We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and decent rooms”
Review of Hotel Agape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Agape
Ranked #55 of 55 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent location and decent rooms”
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We found the Agape a very pleasant and quiet place to stay in a good location. Nothing spectacular about the rooms, but roomy and quiet and everything worked. Breakfast was fine, if not exciting, and the location of the hotel just off the main square and city centre is ideal. There is a very decent self-service restaurant on the ground floor, and the setting of the rooms around a courtyard is picturesque. Plenty of good restaurants and cafes nearby. Overall good value and a good choice for this city.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    19
    21
    14
    14
See reviews for
7
20
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

I stayed at the Agape on business. There is a central courtyard that is freezing as would be expected - and around which various rooms can be found.

The room was tacky, electrical wiring showing has not always made me feel at home! The radiators were on full blast, windows could not be opened. Talk about dry atmosphere!

The breakfast was the worst breakfast I have had in 25 years of travelling. Period. Without equal - I had a double take on the fried eggs..the sausages were the boiled variety and cold. My powers of english cannot allow me to describe them. I had breakfast once needless to say.

There was no free water in the room - so you had to purchase from the min-bar which was warm! i.e did not work - complaining falls on deaf ears so no point saying any more on this.

I am amazed I have taken the time to write a review. Truly awful. There is a hungarian restaurant in the hotel (there are actually abouot 3 I think) - I visited it on one night and the food was ok and service was friendly - but this was overshadowed by the rest of this truly awful hotel.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — arriving
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ITConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cluj-Napoca hotels

york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2008

Hi there!
Having read some of the reviews of hotels in Cluj while I was looking for somewhere to stay, I was horrified! We wanted to pop over for a long weekend to visit my daughter who, having just graduated, is working in Cluj for three months. I told her about the awful reviews for the hotels and she went and had a look around for us. She found this hotel and what a JOY!
If you are considering a visit to Cluj, this is THE hotel to stay in. We booked the apartmente and were delighted to find a huge living area, seperate bedroom and lovely bathroom. Dressing gowns, slippers, toiletries - all the things you'd expect from a good quality hotel and at a brilliant price. We arranged everything via email and when we arrived the receptionists couldn't do enough for us. They showed us to our room and when my daughter arrived they provided us with a vase for the flowers she had brought. There was an excellent choice for breakfast and when we realised we needed an extra night, they dealt with this and we were able to stay in the same apartement and as our flight was at 6 a.m., they organised a taxi for us a 3.30 a.m. and even gave us two huge breakfast packups to take with us. Truly a wonderful stay with the Hotel and of course, it was fabulous to see our daughter! Absolutely recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff and fab apartemente
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifestooshortYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genk, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Good location, rooms have different standard, read less, then in western Europe, old but clean.
Breakfast very poor, good restaurant in the hotel/
Reception very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TrippGenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crete
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2008

We were in winter holiday in Romania passing trough Cluj-Napoca on the way to Sighisoara.We reached the city of Cluj with the help of a young romanian couple who was extremly kind and helpfull. They recomend us the hotel.
Planned to stay 1 day but we end up staying 3 days.
Nice rooms,well furnished,good location,good service,very nice breakfast,had also lunch there and was perfect !
If we will have to go in Cluj definetly we will go to the same hotel.

  • Liked — the room,the view and the city it self
  • Disliked — a little bit expensive
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank little_inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2008

Judged by the standards for a local, family-run hotel, the Agape does very well indeed. The location, and the setting around an interior courtyard are the biggest pluses. Breakfast is better than what you would find in many locally run places ... but quite limited by international standards.

But the service and friendliness of the staff is very genuine. And the hotel offers an excellent pick-up service for guests arriving at the local airport. Which makes this an ideal landing spot for anyone unfamiliar with Cluj, or just wanting an easy and practical arrival with minimal fuss.

We did tip the driver ... but apart from this transfer service was completely free, included in the regular rate of the room.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanschr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2008

The best thing about Agape Hotel in Cluj is the location: 1 min away from Piata Unirii, the center of Cluj, and 2 min from the main monuments (St. Michael's church, opera house etc), 10 min walk to the Botanical Garden (the most beautiful I've seen so far).

Breakfast included (lots of choices of food).

Large rooms, large bathrooms, clean and well maintained.

The only downsize was that our room was facing the street and during night it was a little noisy.

Overall a very pleasant experience, I would definitely recommend it!

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — quite noisy during night
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatalinaAdriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beyfin
Hotel Beyfin
#9 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Meteor
Hotel Meteor
#28 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Melody Central
Hotel Melody Central
#45 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fullton Hotel
Fullton Hotel
#43 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#40 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hiton Cluj - City Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Agape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agape

Property: Hotel Agape
Address: Strada Maniu Iuliu nr. 6, Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Agape 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Agape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agape Hotel Cluj Napoca
Hotel Agape Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing