We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capitolina City Chic Hotel
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We stayed at this hotel while we attended my son's wedding in Romania. The family had 7 rooms. The staff was wonderful. They helped us in every way they could and really made it easy for first tme travelers to Romania.
The hotel accomodations were good by European standards and excellent for Romanian. There is an elevator to go to the upper floors. The breakfast was included and was comprised of pastries, meats, breads, vegetables and even eggs. The hotel is right near the center of town and within easy walking distance to most of the sites.
I would definately go back to Hotel Capitolina. and I thank them for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katheyNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2008

Spent a week at the Capitolina taking in the area and found it to be ideal. The services provided were what we wanted - a clean, well-maintained room with good heating and A/C, nice bathroom and sufficiently wide-ranging buffet breakfast. They have good English skills but if you speak to them in Romanian they don't try and show off their English. There is a prompt room service for food which gave me the best penne carbonara I've ever had.

It doesn't have restaurant facilities (but we wanted to dine out), common areas to hang out in (but we wanted to see people in the town), bars, night porters or all the other things that elevate the star ratings and the price. But if you don't need those, why pay for them?

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GeoffChall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2007

I was staying at City Central Hotel (great place) up the street and extended my stay but they were booked so I moved to the nearest hotel, Hotel Capitolina.

It smelled like stuffiness and disinfectant everywhere. I question the frequency with which they stream clean their carpets? I left the windows in my room open all day and it was still smelly when i got back altho not as much.

At least the bed was clean and comfortable and there was 'net access in the room.

Bathroom was recently renovated but not of the highest quality, but that's not a dealbreaker for me. Some things were starting to come undone already. The shower was an event, somewhat of an ordeal but an entertaining story (see photo). Actually, the stereo radio in the shower was great.

Breakfast was good. The staff were nice.

I wonder though, and this is in other places in cluj - why people don't open windows more to let fresh air in?

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bettyx1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2006

I stayed at the Capitolina during a conference and was very impressed. The price was very reasonable, the room was modern and clean, and the minibar was well stocked. Staff were very friendly and helpful. A real bonus was the availability of free internet connection in the room - not wireless, but I was able to connect my laptop easily. Although it doesn't have some of the facilities of big hotels (gym etc), I would definitely stay at the Capitolina again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bec_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2006

Our first room had dried urine on the toilet seat (despite the seal over the seat proclaiming it had been sanitized) and the television was broken.

Desk and floor staff were very friendly and helpful.

They moved us to a different room on the second night. This room did not have a working air conditioner; the air was warm and humid. We had to sleep with the windows open but due to the construction on the street, vehicles would pass over a steel plate making a load "klang" regularly through the night and frequently after 5 AM. We barely slept.

We asked for a (paltry) 5 euro discount for the second night without A/C. The desk staff said that only the manager can discount and that he wasn't going to be in that day.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hidektol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hermann4702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
#1 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lol et Lola Hotel
Lol et Lola Hotel
#2 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Beyfin
Hotel Beyfin
#10 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#8 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hiton Cluj - City Plaza
0.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Ana Dome
Golden Tulip Ana Dome
#4 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitolina City Chic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitolina City Chic Hotel

Address: Cluj-Napoca, str. V. Babes nr. 35, Cluj-Napoca 40012, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range: £52 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitolina City Chic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitolina City Chic Hotel*** is created especially for the business people traveling in Cluj-Napoca. Here you have only 4 reasons to prefer us to the concurrence: free high speed internet in every room, free digital safe in every room, home cinema (free), business newspapers (free). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Capitolina City Chic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitolina City Chic Hotel Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing