We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ajondyh
Chester, United Kingdom

5 star

Review of Hotel Le Recif
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Dec 2016via mobile
3rd year of staying here. Very nice hotel with friendly staff and immaculately clean. Rooms serviced daily to high standard and good food. Right next to beach and 2 good pools (although one was being relined during my stay this year). Highly recommended :)
Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this review
Responded 16 Dec 2016
Dear Valued Customer,

First of all, thank you so much for this relevant review. We really appreciate it.

We are very pleased to read that it is your 3rd stay with us.

The cleanliness is crucial for us and make sure we meet our high every day.

We love what we doing here and it is a pleasure to read what you said about the hotel!

We wish you a lovely Xmas and a Happy New Year 2017!

Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £71
  • Hotels.com
0.0 miles from Hotel Le Recif
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £85
  • Hotels.com
0.9 miles from Hotel Le Recif
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £178
  • Booking.com
2.3 miles from Hotel Le Recif
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 miles from Hotel Le Recif
Free Wifi
Free parking
Vue sur la savane depuis la piscine
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £105
  • Booking.com
0.9 miles from Hotel Le Recif
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £137
  • Hotels.com
0.7 miles from Hotel Le Recif
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £96
  • eDreams
1.4 miles from Hotel Le Recif
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £59
  • Booking.com
1.2 miles from Hotel Le Recif
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £173
  • Priceline
2.7 miles from Hotel Le Recif
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £191
  • Hotels.com
2.5 miles from Hotel Le Recif
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
Reviews (2,130)
Filter reviews
2,130 results
Traveller rating
868
844
291
99
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
868
844
291
99
28
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 2,130 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2016

what a fabulous location and amazing little hotel. perfectly positioned with beautiful views, great food, cold beer and even good service. I would highly recommend it to families or couples. centrally located too

Room tip: we had an upstairs pool view
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liquidtravel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a report about our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We wish to take this opportunity to thank you for your wonderful 5 star review!

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words are highly appreciated, we do try to go above and beyond to create memorable experiences for our guests so it is great to read that we managed to do so for you as well.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Average room, good bathroom and toilet, perfect location near the beach, good restaurant, very kind and dedicated staff, good wifi in the reception area (they don't promise wifi in the rooms, so no complaints here).
Disappointing surprise for a hotel with these fees and exigence: when checking in, an attendant shows you to the room, but noone offers to help with carrying the luggages. Never happened to me before.

Room tip: Rooms at the ground floor are desirable. You have to carry the luggage yourself, so avoid stairs.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mihaistoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at our hotel.

We will communicate your valuable comment to all of our staff. We are all very concerned by our guest satisfaction and your comment enables us to improve our service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

When we entered the room, we were surprised to receive a honeymoon present. The place is very relaxing, right at the beach. The service was very friendly and we enjoyed our stay very much. We were at dinner once, and it was only average, especially in relation to its price. The rooms very clean, but one notices that the hotel is starting to age.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stefanh682
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

Dear "Stefan H",

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and we wish to thank you for choosing our hotel.

Thank you for your kind, and positive, comment concerning our friendly staff.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

I just get to know it is same management with LUX* when I arrived, therefore I can feel many things are quick similar, especially the fragrance smell, well I like those good smell. But I can say this hotel is a bit budget range compare to LUX*, many amenities are not provide and the facilities are lesser while the room and balcony is big as LUX*. However, same as LUX* the WIFI is weak in the room …
I checked-in at night, there was a lady she can speak English, she is sweet and friendly, she also very helpful when I check in with a baby.
Although the hotel is located next to the beach, but it didn’t own it, it is a public beach. There is a safety pin enter at the gate in order to access between the beach to the hotel, and the beach it is very happening and crowded in the day time.
Overall, I just feel that is overprice compare to LUX*, the price per night almost the same but a big different on the facilities.

Date of stay: July 2016
Thank WeilekHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent G, Direction de l'hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Dear WeilekHo,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor. These comments are very useful in order to improve our quality of service.

We take good note of all your comments . The hotel LUX* St Gilles is a 5* hotel while we are a 3* at Le Récif Hotel. This is the reason why some amenities and facilities are lesser. We are very sorry if we did not meet your expectations.

The beach is a public beach and therefore can be bit crowded (especially during holidays).

We would be delighted to welcome you back again at our hotel.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016

this hotel is very well located. next to the beach ( not the best place to swim due to corals). It does not really cater for foreigners - their english is very limited ( well, most of the island is the same ...). The restaurant is nothing to shout about and overpriced - there are a lot of nicer ( as well as cheaper) places within walking distance along the beach . The rooms are adequate and clean- ask for block 8 if you want some peace and quiet .
The hotel also caters for a lot of seminars and it can be noisy some evenings
It's a good base for visiting the island, but offered tour are very expensive - rather rent a car - it will be cheaper and give you the freedom to do exactly what you want

Room tip: rooms 800's are in the garden, and are nice and quiet
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laurent G, Direction de l'Hôtel le Récif at Hotel Le Recif, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Dear Valued Customer,

We thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor about our hotel.
It is lovely to read that you are pleased with your stay and that we have met your expectations during your holiday.

We wish to welcome you back soon, so please let us know when you are coming to Reunion Island and we will be more than happy to assist you with choosing the most suitable room in block 8.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews