We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where are the 4th and 5th stars ?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plaza V & Plaza V Executive Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Tirgu Mures
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Where are the 4th and 5th stars ??

The hotel and the room are ok. But ok for a medium 3 stars hotel.

Hotel Plaza V business is very far to be a palace ! The room was clean and design, but little and the "design" is cheap and looks more "Ikea" style than one of a great designer (plastic deco and plywood furnitures) ... The minibar is just in the middle of a wall, not hidden. There is no table in the room : just a mini desk under the TV, and there is no closet to put your clothes but just a little open space with a few hangers.

The bathroom is little and there's no bath. When you take a shower, the water flows on the bathroom's floor and it's wet everywhere. The ground is leaning toward the room instead of toward the shower, so all the water flows in direction of the room and the carpet in the entrance of the room was totally soaked.

There was no air conditioning in the room so I went to the reception and the person told me that it was normal... so we had to spend the night with open windows on the largest square of the town : cars passing under our window all the night, so just impossible to sleep at all. I asked if they had ear plugs, but they didn't.

We had a double room with matrimonial bed : the blanket was so little that just one of us could use it. So we asked a second one. The person who came to our room just brought a blanket but no sheet. I went down again to the reception to ask for sheets. The person at the reception told me that it was a mistake of his colleague (who was very young and apparently was not a housekeeper normally), then called him and shouted on him in front of me, which I found really aggressive, intolerant and not professionnal.

We heard the voices of the people in the room next to ours until very late in the night as the sound goes through the walls really easily.

The Spa : we tried 2 jacuzzis and the water was stinking shimmer. Then we went to the "Finnish" sauna. A sauna is supposed to be a place where you can relax. The sauna at Hotel Plaza V had flashing light like in a disco, and there was loud cheap "techno dance" music... exactly the opposite of a relaxing place. The wood on the floor was rotten.

This hotel doesn't deserve 5 nor 4 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fiticure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Plaza V & Plaza V Executive Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and spoke English, which was a plus, and they were quick to ensure that we got our bags and settled into our room. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was nice - but a little on the small side.

The breakfast consisted of a good selection of meats, breads, fruits, and other dishes like omelettes, and was served in the ground floor restaurant. I think that even the pickiest eaters would like something from the breakfast, even small children. She liked the cereal and toast with Nutella.

The gym was pretty well equipped. While it wasn't as big as other gyms that I have been to, it had a few treadmills, weights, and a smith machine. It was air conditioned too. The only weird thing is that I had to take a different elevator to get to the gym as the regular one didn't go down to that floor. No big deal though.

The only thing that I didn't like was the lighting in the hallway. Some people might like it - I don't know how to describe it, but it was lit with coloured lights that changed every day or so.

I don't remember how much my husband paid for our 3 night stay but he said that it was a very good value for the money. I'd return for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrisAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel and it's rooms are fancy in design and lighting. Who expects a classical 5* hotel is on wrong place.
Being more then normal design, surely will not be appreciate by everybody. We loved it and stayed twice in different designed rooms. The rooms can be chosen on a touchscreen in the lobby.

The staff is extremely helpfull, highly qualified and friendly

The breakfast is outstanding. We ate the best Eggplant-Salad ("vinete") from the whole journey.

This hotel receives a clear "recommendable" on our list

Room Tip: Try to get an Internetbooking with prepayment at a 50% discount!. Perfect and fair deal!!!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junix02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Arrived from London and on check in was offered an upgrade for an extra Euro 30 - I got a large suite - comfortable if a little strange in layout and colour - the reception staff were friendly - the welcome note English did not make sense - a google translation ! Although the spa was billed to be open when I tried to go it was closed for a wedding party - although no one bothered to tell the other guests - weddings is big business for them and that is how they make money - I did not eat in the hotel as weddings took over Friday and Saturday by which time I had found good little eating places all down the street - B/fast had a nice presentation but the offering was poor - the rolls were not fresh - the eggs cooked hours earlier - would I come back - no I would not - poor value for money - after all this is a small town in the north of Romania - it's not Bucharest - it is billed as an executive hotel which it is trying to be but it is all plastic / purple carpets and bright lights - it is missing a heart and soul !

Room Tip: Get a view on the 5 th floor
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOPCAT010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Don't get me wrong, there is lots I don't like about the hotel and I wouldn't stay here by choice, but they do get many things right. There is an excellent and attentive concierge when you arrive, and the staff are very polite and friendly. The breakfast is excellent and the menu in the evening looks extensive. the rooms are OK and much better equipped and appointed than the sister hotel (Business and Conference Hotel) on the outskirts of town. Well located its a good base for whatever you're here for.

What isn't good is the bonkers design, the painfully slow elevator, the VERY smoky café/pub (which stopped me from staying inn there) and the uncomfortable twin bed pushed to be a double(Maybe I was just unlucky?). Thankfully there was a non-smoking part of the restaurant but Romania needs to understand it can no longer smoke it's visitors like a kipper and expect us to enjoy. Especially now you're part of the EU.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wellpastit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The room was beautiful, the only downside is the lack of parking spaces. They could also provide toothbrush + toothpaste and a bathrobe. Food was ok, if you are not pretentious, otherwise go somewhere else :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank at5starsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I wanted to surprise my boyfriend and I actually did, with the Romantic Weekend package! I couldn't decide better, because we received a great room - with a beautiful design. Of course we had a magnificent massage , a very delicious romantic dinner in our room and a very tasty breakfast – to mention with champagne. It was exactly what we wanted: professional service, smiling people and great facilities! We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ava L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tirgu Mures hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel PRIVO
Hotel PRIVO
#1 of 12 in Tirgu Mures
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Tirgu Mures
Continental Tirgu Mures
#10 of 12 in Tirgu Mures
119 reviews
2.1 mi away
Business Hotel
Business Hotel
#4 of 12 in Tirgu Mures
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#3 of 12 in Tirgu Mures
58 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arena
Hotel Arena
#6 of 12 in Tirgu Mures
26 reviews
3.5 mi away
Apollo Wellness Club
Apollo Wellness Club
#5 of 12 in Tirgu Mures
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza V & Plaza V Executive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza V & Plaza V Executive Hotel

Address: Piata Trandafirilor, 46 - 47, Tirgu Mures, Romania (Formerly Transilvania Hotel)
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Mures County > Tirgu Mures
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tirgu Mures
Price Range: £53 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza V & Plaza V Executive Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plaza Hotels warranty consists of facilitation of a unique experience to every visitor regardless of frequency of visits. We assume the responsibility that every time you get to stay at the Plaza you will be overwhelmed and pleasantly surprised. Ground Zero of Targu Mures hosts this revolutionary and new hotel. The diversity of rooms, their uniqueness, innovation and revolutionary design, opens a new concept, unique in Romania. Our guest will be able to interactively choose the room that wants to spend time in, will be impressed with a new approach to gastronomy and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza V & Plaza V Executive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza V & Plaza V Executive Hotel Mures County, Romania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing