We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”
Review of Opera Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Opera Plaza Hotel
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I spent just two nights here on business but can report that this is a very nice hotel. The rooms are spacious, very clean, comfortable and well equipped. Wifi worked well. Breakfast room was very pleasant and breakfast was good. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Also the hotel is in a good central location. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzios_PW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Opera_Cluj, Front Office Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that overall your stay was enjoyable in the Opera Plaza Hotel and would like to thank you for your positive comments on the room, the staff and the hotel in general.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Opera Plaza Hotel we would like to thank you for the high scores you have awarded us and we truly hope that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    91
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
21
39
12
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This is a a truly lovely 5* hotel. We were there for two nights at the end of December, as we wanted to spend New Year's Eve with friends in Cluj.
The rooms were very spacious, bed was big, bathroom sparkling clean, internet at reasonable speed and the bath robes very nice. The breakfast also had a good selection, I appreciated the grilled vegetables and the croissants.
The spa area was also very nice, the swimming pool temperature was perfect from early in the morning and not freezing as in other hotels.
The service was good, people are polite and helpful, bell boys were handy.
We did not get to try the restaurant, maybe next time.
All in all, an enjoyable stay in a 5* hotel.

Room Tip: We had a street view which had a view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eea_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Opera_Cluj, Front Office Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear TripAdvisor member Eea_traveler,

Thank you for your visit at the Opera Plaza Hotel and for the opportunity of having you as our guest. We are delighted to know that we have achieved our goal of offering you a pleasant stay by providing a service to your liking.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed here for just over two weeks in December. The hotel itself was very comfortable and the reception and bar staff were very friendly and helpful and always had time for a chat.

The rooms (and beds!) are pretty big and were kept very clean though I agree with a previous reviewer that it would not be a 5 star hotel in other European cities. There was not much of a view from the window from rooms 200 to 208, mine overlooked an apartment block and a pretty run down communal garden. I would also say the rooms could benefit from some modern touches, the tv was pretty ancient and the shower was not brilliant.

Breakfast was very good with a chef on hand to make fresh omelletes, crepes and poached eggs with a good selection of the usual breakfast buffet essentials. The restaurant itself was very large and felt kind of impersonal so I never ate dinner there. There are some good restaurants within a 10 minutes walk and I tried 4 of the top 5 on Trip Advisor and they were all good, Pescador was exceptional.

The fitness area was good with a nice pool and sauna. I also had a massage which was really good value but the massure was a bit moody as I was 10 minutes late!

Location wise it is very central with the main squares a 5 minute walk away, Cluj has an attractive city centre that could be made even more so if they could lay the electricty cables underground, you always felt a bit wary of the sheer number of cables strung above your head!

It has the potential of becoming a more popular city break location a few years down the line but it was a novelty to feel like you were visiting an undiscovered city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanleytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Opera_Cluj, Front Office Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Guest Stanleytic,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Opera Plaza, and also for taking the time and effort to write your great review. We greatly appreciate your honest feedback, as your opinion is very important to us and it enables us to continue with the Opera Plaza standards of service for all our Guests and make improvements where necessary.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the Opera Plaza in a near future where we can exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I stayed recently at Opera Plaza in Cluj. Very pleasant, kind and attentive staff, great breakfast, quiet rooms and lobby. For the price I paid it was worth it. There is only on strange thing, but i assure you it will not ruin your stay at this fine hotel. If you park underground, safe and free, you will not be able to take stairs or elevator to the lobby! You have to walk up around the building where cars are driving. Not a big deal, but..... Finally i do recommend to anyone to experience Cluj, from this centrally located hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamsoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Opera_Cluj, Front Office Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Dear TripAdvisor member,
I take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable comments and the high scores you have awarded us on the TripAdvisor website. I also want to thank you for your positive comments on the room, the staff and the hotel in general. I am delighted to know that overall your stay was an enjoyable one in the Opera Plaza Hotel. Regarding the underground parking, in order for us to minimize the fact that the elevator goes only until the ground floor, our bellboy staff is always at our guests` disposal for parking their car so they do not have to walk around the building from the parking area to the reception.
We appreciate your feed back and we hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We travelled to Cluj and wanted to be central because we didnt know the town at all. We were about the only guests in the hotel which is strange because it is a really nice hotel with probably the best food in Cluj.
The staff were attentive and helpful except that they watched tv over us while we were eating in the bar which was a bit uncomfortable!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LooKanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Opera_Cluj, Front Office Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you for your feed-back and the high scores you have awarded us on the TripAdvisor website. Perhaps you had the reservation during low season time or it was holiday time and therefore this is why the hotel was not so busy. We do apologies for the behavior of the staff and meanwhile we have taken measure to ensure this sort of uncomfortable situation will not be a problem for any of our guests in the future.

We hope we can better serve you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

I stayed there in July 2009 for 3 days during a business trip in Cluj.
Even if this is the most expensive hotel in Cluj it is not a 5 star one but more like a 4 star in a Western city (e.g. Barcelona). However it is very clean and the personnel is very helpful speaking good English.
The room is large but could have more furniture. The Internet connection did not work even if I am a technical guy.
Bathroom is huge but the bathtub had mold even if the hotel is quite new (2 year old). Also the bidet was missing. The consumables were good and the towels very clean.
Breakfast was rich but the food was of poor quality (cheap staff from supermarkets). The croissants were good though.
I wish I had received at least once a welcome chocolate but they did not offer such things. The minibar was extremely expensive. Cheap drinks can be bought from a shop at the street corner.
Location is a 15 minutes walk to the city center but for the famous local restaurants you should get a taxi from the nearby taxi station.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StevenBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Opera_Cluj, Front Office Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Dear TripAdvisor member,
Thank you for taking the time to write us regarding your stay at our hotel. We note that, although, you recognized the cleanliness and the quality of staff during your stay with us, you were not happy with the value for money you received. Please accept our sincerest apologies for all the inconveniences you were caused.
As for the general hotel condition, we are delighted to inform you that from your stay in 2009, we have made improvements regarding the room and bathroom conditions, breakfast menu is now very rich and it has good and healthy products... and we still have the freshly baked croissants which are delicious. Indeed there is no welcome chocolate in the rooms but now we do welcome our guests with coffee and tea making facilities in all the rooms or fresh fruit baskets.
Thank you once again for your feed-back, it has helped us to improve our services, and we sincerely hope that you will give us another chance in the future, so that we can restore your faith in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
izmir
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We spent four days with my friends and everythings were great.. Peacefull faces, smiling faces, delicious food and large and well furnished rooms. Thanks Opera Plaza Cluj..

Serdar

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzmirSerdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Opera_Cluj, Front Office Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Dear TripAdvisor member,

We are very happy to hear that in the past you have been fully satisfied with your stay. also thank you for the high scores you have awarded us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
#1 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
404 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hiton Cluj - City Plaza
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#6 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Paradis
Hotel Paradis
#10 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beyfin
Hotel Beyfin
#9 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
220 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Ana Dome
Golden Tulip Ana Dome
#5 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Plaza Hotel

Property: Opera Plaza Hotel
Address: Strada general Mosoiu Traian 10 - 12, Cluj-Napoca 400132, Romania
Phone Number:
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
#7 Business Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Opera Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Opera Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Plaza Hotel Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing