We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First of many”

Timisoara Orthodox Cathedral
Ranked #1 of 56 things to do in Timisoara
Certificate of Excellence
Taree NSW Australia
Level Contributor
354 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“First of many”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We visited this orthodox cathedral with our guide, as part of a tour. It is a very impressive building, located at the end of the pedestrian mall in Timisoara. The day we visited, a long queue was forming to view a relic, but this did not impede our visit. It is typical of all the orthodox churches and cathedrals we visited, very well preserved and beautifully decorated, Well worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    147
    25
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Agoura Hills, California
Level Contributor
459 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Impressive architecture and meaningful”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Very impressive architecture and the square around it is also meaning to the history and freedom of the Romanian people.
The revolution against the communist system in Romania started in Timisoara. Timisoara is considered by many to be the spiritual capital of the country. It is a symbol of the revolution (and) it is a symbol of freedom.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dragon789wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice architecture for an orthodox Cathedral”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I'm from Romania, and I'm also an orthodox guy. For me, this Cathedral is a very special place in my country. It's located in the middle downtown of Timisoara, Romania. You can also relax after visiting the church in the nearest park, from which you can admire the architecture of the building. Go there. You will be very very impressed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CCTimisoara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATHENS
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very impresive architecture”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I was outside the cathedral Sunday morning beginning my tourist walks around Timisoara. The cathedral was full with all kinds of people, Romanians, tourists, poor, rich, young, older etc. The place is full of energy giving a meeting point to the local society. Being in a big park is the perfect place to relax and admire the temple.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AthensTasos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A peaceful place in a crowded area”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I visit this church from time to time just to admire it. Once inside, you'll hear that all the noise of the city is gone and you can have a peaceful and quiet moment with yourself. It's open most of the time during the day; by night you can only admire how it is illuminated.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lg21ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Timisoara Orthodox Cathedral also viewed

 
Timisoara, Timis County
Timisoara, Timis County
 

Been to Timisoara Orthodox Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing