We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enigmatic place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Domaine Des Pierres
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Pierre
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“An enigmatic place”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I find it difficult to come to an overall rating for Le Domaine Des Pierres - it is poor/average in some areas, excellent in others. It is poorly located on the edge of St Pierre, set beside a botanical garden (closed due to storm damage at the time our visit). The otherwise adequate room was cramped and although the bathroom was reasonably sized, the shower had a feeble flow.
The reception and bar area of the hotel are caught in a pleasing time warp and contain some very nice sculptures and flower arrangements. The rooms are set in groups of three or four in separate cabins in a delightful garden setting. The attractive, unheated pool is situated in the center of the complex.
Dinner was an outstanding example of kreole food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter-at-the-grove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    92
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
32
133
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
175 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

It was not easy to find, but appeared as an exotic oasis, delicious garden and a nice swimmingpool. We had a superior room, spacious and clean, separate bathroom and wc.
The way into the restaurant looked like going in to the jungle, good food and good wine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie_S57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Deceiting arrival, as we were ther at noon, just to let luggage, and have a registration, but it was'nt possible till 2 pm. For the time, we got en entrance to the nearby attraction, this was, helas, opening at 1.30 pm. But every other comment will be positive: nice room, large bathroom, a swimmingpool without stairs to enter, a very quiet garden, and a pleasant restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed here in a superior room for one night during our Honeymoon and was pleasantly surprised.

As noted by some other's this place is a little difficult to find and is located at the back of a property which has other businesses on it. However, the ground of the hotel are beautiful with nice gardens and a pool. It is very tranquil and relaxing.

The cottages were very pleasant and the rooms clean and modern. Great bathrooms which have been mentioned previously. Whilst officially rated 3 stars it felt more like a 4 star hotel.

We found the staff at both the restaurant and the reception to be very helpful and friendly. In the excitment of an early checkout to go on a helicopter flight, we managed to leave behind an article of clothing and our vouchers for the next hotel. We realised and returned to the hotel in the afternoon to found that they had already contacted our next hotel and faxed them a copy of the voucher which was much appreciated.

Definately recommended if you have a car as hotel is located out of town.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights in a family suite, which had two bedrooms. We had two big rooms, and a good sized bathroom. One of the rooms was a bit dark, but there was plenty of room for the four of us.

We found the staff very friendly, and the staff on reception spoke some english. The cottages are in a really nice, quiet garden setting, with loads of trees, surrounding a pool. Although the entry is off a busy road, you'd never know it once you walk into their grounds. There is also plenty of room for kids to walk/run around the grounds.

There is a little bar next to reception which had very reasonably priced cocktails, and the staff there were great. Breakfast was a fairly large Continental selection, and the restaurant is open for dinner (although we didn't eat there).

Also, the hotel isn't actually in St Pierre, its a short drive out of town - its about half way between St Pierre & St Louis.

A couple of quibbles - there was a bar fridge in our room which we were told we couldn't use, and although there was free Wi-Fi, it was really unreliable - sometimes it worked in one room, sometimes it worked in the other and sometimes it just disappeared - in the end I just gave up.

All up it was a lovely place to stay. I would have given it 4 stars, except for the price. Although we really liked it, I think the hotel very overpriced. It turned out to be the most expensive place we stayed in Reunion, even more expensive than our suite at the Palm Hotel. The room at the Palm Hotel was superior in every way, so I'm not sure how Domaine des Pierres have come up with their pricing. We booked diretly through the hotel - if you can book this place on a good deal, then it would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardofusball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Due to a mistake of our tour operator we re-located to this hotel. We thought we'd find the place quite easily (like most others on Réunion) but that wasn't the case unfortunately. We expected the worst! But....once we drove up the beautiful lane, we let go of most of our suspicion and were surprised in a very positive way. Most things have been mentioned here: friendly and very helpful staff, english spoken, spotless rooms with an excellent bathroom, wifi, restaurant onsite (nice food, but they have to get rid of the non-cosy lighting), copious breakfast... The only thing we didn't like was the rather fake garden decoration, but that's a question of taste and mere detail.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellys_Eyeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Resort style 3 star hotel could easily go for 4 stars at least.,Extremely kind staff with very good English spoken, spotless rooms in lovely cottages settled in a nice garden. Rooms are realy very clean, bedlinen seem to be quite new and great. Free WI-FI helps a lot for your comfort. The only minus is that mini bar or at least mini fridge is missing, but you can store your things in hotel bar if neccessary. Bathroom is probably one of the best. We were so positively surprised after having checked few 3 star hotels which we actualy ran away as soon as we stepped in- for exampdel Le Sterne hotel. So if you have a car, than location of LeDomaine will be perfect. It is only 5 min drive from St. Pierre in a peaceful place, you have a free entry to Park Exotica which is in their neighbour.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Pierre
3.3 mi away
Le Battant des Lames
Le Battant des Lames
#1 of 12 in Saint-Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
6.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 12 in Saint-Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Delisle
Hotel Villa Delisle
#2 of 12 in Saint-Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Le Saint Pierre Hotel
Le Saint Pierre Hotel
#4 of 12 in Saint-Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
4.7 mi away
Villa Morgane
Villa Morgane
#6 of 12 in Saint-Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
19.8 mi away
LUX* Saint Gilles
LUX* Saint Gilles
#1 of 19 in Saint-Gilles-Les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Domaine Des Pierres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine Des Pierres

Property: Le Domaine Des Pierres
Address: 60 CD26 | route de l'Entre-Deux, Saint-Pierre 97410 , Reunion Island
Region: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Pierre > Saint-Pierre
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Saint-Pierre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Domaine Des Pierres 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Domaine Des Pierres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Domaine Des Pierres Reunion Island/Saint-Pierre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing