We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience”
Review of Hotel Transilvania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Transilvania
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Friendly and efficient staff, very clean and secure rooms and brilliant location. My only small suggestion add an extra rubbish bin to bedroom (there is a small one in bathroom). Will definately stay again and again on every visit to cluj - the town has won me over for vacations. Stayed for two nights. Hotel restaurant is also recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    49
    27
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
29
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
granville
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed three nights at Hotel Transilvania. Our room was not made up after the first night. We asked that we, at the very least, have clean towels and toilet tissue. At nine that night we went to the desk and there was a plastic bag with the aforementioned items in it. The next day we had maid service. The breakfast buffet was the worst of our tour.

We had a packed breakfast our last morning: two buns with a piece of ham, piece of cheese and a nice ripe slice of tomato - I combined the fillings of both on one half of the bun, ate two bites and threw it out. There was a bottle of water, one apple, two jams with nothing to put it on or spread it with and a processed triangle of cheese. I asked about coffee and was told that it is not possible to make coffee at 3:30 AM...I can think of many ways to make coffee at that hour.

The bed was like sleeping on box springs.

Room Tip: Do try the bed. We were on a tour so we couldn't go somewhere better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,685 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The hotel's about a hundred yards up a side street from the main (Unirii) square, so the position's good for what a tourist would probably want to see ((e.g. St Michael's Church in the square, the house where Matthias Corvinus was born, the Ethnographic Museum...). Otherwise it's basic and inexpensive. Nothing fancy.

Depending on what room you're given, you might have a bit of a trek from the front desk to your room.

Staff on front desk helpful and friendly. Room OK. Breakfast nothing to write home about.

I was there on the evening when the restaurant was closed, so I had dinner in a hotel in the square.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Extremely helpful staff, great value, very clean, spacious, quiet and central.
Got packed breakfast because we left before serving times.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFW93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

The room, while basic, was of a good size, very clean, with a large bathroom. The hotel itself was quiet and had a decent selection for the included breakfast. It was a short (<5 minute) walk to the main square of Cluj-Napoca, with a variety of restaurants, bars and shops. The reception staff was friendly and eager to help. Parking is free in a private lot behind the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kathy_lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stourbridge
Level Contributor
242 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Surprisingly quiet and undisturbed, notwithstanding excellent, central location on quite heavily trafficked thorougfare, doubtless a reflection of the "arcade" style; the hotel is reached via an entry off the street with most rooms then facing each other either side of a central courtyard, extending to the rear. Our well heated ( the radiators allowed us to regulate any excess), clean and tidy room ( almost a "suite") was on the first floor and was larger and loftier than expected, including a separate sitting room area with table and chairs together with twin bedded room and bathroom with full suite including an extremely commodius bath tub. Fittings a little plain perhaps, but all you really need including TV, minibar, wardrobe, mirror, phone, fresh towels, toiletries, etc. Attention to detail was a little lacking, ie not enough electric sockets ( why have a mini bar and bedside light that are not plugged in?!) but this was solved via the arrival of extension cables. Staff almost universally helpful, friendly and attentive, especially Mr Zoltan on Reception. A generous breakfast was provided- the usual cold cuts, cheese, fruit, bread rolls, coffee, juices, yogurt, hard boiled eggs plus a limited, albeit welcome hot selection. A nice touch was the provision of a packed breakfast on our departure, ready for collection at Reception for our 0400 start to make the early flight. The restaurant also provided evening meals and although we tried this and found it OK, we preferred to explore other "speciality" restaurants in the limited time available to us. Other guests seemed to involve a range of ages. On the whole very good value at 190 lei per twin room per night including breakfast, although prices may be increasing. This was our first trip to Romania and I'm sure it will not be our last. One tip, at least for UK visitors, is that we got a much better rate changing money in Cluj than we did at home.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2010

My friends and I were so happy with our choice to stay in this hotel. It has old world charm with modern ammenities including wireless internet! A great location and good value for the money. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
#1 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Confort
Hotel Confort
#7 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beyfin
Hotel Beyfin
#9 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa - Hotel ESCALA
Villa - Hotel ESCALA
#2 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fullton Hotel
Fullton Hotel
#34 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Plaza Hotel
City Plaza Hotel
#13 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Transilvania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Transilvania

Property: Hotel Transilvania
Address: Regele Ferdinand #20, Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Transilvania 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Transilvania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Transilvania Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing