We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back to the 80s”
Review of Opera Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Opera Plaza Hotel
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“back to the 80s”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a comfortable hotel with a good position in relation the centre of Cluj-Napocca. It's 5 star rating is somewhat inflated and it has a charming 80s feel to the decor. It reminded me of a modest hilton hotel of the late 70s. Our room was standard and it was huge. The breakfast - as other reviewers have identified - is very good and the omelette chef a great asset. True too, as others have noted, the reception staff seem a bit bored and cold. The front bar staff were a bit better but bear in mind that the drinks are overpriced by Cluj standards - it would be cheaper to catch a taxi to Simon's bar and drink all afternoon than to order 2 rounds at the Opera Plaza. There is a dated indoor swimming pool but that would be an asset if you have small children.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor which meant no lift, we could use the stairs, we thought this a gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WernMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlad B, Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your visit and your positive review. We appreciate your feedback which allows us to continuously improve.
On behalf of the Opera Plaza team, we are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    93
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
21
40
12
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The room was ok for a hotel of this rating. Strange 'trying-to-be-a-jacuzzi' type of shower (even though we had requested a bathtub).
The kitchen staff were great, especially the breakfast staff. Very welcoming, very nice, so accommodating. Breakfast buffet was ok, not large, but fresh fruits, eggs cooked the way you like them, cheese and ham, as well as lots of cakes!
The receptionists looked bored out of their tree - I'm pretty sure they were surfing away, ducked under their counter. They didn't seem very accommodating overall.
Swimming pool was down a very steep winding staircase, warm air, lukewarm water. They have a little gym and massage therapists as well.
Nice hotel overall.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cloaoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlad B, Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your choice to stay with us and thank you very much for your feedback. It helps us a lot to improve and better meet your needs with the occasion of your next visits.
We are looking forward to meeting you again in Cluj Napoca.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucharest
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I spent a night at this hotel, during a business trip. I enjoyed everything at this hotel: big & clean room, confortable bed and very good food. The staff is very polite. I do recommend this hotel! And, even if I'm not a smoker, there is good news for smokers also: they have rooms where you can smoke inside. :-)
Also, if you come by car you have plenty of parking places in front of the hotel. The internet is also very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mihaela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlad B, Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your positive thoughts. We appreciate your recommandation and are working hard to meet your expectations with every occasion.

We hope to see you again in the near future and offer you an even better experience with Opera Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US, Barrington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Just spent two nights there. Always look forward to going back when I visit Cluj. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms which are always extremely clean. Food is top notch - comparable to any fine dining restaurant in the world. Also an awesome location - easy walk to the city center which also has a lot to offer. A winner!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlad B, General Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Firstly, on behalf of the Opera Plaza Team we would like to thank you for your review and your kind words. We are continuously trying to offer the best experience to our guests and it is very pleasing to hear such samples of satisfaction.

I would personally like to thank you and welcome you with the occasion of your next visit, it is our custom to create long term relationships with our guests.

Kind Regards,
Vlad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week on business. Hotel lobby is lovely - nicely decorated and a decent sitting area/bar. Staff were friendly around the place, the room was clean and a decent size. I ate one night and food was pleasant. Location is good-right near the city centre

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Imrarelylate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlad B, General Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for you review because your level of satisfaction regarding the Opera Plaza Experience is our major concern.

It is with your help that we manage to continuously adapt to our customers'needs and build long-term relationships.

We are looking forward to seeing you again with the occasion of your next visit and once more thank you for sharing your experience with us


Kind Regards,
Vlad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was my first visit to Cluj-Napoca. The staff made a positive, favorable impression, from check-in, at the restaurant, the meeting rooms and check-out/calling for a taxi. It looks like some updating is going on throughout the facility. The room / bathroom were clean and large, the room was quiet. Internet worked well. There is a small bar/lounge opposite the check-in desk in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlad B, General Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Sir,

On behalf of our team, I thank you for you review. We are pleased to hear of a pleasant first impression and I promise that we shall leave room only for better experiences with the occasion of your next visits.

We are looking forward to seeing you again, and once more thanking you for sharing your Opera Plaza experience.

Kind Regards,
Vlad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Hotel is in a quite location which is in walking distance to the city square and its attractions. The staff were very helpful and the property is in excellent condition. Our room was spacious and well equipped. There are a variety of eating places within easy walking distance from the hotel. The variety of food at breakfast and the service is amazing. We would rate it as the best breakfast we had in our four weeks of travel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BendigoJandK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlad B, Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review. In our quest to offering more than services, which we define the Opera Plaza Experience, your input is the most valuable.

We have made continuously efforts to raise the level of our breakfast and we really enjoy sharing your appreciation.

We are looking forward to seeing you again with the occasion of your next visit and once again thank you for your kind words.

Kind Regards,
Vlad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
#1 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
413 reviews
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hiton Cluj - City Plaza
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#7 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Paradis
Hotel Paradis
#9 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beyfin
Hotel Beyfin
#10 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
229 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Ana Dome
Golden Tulip Ana Dome
#5 of 55 in Cluj-Napoca
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Plaza Hotel

Property: Opera Plaza Hotel
Address: Strada General Mosoiu Traian 10 - 12, Cluj-Napoca 400132, Romania
Phone Number:
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
#7 Business Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Opera Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Opera Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Plaza Hotel Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing