We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Opera Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Opera Plaza Hotel
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Certificate of Excellence
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

I stayed 6 nights at the Opera Plaza Hotel, one of the two "5 star" hotels in Cluj. Though it may be 5 star by Romanian standards, I'd rank it more like a low 4 star or high 3 star by American standards; maybe comparable to a nice Hilton or Hyatt but with more personality. Things I really liked about the hotel:
- location. A convenient 10 minute walk into the heart of Cluj's city center
- room size. I had an upgraded room, and it was HUGE!
- quiet. Perhaps the most remarkable thing was that the room was very quiet. I rarely heard any outside noise, and I didn't hear any internal noise at all. Given how noisy most European hotels are, and given this hotel's location so close to the city center, its soundproofing was amazingly successful.
- breakfast (included in the room rate). The breakfast was extremely generous and served in a very nicely decorated room.
- fast Internet WiFi. That always boosts my feelings towards a hotel!
- price: 60 Euros/night (heavily discounted because it was a conference rate), an amazing bargain by European standards.

The hotel had several other amenities, such as an indoor pool, fitness center, business center and cheap massages, that I didn't take advantage of.

I knocked the hotel's grade down because, despite its efforts, some of the amenities weren't up to snuff. Examples:
- incredibly overworked mattress, worse than what I'd expect at a Motel 6
- air conditioner wasn't powerful enough for the large room
- something (the shower?) leaked a lot of water onto the bathroom floor

Also, like most European hotels, the bed didn't have a top sheet (I ended up using a towel) and the hotel didn't provide shampoo or conditioner (I now always bring my own to Europe).

None of these limitations materially diminished my enjoyment, but they were inconsistent with a "top-of-the-line" hotel offering.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ericgoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Opera_Cluj, Front Office Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Mr. Goldman,

On behalf of the OPERA Plaza I would like to express our gratitude for your time taken to submit your review on the Trip Advisor website after being accommodated here while traveling to Cluj.

I am so pleased that you have enjoyed the upgraded room offered; as many time possible, we are trying to give superior rooms to our guests, especially when having a long stay reservation; it is such a satisfaction to know that the room was quiet enough for you- indeed the peaceful area where we are located in as well as the soundproofing of the hotel are of great help in having a proper rest when staying at the OPERA Plaza. So nice to hear that the location of our property, right in the Old City Center/ few minutes walking away from main attractions of the city, was also convenient for you!

Thank you for sharing with us and with all Trip Advisor readers your appreciation for our breakfast menu and Wi-Fi facilities, both included in the room rate for all travelers choosing to stay at the OPERA Plaza. The rate applied to your reservation was a Conference one and I am so content that it has corresponded to your budget. Likewise, it will be our greatest honor to have you back if ever returning to Cluj, we will make sure that you will benefit of rewarding rooms rates as we always have special deals in place. Perhaps, with another occasion you will have more time for recreation and you will enjoy the free access to our health center (indoor swimming pool, sauna, fitness room) and the massage service as well.

I would also like to thank you for summarizing the aspects that have not met your expectations completely. Your observations will give us the opportunity to make improvements, where necessary. I have already informed our Housekeeping Manager about your remarks; all mattresses will be verified and where needed, they will be replaced. The bathroom of your room was already inspected by our maintenance staff: a better isolation of bathtub was done, so that cause of water leakage was terminated. Indeed, as you correctly stated, to use a top sheet is not common practice here. On the other hand, we are always willing to find out more about our guest’s preferences: thus, if we would have known earlier about this, we may have prepared a second sheet in the room, for your convenience. For all that, I sincerely hope that the lack of the top sheet did not cause too much inconvenience for you. Among toiletries that we are daily provide to our guests’ there is also a 2in1 shampoo/conditioner; the chambermaid who was responsible for maintaining cleanliness of your room will be questioned in this matter. Kindly ask you to take into consideration the fact that this sort of negligence does not normally happened.

I appreciate your honest feedback, which enables us to continue with the Opera Plaza standards of service for all our Guests or make improvement if necessary. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the Opera Plaza in a near future where we can meet or exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    86
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
38
11
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We spent few days in July 2012 as part of our heritage trip to Romania and it was a most pleasant stay.
We enjoyed the swimming pool and the staff recommendations for visiting the city were useful.
Breakfast was delicious. Not your jet set 5 stars but truly old time Central European experience.Nice rhythm break.
My teenage children were delighted.

Room Tip: We were advised to book an apartment for two grown-ups and 3 kids. It came out as a good deal an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 84Andrea84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Opera_Cluj, Front Office Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear Andrea,

I want to take this opportunity to thank you for your review and for the maximum scores that you have awarded us with on the TripAdvisor website. It is always such a delight to hear that our guests enjoyed their time with us.

It is a contentment to hear that you were satisfied by the staff`s attitude towards our guests, by the information they have provided and that you have enjoyed our services and facilities: breakfast service, the indoor swimming pool and the accommodation proposal.

On behalf of our entire team here at the Opera Plaza Hotel we would like to thank you for your kind thoughts and we truly hope that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BELGIUM
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I have been staying several times in this hotel. It is not a big 5 star complex but rather a small hotel. All personel is very friendly and professional. They do give you all the attention you need.
The rooms are big and comfortable. The free wifi does not work in every room but there is internet by cable available. The bathrooms are very nice and very clean. I did not try any other hotel in Cluj yet. So I am not sure this hotel is the best option. But I can assure it is a good option.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PR-INTERIORS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Opera_Cluj, Front Office Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Dear guest from PR Interiors,

I would like to express our gratitudine towards yourself for having chosed to stay at the Opera Plaza every time when traveling to Cluj. Furthermore, on behalf of the property that I represent, I would like to say "Thank you" for your time taken to submit your review about Opera Plaza.

It means a lot to us that you have enjoyed the attitude of my colleagues, the room dimensions as well as the cleanliness. Concerning the Wi-Fi Internet, thank you for informing us about the connectivity inconvenience that you have experienced sometime during your repeated stays and let me mention the fact that we are now at the stage of improving and adding extra access points on every floor of the hotel in order to obtain a better signal. I hope all will be in place for your next stay with us.

Once again, thank you kindly for your high scores that you have awarded us with and for the positive review. It is always the feedback of our guests what enables us to continue with the Opera Plaza standards of service for all our Guests or make improvement if necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Al Jahra, Kuwait
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

My stay in this hotel for a week was more than comfortable. Although not "5 star" by usual Western standards, this hotel is clean and comfortable. Boutique in size, it also has a pleasant atmosphere. The staff are lovely and whilst they don't tend to anticipate your needs, once asked they are more than accommodating. Most of the staff have very good English skills and those that don't try their best and will find an English speaking colleague. Free wifi is available throughout the hotel.

The rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained. Fluffy bath robes and slippers are provided. The window in my room also opened which scores extra points from me as I like the fresh air.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfast buffet is simple but you are more than able to find something to begin your day. Freshly squeezed orange juice and omelettes made to order are available. The room service menu is extensive and the quality of food is very good; prices are very reasonable also.

Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank middlefennell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Opera_Cluj, Front Office Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Ms. Fennelly,

It was our greatest pleasure to have you here as our guest. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review as well as for the high scores that you have awarded us with and the kind words. We are always grateful when we receive feedback from our Guests, as it gives us the opportunity to continue the level of service that we provide, or make improvements, if necessary.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed the cleanliness of the room and of the hotel in general, especially taking into consideration the fact that this is one of our priorities and we strive to maintain it at a high level, as we are well aware that it is an important aspect to all travelers. Furthermore, thank you for appreciating the atmosphere, the size of your room, the Wi-Fi connection and the endeavor of our staff. Ahead, we will do our best to try and better respond to our guests' needs and improve the English level for those who need it. I do hope that we were able to offer you sufficient options for breakfast as you have had a long stay; when you will be back next time-which we sincerely hope will happen- if you will not find what you wish for that morning or if you would like to have something in particular, just let us know and we will try to provide it on the spot for you.

I wish you to have a safe trip back home and we truly hope that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

More expensive than most hotels in Cluj but probably one of best upscale options in the city. First room had no wifi access, we were moved right away to another room. Excellent breakfast buffet with made to order omelettes, AC worked well given terrible July heat, indoor pool, free underground garage, everything spotless and new, good central location. Would definitely recommend it. Helpful staff!

Room Tip: Larger rooms facing street don't receive WiFi signal, take one on the hall even if you have to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Ms. Avery,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you and your family for choosing to stay with us while traveling to Cluj. Moreover, the high scores that you have awarded us with on the TripAdvisor website as well as the kind words are greatly appreciated. We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied by our breakfast service that you have found it to correspond to your needs, the location of the property and its other facilities such as the free underground parking, the AC and the indoor swimming pool. Should you ever return to Cluj, we sincerely hope that you will stay at the OPERA Plaza once again. We will make sure that you will benefit of our special loyalty room rates, special upgrades to superior rooms and anything else needed so that your stay will be a memorable one.

Concerning the WiFi signal, indeed at times when the hotel is fully occupied- as it was when you were here-it works a little bit slower; the wired connectivity can be used at any times without any restriction and it always works flawless. Nevertheless, there is a great need of good wireless connection for the new devices such as iPhone or iPad, therefore I have already informed our IT staff about this and we will make sure to upgrade our WiFi connection so that our guests will not have this inconvenience in the future.

On behalf of our entire staff, I would like to express our gratitude for your honest feedback and we are hoping to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Prices are a bit high but I booked through HRS and got a sweet deal, I had stayed at another hotel & discoveres fleas. Moved to the Opera Plaza. Super nice and accomodating staf. AC could have been stronger but it was 95 degrees for days so it was too much for the system to take.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eckleburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear eckleburg,

On behalf of the property that I represent, I hereby would like to thank you for reviewing your stay with us and for the high scores that you have awarded us on the TripAdvisor website. I am happy to read that your stay at the Opera Plaza was a pleasant one and that you have found the online tariff applied according to your needs. Please may you accept our sincerest apologies for the AC inconveniences, indeed due to the very hot weather outside and the full occupancy of the hotel in the past days, perhaps, sometimes it was not strong enough, as you also suspected. I will let know our technical staff about it in order to make improvements if possible.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the Opera Plaza in a near future where we can meet or exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Just stayed here for one night on a business trip. This hotel is excellent, and the staff are better still. FRONT DESK (Mihaela) was pleasant and most helpful. Porters were attentive, and offered valet parking. Overall- first class!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euroboyLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear euroboyLuxembourg,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us and to take the time to review the property. We are always pleased when we receive feedback from our Guests, as it enables us to continue with the Opera Plaza standards of service for all our Guests or make improvement if necessary. I will make sure to forward your kind thoughts to our front desk staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future, perhaps for a longer stay this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
#1 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Plaza Hotel
City Plaza Hotel
#14 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Paradis
Hotel Paradis
#9 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beyfin
Hotel Beyfin
#10 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Ana Dome
Golden Tulip Ana Dome
#4 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Capitolina City Chic Hotel
Capitolina City Chic Hotel
#3 of 56 in Cluj-Napoca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Plaza Hotel

Property: Opera Plaza Hotel
Address: Strada General Mosoiu Traian 10 - 12, Cluj-Napoca 400132, Romania
Phone Number:
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
#7 Business Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Opera Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Opera Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Plaza Hotel Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing