We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive hotel”
Review of Opera Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Opera Plaza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Cluj-Napoca
Reviewed 28 July 2009

I stayed there in July 2009 for 3 days during a business trip in Cluj.
Even if this is the most expensive hotel in Cluj it is not a 5 star one but more like a 4 star in a Western city (e.g. Barcelona). However it is very clean and the personnel is very helpful speaking good English.
The room is large but could have more furniture. The Internet connection did not work even if I am a technical guy.
Bathroom is huge but the bathtub had mold even if the hotel is quite new (2 year old). Also the bidet was missing. The consumables were good and the towels very clean.
Breakfast was rich but the food was of poor quality (cheap staff from supermarkets). The croissants were good though.
I wish I had received at least once a welcome chocolate but they did not offer such things. The minibar was extremely expensive. Cheap drinks can be bought from a shop at the street corner.
Location is a 15 minutes walk to the city center but for the famous local restaurants you should get a taxi from the nearby taxi station.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StevenBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Opera_Cluj, Front Office Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Dear TripAdvisor member,
Thank you for taking the time to write us regarding your stay at our hotel. We note that, although, you recognized the cleanliness and the quality of staff during your stay with us, you were not happy with the value for money you received. Please accept our sincerest apologies for all the inconveniences you were caused.
As for the general hotel condition, we are delighted to inform you that from your stay in 2009, we have made improvements regarding the room and bathroom conditions, breakfast menu is now very rich and it has good and healthy products... and we still have the freshly baked croissants which are delicious. Indeed there is no welcome chocolate in the rooms but now we do welcome our guests with coffee and tea making facilities in all the rooms or fresh fruit baskets.
Thank you once again for your feed-back, it has helped us to improve our services, and we sincerely hope that you will give us another chance in the future, so that we can restore your faith in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2009

We spent four days with my friends and everythings were great.. Peacefull faces, smiling faces, delicious food and large and well furnished rooms. Thanks Opera Plaza Cluj..

Serdar

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IzmirSerdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Opera_Cluj, Front Office Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Dear TripAdvisor member,

We are very happy to hear that in the past you have been fully satisfied with your stay. also thank you for the high scores you have awarded us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

It was nice to find Indian cuisine in Cluj at a business hotel. The chef in person came to greet us and prepare a specialty in front of me and my partners.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceramics_Cec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

A central located hotel, excellent view of the old city, spacious rooms and comfortable beds, friendly and attentive to my requests staff, great salads and the list can go on.
I truly recommend this hotel as a high standard hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank palmira86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Opera_Cluj, Front Office Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you for taking the time to write us regarding your stay at our hotel and for your recommendation. We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay and that our location was to your convenience.
Once again, we want to thank you for your comments. We are looking forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Very small room, no towels in room, worn out furniture, disappointing breakfast, the most expensive hotel where I stayed in Romania but the worst! The staff was poorly trained and mannered. Maybe a three star...

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank cs219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Opera_Cluj, Front Office Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2011

Dear TripAdvisor member,
Thank you for your review, we always appreciate hearing from our guests as this helps us to improve. We regret to learn of your dissatisfaction with our hotel.
What I may say regarding the room dimension is the fact that, depending on the room type reserved, the room allocated to a guest may be larger or smaller. Please rest assured that now, we always verify with the guest after check-in if they are happy with the room they have and if they are not, we are doing everything possible to change their room with one that will be to their liking. As regard to the breakfast, we are continuously taking into consideration guests` suggestions and we try to provide a healthy and rich breakfast every morning. Also, I would like to mention that the bathrooms are always equipped with minimum two sets of towels and that every three months we are doing an employee evaluation to be sure that our staff provides the best service possible to our guests.
We are looking forward to better serve you again at the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

The rooms were clean, large with satisfactory en-suite facilities.

The restaurant - belagio - was ok - but certainly not 5* - more like 3*. Breakfast was poor - quite basic - I would have liked to see some more traditional food. The nearest to that was 'hunters sausage' which was basically a poor sausage chopped up. The coffee was also poor - out of some machine where you popped the sachets in (5*??)

The room smelled of smoke all night - so I kept the windows open - and of course the mosquitoes love that! I am going back for a second visit (company standard) but if it has not improved then I will look for an alternative from then on.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ITConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2008

It is not a hotel for no smoking persons!!! The room is full with smoke all night from the casino situated on the 2-nd floor (from 5). It is a long way to 5*! They tryed but ...
Next time I will look for another Hotel in Cluj!

Stayed: May 2008
3  Thank clujBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Opera_Cluj, Front Office Manager at Opera Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
I am sorry to hear about the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us in the past. I would like to mention the fact that the Casino that used to function in the hotel was closed over a year ago, therefore the smoke issue was solved. Likewise we now have separate rooms areas for non-smokers and smokers too. We appreciate your feed-back and hope this will not be an issue for any of our guests in the future. We strive to provide our guest with the best experience. Therefore, we hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cluj-Napoca hotels
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hiton Cluj - City Plaza
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
Hampton by Hilton Cluj-Napoca
#1 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
439 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#8 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beyfin
Hotel Beyfin
#10 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lol et Lola Hotel
Lol et Lola Hotel
#2 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Cluj
Ramada Cluj
#15 of 57 in Cluj-Napoca
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Plaza Hotel

Address: Strada General Mosoiu Traian 10 - 12, Cluj-Napoca 400132, Romania
Phone Number:
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Northwest Romania > Cluj County > Cluj-Napoca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
#7 Business Hotel in Cluj-Napoca
Price Range: £77 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Opera Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Opera Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Plaza Hotel Cluj County/Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing