We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From the amuse bouche to the dessert exquisite”

Le Bistrot de Pepe Gentil
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Really friendly people. Very welcoming even though we did not speak very good French. Lovely area to sit in outside loved the decor. What is outstanding is the amazing food. The langoustine burger was great as was the sucking pork incredible. A particular delight was the attention to the vegetable accompaniments. I had some delicious stuffed tomatoes and perfectly cooked leek as as well as two really delicious purees garnishing my plate and my husband equally amazing braised and stuffed onion with crispy onion on top. The creme brulee with Baileys was super smooth. This place is a real find with a talented chef serving excellent modern French food. You must book as unsurprisingly it is very popular. Located just behind the beachfront. Price is higher than the beachfront but good value for such an enjoyable evening.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wodonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2018

During our two-weeks stay in St Gilles we explored this place on our second night and returned five times, because the food was just fantastic. Excellent French cuisine with a touch of the southern hemisphere. Due to daily changings on the menu there was always a choice af various tentative dishes, from local oysters to sweetbreads to seafood to steaks to....Inventive and delicious starters like carpaccio of octopus or tartar of salmon and oysters besides a well-housemade foie gras, Not to forget deserts of flavour and richesse.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Spikefriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Cozy environment, including a pleasant terrasse, efficient and professional service, a short menu with very good products, nice presentations with original sides. Everything was a pleasure in this rather upscale but still affordable restaurant. Very recommended.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank JMGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Very much enjoyed dinner at Le Bistrot twice and highly recommend this restaurant. Lovely verandah, excellent and beautifully presented food and very kind and helpful staff (not English speaking though). No veggie dishes on the menu but if you ask they'll make a delicious veggie meal for you without hesitation - so much appreciated, thank you!! My husband had fish one night, steak the next and both dishes were great. For dessert we can recommend the Tiramisu and the Tarte aux pommes - wonderful (didn't try any others)! Starters approx. 10-15€, mains 20-30€, desserts 10€. Reservation recommended even on weekdays.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank flauschipoohbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Our reservation for Valentine’s night was booked some months previously after asking for a recommendation from our Hotel. They suggested Le Bistrot de Pepe Gentil and, after reading the Reviews, we were happy for them to make the reservation on our behalf. We had an outside table and the service was prompt. The food was high quality, well cooked and well presented so overall we don’t consider the price to be particularly high ... the wine was a tad expensive but hey it was Valentine’s day so we were o.k. with it.

What really spoilt it for us, was that it was so unbearably hot! we were outside underneath a pergola (where it would have been perfectly feasible to erect some ceiling fans) or indeed, have some free standing fans strategically placed close to diners.

OK, we know it’s very humid in February on La Rѐunion but we ate outside 99% of the time during our 2 weeks stay and without exception all other restaurants had either ceiling fans or free standing fans close to diners .... not so in Le Bistrot de Pepe Gentil!

After a starter and main course we would have loved to have ordered sweets and coffees but we had become SO uncomfortable because of the stifling, hot, airless enclosed area we just asked for the bill.

The owner/waiter expressed surprise when we asked for the bill and queried that we definitely didn’t want anything else – we explained the reason why we were leaving and asked if we might make a suggestion? Following his go-ahead, we then suggested they might like to install some ceiling fans in the pergola area or place some free standing ones around because of the heat ..... his response? He just laughed at us!! Just plain wrong and incredibly rude.

2 days before the end of our stay we decided to give them another try (this time asking for an inside table and double checking there would definitely be air conditioning inside), we had decided to give them the benefit of the doubt ... maybe on the previous occasion there had been some sort of misunderstanding re: language/communication etc. So, we went back at 7p.m. there was not another customer in the restaurant! – we were the first, we asked for a table for 2 inside and were told (by a different man to the one we’d seen a week previously) they were fully booked!! It’s true there were some tables with ‘Reserved’ cards on them – but not all by any means. The man said we could take a business card and ring up for a table – we left.

We gave this restaurant a second chance which they didn’t deserve. Nothing negative to say about the food, but we also go to a Restaurant for the ambience and service, both of which are very much absent in this establishment.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BEY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bistrot de Pepe Gentil also viewed

Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Arrondissement of Saint-Paul
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Arrondissement of Saint-Paul
 
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Arrondissement of Saint-Paul
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Arrondissement of Saint-Paul
 
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Arrondissement of Saint-Paul
Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains, Arrondissement of Saint-Paul
 

Been to Le Bistrot de Pepe Gentil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing