We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Except for location, not much more to offer” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Melody Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Melody Central
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Yavne, Israel
Level Contributor
387 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Except for location, not much more to offer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

I chose the hotel for its location, which is really as central as it can be.
Bt that is about the only superlative I have about the place.
The hotel was clean and ala in all offered good value for its cost.
I read that reviews that it is noisy, and they were right! Fortunately I brought with me ear plugs, so we could sleep (on hot summer night one must leave the windows open since there is no AC).
At the reception they mixed our booking (we booked a double and a single and they gave us separate beds).
The stuff was very uninformative, they sent me for a map to the not far away Tourist Information office, they did not have one.
The breakfast was poor, the coffe cold and finished.
If you do not really have to be rigth at the foot of Matei Corvin, try something different.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    28
    22
    18
    5
See reviews for
15
24
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Right on the main square, which could make trouble for those sensitive to street noise, and luck much of Romania, coffee seems to be rationed and/or served in thimble-size cups. We got a few sideways glances after requesting a third cup of coffee, but really I would stay here again. It always cracks me up to read people complaining about things like "not a real espresso", etc., when in a country like Romania. Want real espresso? Go to Italy. Want a decent clean room in a great location and willing to fight for your morning coffee? Stay here,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnyytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

We stayed here for one night. Clean bed sheets and towels, Clean bathroom. Decaying decor. Bit weird. No elevator. Cheap. Fine for one night. THe shower was not hot though. Better value than Meteor hotel and others in town. Very central and we had a nice view of the cathederal (though room a bit noisy).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

Lovely location which proves to be in the interest of long nights without sleep. Every 5 minutes an ambulance passes by, or of you are lucky you can just hear the cars racing. But that might be expected from a central location. What is not to be expected is a very old shover with cold water, especialy in the evening. Now let's talk about the room. Big enough, but with very old and used up furniture with scratches all over and loos ends. I wasn't lucky to get air conditioning but I did have an old TV that must have been part of the decoration because it only worked from time to time. The reception said it works just fine so maybe it did, but when i was out. But what bothered me the most was that you cannot pay with your credit card number, all though they asked it from me when i made the reservation. And I found this out at 3 AM when i was checking out to go to the airport and catch my flight! No one had the courtosy to tell me in the 7 days I stayed there! If you want to "enjoy" this experience and probably more, you can stay at this hotel. If you want to really enjoy your stay you should choose another one!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Visitor298474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cluj-Napoca hotels

romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

I visited cluj city in june 2010. We enjoyed the staying at this hotel . The room are clean very spatious , the hotel is tree stars but they didn't have air condition (although we didn't need it because the temperature wasn't high) The breakfast is included ,and it was good. This is an romantic hotel. They also have only a few parking place, and I couldn't get one from them , so I had to buy a ticket for parking place for a day ( 9lei = 2.2euro)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dorelgidea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

perfect location in Cluj, breakfast below standard, noisy at night due to street traffic, drunks on the street and Ambulances, shower very small, was clean though.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

This is a nice historic hotel with a well maintianed property. Bed was confortable, room was clean,I had internet in my room. Bathroom was clean, shower was a little small but fine.The nice thing is the location wich is DIRECTLY next to a square, wonderful views from my room of an old Catholic Cathedral and sorrounding restaurants. Also heard was an art museum next door.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
0.1 mi away
Fullton Hotel
Fullton Hotel
#33 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Transilvania
Hotel Transilvania
#15 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beyfin
Hotel Beyfin
#12 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meteor
Hotel Meteor
#43 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pensiunea Siago Hotel
Pensiunea Siago Hotel
#10 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Plaza Hotel
City Plaza Hotel
#11 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melody Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melody Central

Property: Hotel Melody Central
Address: Piata Unirii 29, Cluj-Napoca 400098, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! MELODY HOTEL CENTRAL is among the most representative and catering accommodations in Cluj-Napoca, building is operated as a hotel since. XIX century. Classified three star hotel quality and meets European standards, being equipped with the most modern amenities in order to offer customers multiple facilities for accommodation, table, business, conferences, seminars, and other types of events. All 26 accommodation rooms, single or double rooms, standard or luxury apartments, are modernly equipped and benefit from, working desk, minibar, TV, free wireless internet, local and international telephone line, Bathroom with shower or bathtub, hairdryer. Luxury apartments are equipped with spacious bathrooms with bathtub. The hotel has also large halls which facilitates meetings for 100/180 guests, possibility of organizing banquets, weddings, Salons Artificial and natural lighting, offering an elegant and intimate kitchen after the most demanding requirements, well qualified and friendly team is waiting with menus and both Romanian traditional dishes but also with European and international specialties. Why choose Central Melody!! We are in the central area of the city, and 5 minutes walk from City Hall of Cluj-Napoca, area clinics, where is the most important art objects, historical, cultural, religious, and the most sought hospital units. We are 5 minutes walk from Babes Bolyai state University, 15 minutes to Botanical Garden. We are 20 minutes drive from Cluj-Napoca International Airport. We offer a wide range of quality services at competitive prices negotiable especially punctually the line of accommodation, space for events, telephone and Internet connections. Well qualified and trained staff, friendly and helpful will provide exceptional treatment throughout your stay in our hotel. You will find most interesting and advantageous discounts, bonuses, incentives and free, depending on the level, complexity and extent of services requested. We have two function rooms equipped to organize any kind of event, ensuring complete privacy and safety. The bar of the hotel, arranged at ground floor, offers a great space for coffee and tea business, meeting friendly offering prices for every pocket and soft drinks, and fresh natural sites and special cocktails. For us there is no second place in terms of customer service, so we have completed the motto: "Heart of Transylvania tourism." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Melody Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Melody Central Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing