We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a verry central hotel in cluj”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Melody Central
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a verry central hotel in cluj”
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I visited cluj city in june 2010. We enjoyed the staying at this hotel . The room are clean very spatious , the hotel is tree stars but they didn't have air condition (although we didn't need it because the temperature wasn't high) The breakfast is included ,and it was good. This is an romantic hotel. They also have only a few parking place, and I couldn't get one from them , so I had to buy a ticket for parking place for a day ( 9lei = 2.2euro)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorelgidea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    31
    26
    22
    7
See reviews for
16
31
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

perfect location in Cluj, breakfast below standard, noisy at night due to street traffic, drunks on the street and Ambulances, shower very small, was clean though.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2010

This is a nice historic hotel with a well maintianed property. Bed was confortable, room was clean,I had internet in my room. Bathroom was clean, shower was a little small but fine.The nice thing is the location wich is DIRECTLY next to a square, wonderful views from my room of an old Catholic Cathedral and sorrounding restaurants. Also heard was an art museum next door.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
briami
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2009

I really enjoyed my stay in Cluj-Napoca, Romania. We took a taxi from the airport (no not pay more that 20 ROM), and arrived at this hotel located on a corner of the street that runs along the bus lines, a good sized grocery store, and the Basilica of St. Michael. This historic center of the city is quiet and lined with many coffee bars and clubs. Everything seemed new and clean in this area of the city. I also walked about three blocks to the bus stop and took bus #25 to the Iulius Mall for 3 ROM. The mall was great and had many American based stores (including Starbucks, Pizza Hut, KFC, Adidas, Nike, etc.)

The hotel room was small and had two twin-sized beds (very close together), but everything seemed really clean. There was a small TV with many english speaking channels (including CNN, Discovery, Disney, etc). I was not expecting all of that for the price we paid (close to $50/night per 2-person room). There was also a nice breakfast that included coffee, assorted teas, bread, meats, cheeses, croissants, breakfast cake, and juice. There is also cappuccino available upon request (I think).

The staff spoke english. Some were much more comfortable than others with the language, but they were very friendly and helpful.

I am going to go back to Romania and I know exactly where I will be staying!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frbrianokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj Napoca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Besides the fact that it cant get more central the hotel is a mes... warm water is not to expect internet is to much to ask for and the food is bad... I stayed there for 2 nights and never again. I now study in Cluj and its a beautiful city but please stay out of this hotel there are some really good ones instead.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonaDVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cluj-Napoca hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2008

My husband and I were travelling through Romania and had not booked accommodation as we did not know where we would be stopping. So we arrived at this hotel unannounced. The only room they had available was an 'apartment' at €90 per night. Unsure we would find anywhere else, we agreed to take the room. Mistake! Apart from the frosty reception we received upon arrival, the room was dreadful... ripped couch, fuzzy television reception (the husband wanted to watch a match), freezing water in the bathroom, the toliet ran constantly, the communal areas stank of smoke, the curtains were paper thin and unlined so the lights shone in from the busy square and our balcony had cables running across it so you couldn't actually stand on it. Breakfast was a disgrace, we decided against it as it looked stale so we had a coffee and a type of cordial disguised as orange juice and left. Housekeeping had started cleaning with a noisy vacuum cleaner at 7am with no regard for people in the breakfast room. The morning receptionist was as frosty as his colleague. The internet access was down and no apology made for this. We left disgusted as this was the worst experience we have had in a hotel ever! Avoid this place at all costs!!!!

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — value for money, ramshackle rooms, freezing water, substandard facilities in general
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MommieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meteor
Hotel Meteor
#33 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hiton Cluj - City Plaza
0.5 mi away
Lol et Lola Hotel
Lol et Lola Hotel
#3 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Confort
Hotel Confort
#6 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beyfin
Hotel Beyfin
#10 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capitolina City Chic Hotel
Capitolina City Chic Hotel
#4 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melody Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melody Central

Property: Hotel Melody Central
Address: Piata Unirii 29, Cluj-Napoca 400098, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! MELODY HOTEL CENTRAL is among the most representative and catering accommodations in Cluj-Napoca, building is operated as a hotel since. XIX century. Classified three star hotel quality and meets European standards, being equipped with the most modern amenities in order to offer customers multiple facilities for accommodation, table, business, conferences, seminars, and other types of events. All 26 accommodation rooms, single or double rooms, standard or luxury apartments, are modernly equipped and benefit from, working desk, minibar, TV, free wireless internet, local and international telephone line, Bathroom with shower or bathtub, hairdryer. Luxury apartments are equipped with spacious bathrooms with bathtub. The hotel has also large halls which facilitates meetings for 100/180 guests, possibility of organizing banquets, weddings, Salons Artificial and natural lighting, offering an elegant and intimate kitchen after the most demanding requirements, well qualified and friendly team is waiting with menus and both Romanian traditional dishes but also with European and international specialties. Why choose Central Melody!! We are in the central area of the city, and 5 minutes walk from City Hall of Cluj-Napoca, area clinics, where is the most important art objects, historical, cultural, religious, and the most sought hospital units. We are 5 minutes walk from Babes Bolyai state University, 15 minutes to Botanical Garden. We are 20 minutes drive from Cluj-Napoca International Airport. We offer a wide range of quality services at competitive prices negotiable especially punctually the line of accommodation, space for events, telephone and Internet connections. Well qualified and trained staff, friendly and helpful will provide exceptional treatment throughout your stay in our hotel. You will find most interesting and advantageous discounts, bonuses, incentives and free, depending on the level, complexity and extent of services requested. We have two function rooms equipped to organize any kind of event, ensuring complete privacy and safety. The bar of the hotel, arranged at ground floor, offers a great space for coffee and tea business, meeting friendly offering prices for every pocket and soft drinks, and fresh natural sites and special cocktails. For us there is no second place in terms of customer service, so we have completed the motto: "Heart of Transylvania tourism." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Melody Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Melody Central Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing