We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“in the center and quiet”
Review of Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Hotel
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Timisoara
Reviewed 2 August 2013

we spent 2 nights in july my wife and i
it is just in the center very easy to find and go anywhere by foot
staff speaks english or french
it is very quiet if you ask a room not on the street
breakfast not very good and poor

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marccourboulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed at Cetral hotel in 2008 and came back in 2013. This should be in itself a good recommendation. If you do remember that this is a TWO stars hotel and you really treat it like that, then it is all you can and should expect: really central, spot clean, staff is polite, friendly, helpful without over doing it. As I wrote in the beginning, we did it twice and we shall do it in the future. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Florin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The hotel is very well located in the centre of Timisoara. Rooms are small but clean. Inspite of the central location it is very quiet. The staff are helpful. The hotel is lacking in character, but is reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeWells90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

The staff were very helpful and friendly, but they were let down by the rooms which were rather small and cramped (we had a standard double) and an irritating lighting system in the hall/bathroom which had no manual switches but were instead motion activated. Good location close to the main square. The cleaner was lovely and cheerful, and even though we shared no common language, we chatted away.

Room Tip: Try to get a larger / more expensive room than the standard offering!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank screenname186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed in a suite with jacuzzi. We were delighted with the room, it looks better than on pics and was perfect in every way :))) There is an integrated jacuzzi in the middle of the room, a great double bed, fantastic view, small bar next to jacuzzi and it all looks stunning. Who ever designed this room is a genius :)) both my partner and I agreed that its one of the best rooms we aver stayed in. The staff were so lovely, we slept in and missed the agreed check out time by 2-3 hours but the staff sorted it all out without any issues and made us feel great.

Room Tip: room 102 :))
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I am writing this review to share a nice discovery I made recently.
Trying to combine a business-caused trip with St. Valentine, I asked my husband to join me for a weekend in Timisoara and I started looking for accomodation. Time for a quick confession: I have a thing about water – in my travels I like to be close to a pool or spa or even a jacuzzi tub if I can. That’s how I stumbled upon a little gem: the one and only “apartment” in the whole Central Hotel in Timisoara that has a jacuzzi tub in the room. Yes, you read correctly, in the very room, not in the bathroom. And it’s big enoughy for two people. A rarity in Romania, such a room incredibly can be found in what seems like an otherwise perfectly ordinary business 2* hotel.
The room itself is appointed a little over the 2* standard and it is large and airy, albeit the decoration seems kind of stuck in the 80’s or so... But with everything functional and a very comfortable bed, you tend to forgive what doesn’t bother you. For instance the old humongous CRT rear-projection Sony TV set that we tried out of the pious curiosity you’d have in a museum – the image was blurry and stained, poor thing, (my geek hubby says it was because of the mirror inside being covered in smoke and dust over the years). But since we’re not TV viewers, we didn’t mind in the least.
Other than that, the hotel is modest but clean and the staff is amazingly kind, helpful and always smiling. Parking is for a fee (public city parking maintained by the city hall, not owned by the hotel), but it is guarded 24/7 and at least it exists right in front of it, which is rare with a hotel in the very heart of the city. (And yes, location is very much one of the strong suits of this hotel if you’re into getting acquainted with the town center as we were). Breakfast is sort of an “a la carte” system where you order from a menu and you’re allowed a maximum of 5 free items / day / person. A little stingy, we thought (when the menu syas “soft boiled egg”, that is what you get: 1 egg), especially if you tend to make it your main meal of the day (which we do) but at least everything is excellent quality.
A special note for the lighting design of the room: rarely have I seen so much care and attention to detail in this respect, from tall floor lamps to spots encased in the flooring, everything is there to create a pleasant atmosphere.

Room Tip: There is really only one room we've tried: one of the two "suites" (junior suite type...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ioana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This hotel is very close to the middle of the city of Timisoara. Everything is in walking distance. The hotel is average, the rooms are ok. The breakfast is served and you have to wait for quite a bit of time. You can choose something from a menu, it was included in our rate.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
Thank chocolat_girl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timisoara hotels
0.2 mi away
Timisoara Hotel
Timisoara Hotel
#3 of 49 in Timisoara
399 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Timisoara
NH Timisoara
#1 of 49 in Timisoara
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
North Star Continental Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#5 of 49 in Timisoara
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa del Sole
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#36 of 49 in Timisoara
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Address: Str. Lennau 6, Timisoara 1900, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Western Romania > Timis County > Timisoara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Timisoara
Price Range: £34 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing