitation at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Google Translation
Cher client,
Nous vous remercions d'avoir déposé un commentaire sur le site de Tripadvisor. Nous sommes désolés d'apprendre que nous n'avons pas su répondre à toutes vos attentes et
vous vous présentons toutes nos excuses. Je vous adresse mes sincères salutations,
Laurent G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Nice location directly at the beach. Rooms clean and ok. Restaurant area dirty. Many birds and stray cats (even on the tables) during breakfast and dinner. Bird droppings over all chairs. It seemed that there was staff shortage in order to really take care of cleaning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldTraveller8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent G, Directeur d'Exploitation at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Google Translation
Cher client,
Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de déposer votre expérience sur le site de Tripadvisor. Nous sommes vraiment désolés de lire qu'à cause des oiseaux et des chats, vous n'avez pas gardé un bon souvenir de notre établissement. Nous avons pris bonne note de votre remarque et sachez que nous sommes en train de faire le nécessaire afin de résoudre la présence des oiseaux et des chats au restaurant. Nous vous présentons nos excuses en espérant avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir parmi nous une prochaine fois.
Je vous adresse mes sincères salutations,
Laurent G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Pierre, Reunion Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Nothing exceptional, not bad but not great, we can easily find much better for this price, the place is not new and it is visible, very basic, small bedroom, it doesn't look like a paradise at all, it looks cheap and it is expensive, for an hotel located on the beach at saint-gilles the potential is not used at all, i don't recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluvisnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent G, Directeur d'Exploitation at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Google Translation
Cher client,
Nous vous remercions d'avoir déposé un commentaire sur le site de Tripadvisor. Nous sommes vraiment désolés d'apprendre que nous n'avons pas su répondre à vos attentes, notamment au niveau des prestations de l'Hôtel en lui-même.
En espérant avoir le plaisir de vous recevoir dans notre établissement,
Je vous adresse mes salutations les plus cordiales,
Laurent G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
762 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This really offers great value in Reunion. The rooms are the right size for two people, not to big and not too small, just right. There are two pools to choose from and you can through the gate to the public beach. There are shops and restaurants nearby as well as the casino and nightclub, if that is what you are looking for. The area around the pool and bar area is good and the breakfast is adequate. WiFi id free and if you have more than one devise they will simply give you another password. Staff were very friendly and O had a very late check-in and the took me straight to my room and we did formalities in the morning.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the ground floor so that you can walk out from your room, some face close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TutinsPony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent G, Directeur d'Exploitation at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Google Translation
Cher client,
Nous vous remercions d'avoir déposé un sympathique commentaire sur le site de Tripadvisor. Nous sommes ravis de lire que nous avons su répondre à vos attentes ainsi que les loisirs situés aux alentours de notre Hôtel.
Dans l'attente d'avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir une nouvelle fois dans notre établissement,
Je vous adresse mes meilleures salutations,
Laurent G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

For South African travellers, this is an expensive three-star hotel which needs to be dragged out of the 80's - tired and shabby décor, below average breakfast, basic bedroom. The hotel is old and needs some attention. Access to the public beach is through a security gate and across a road. This is not a Mauritian hotel beach paradise experience so don't expect this. We didn't have the dinner which, at 30 Euros, didn't seem a good option so can't comment on the quality of the meal - there are a number of great pubs and restaurants in Saint Gilles Les Bains which we'd suggest you try. There was Wi-Fi which was useful. Would we recommend the hotel? Depending on your budget and what you're looking for, this is not the hotel for a romantic getaway and would be better suited to a young family looking for something basic and childproof. I would suggest shopping around before you book. Apparently, there's a very nice four-star hotel in the area called the Saint Alexis - we found out too late and would have had to pay a 100 percent cancellation fee!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie-Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prertoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Lives up to its three star rating. No nasty surprises. Friendly staff. Well situated with direct access to the beach. Rooms are a decent size and had all the expected amenities. Tv was tiny though. Had a very pleasant stay and will recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank werwortmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
1.5 mi away
LUX* Saint Gilles
LUX* Saint Gilles
#1 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
2,541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Creoles
Hotel Les Creoles
#2 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gilles
Relais de l'Hermitage Saint-Gill...
#11 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Boucan Canot
Hotel Boucan Canot
#4 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
381 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence l'Archipel
Residence l'Archipel
#5 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
254 reviews
6.6 mi away
Iloha Seaview Hotel
Iloha Seaview Hotel
#2 of 3 in Saint-Leu
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Recif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Recif

Property: Hotel Le Recif
Address: 50 Avenue de Bourbon, Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains 97434, Reunion Island
Region: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Paul > Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#4 Business Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
#4 Family Hotel in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Recif 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Recif reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Hotel Du Recif
Hotel Le Recif Reunion Island/Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing