We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Agape was very good”
Review of Hotel Agape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Agape
Ranked #55 of 57 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My family and I took 4 rooms in the hotel on our second night in Transylvania.
We liked it very much. Every room was perfectly clean and comfortable.
I would do some updates on the bathrooms, but it was clean and user friendly,
We used the restaurant as well and it was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Manager at Hotel Agape, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017


We understand your concern and appreciate your feedback.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were booked at this hotel for a week in June of 2014. It looks to be very reasonably priced for its location. This is not a bad hotel, and it only needs attention to a few important things to get to the next level.

The good: You can't beat the location for Cluj. It is in the historic and shopping center of Cluj, which is a lovely city in Transylvania. The building itself is attractive.

The building is a nice design, with a nice courtyard, beautiful dining space with ethnic decorations and a great dance/party space on the top floor. The staff was very friendly.

The not-so-good: Room furnishings seem frozen in time in the '40s-'50s, but were clean and smoke free.

Toilet and shower were thin, plastic mobile-home-quality junk and did not work properly. We found these exact fixtures in another rural Romanian hotel, but in better condition.

Air conditioners were hit or miss, and our air conditioner did not appear to work at all until we noticed that corrosion was leaking from the battery compartment of the remote that sets the temperature. With batteries from the TV remote, the AC was fine.

House wine included with meals was atrocious, but the restaurant offers much better Romanian wines for excellent prices. Putting a pitcher of this beverage pretending to be wine on the table next to food that was generally quite good is a shame.

Room Tip: Most rooms are generous sized. If you get one of the small rooms, ask for another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desertconnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Manager at Hotel Agape, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017


We understand your concern and appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had booked hotel " Agape " for four nights and left this hotel on the second day. Four years ago it was still ok but everything has changed. The key to the room was covered with a layer of disgusting filth. The room :extremely small, the shower could not be used as the plastic" walls "could not be closed. In the wardrobe three hangers. When I asked for more I got some made of wire. The breakfast terrible: the orange juice was in fact orange water, coffee: only tiny cups of espresso, no eggs, one plate with ham and one with cheese, . The staff extremely unfriendly. When I spoke to the manager and told him that we had expected more of a 4-star- hotel, the answer was: " I have been to a four-star-hotel in Hungary. It was worse." That was very comforting, I must say . ( irony ). We looked for another 4 star hotel and we found the " Grand Hotel Napoca, which deserves the 4 stars. I would give Agape one star.

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel. Its location is perfect but you will not feel comfortable there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taci75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Manager at Hotel Agape, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

We understand your concern and appreciate your feedback.
We will take all the necessary measures to ensure that the next time you will have a more enjoyable experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I spent three nights at Hotel Agape in May. The main attraction is the location, you will not get a more central hotel. The hotel might have been a good one 3-4 years ago but in May 2014 the hotel is rundown and badly in need of refurbishment and repairs. The furniture, carpets, bathrooms, all scream for some work. The bathroom shower is just terrible, small enclose, the flimsy doors do not close. Toilet seats are loose and broken, furniture is scratched and damaged, carpets are worn out and the list can go on and on. The place is relatively cheap, at $64 for a single room one cannot expect too much but overall the experience was disappointing.
The restaurants have great Hungarian Food and the breakfast is decent. If you do not mind a room in mild disrepair that the hotel might be acceptable especially given the location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike-Bethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Manager at Hotel Agape, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017


We understand your concern and appreciate your feedback.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a Hungarian Hotel in the heart of the city. The best features: location and service; the worst: the bathroom shower (it is so small as to make it almost unusable if you are over six feet tall...). I have stayed in this hotel on four different occasions, and have tried four different rooms. The top floor rooms get VERY hot in the summer, so I would suggest third floor. A/C in the room works, but it is slow, and the rooms have what appears to be 12- foot ceilings... So be patient. The frond desk people are extremely helpful and polite, the breakfast is included and it will satisfy just about any taste. If you have a chance to eat dinner in one of their private dining rooms, do so, the food and service are absolutely fantastic. For prices are also quite a bargain.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor in the summer, rooms get very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etherdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Manager at Hotel Agape, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017


We understand your concern and appreciate your feedback.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Simple, good size rooms, clean and a great location just in the middle of the city center.
You can do everything walking from their. It is 5 minutes walking from the 2 major spots in the city.
Beds are a bit hard; Breakfast is ok

Room Tip: ask for a silent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoezParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Manager at Hotel Agape, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017


We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Nice, friendly staff, very-very good restaurant. The strongest point of the hotel is the location, You don"t need to take taxi or public transportation, You can walk everywhere. The rooms are clean and big enough

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laszlo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A, Manager at Hotel Agape, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017


We appreciate your feedback.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
1.3 mi away
Topaz Boutique Hotel
Topaz Boutique Hotel
#47 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
25 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Gala Cluj-Napoca
Hotel Gala Cluj-Napoca
#40 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beyfin
Hotel Beyfin
#10 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
#1 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Confort
Hotel Confort
#6 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hiton Cluj - City Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agape

Address: Strada Maniu Iuliu nr. 6, Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Agape 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Agape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agape Hotel Cluj Napoca
Hotel Agape Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing