We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic place to stay 15 mins walk to metro” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basilica Hostel & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Basilica Hostel & Hotel
Ranked #583 of 1,423 Speciality Lodging in Moscow
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Basic place to stay 15 mins walk to metro”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed 1 night before heading off to the trans-Siberia train. Located in a quiet street 15mins away from Kitay Gorod metro. I booked a double room to myself, it has plenty of room but is basic, as are the showers which are shared. The plus point was that it wa very warm inside to battle off the cold and snow of Moscow winter.
Staff were friendly and there is a woman who appears to be constantly cleaning.

Was a strange smell in the entrance area but I'll put that down to drains.

I wouldn't bring the Mrs here but for a cheaper alternative when all you need is a bed, then it's fine

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingDutchMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    38
    31
    17
    18
See reviews for
15
31
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Moscow is an expensive city, so we settled for a Hostel/Hotel at US$80 a night. We were expecting a Hotel room but due to a mix up with Expedia we ended up with a private room shared bath in the Hostel, for US$10 more we could have had a hotel room with private bath. Our room was OK, spacious with nice big windows, but the shared bath was a pain with limited hot water.

The Basilica is adjacent to an old orthodox church on a side street in a quiet neighborhood, there is an art school just down the street. Across a canal is a Bila grocery store which is great for supplies. The closest subway station is a 15 minute walk, and the Kremlin is 30 min. on foot.
Tanya at reception was sweet but other staff were a bit gruff, this is Russia after all.

The courtyard out back is full of funky artwork and a nice place to have drinks with ones fellow travelers. The shared kitchen was adequate but a bit cramped, we never did get breakfast there.

Overall the Basilica was a good base for exploring Moscow, and compared to other options the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Budget hotel walking distance from Kremlin and subway stations. Staff know English and are very helpful. located in a quiet place next to an old church. Good breakfast and clean rooms. Rooms are small but one doesnt stay too much time in the room so its fine

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2012_sds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

The hotel is in a central location about a 10min walk from Kitay Gorod Metro station and is about a 25min walk from Red Square. Whilst the hotel is close to the metro, make sure you have a map with the street names in Cyrillic as emerging from the metro station can be a little disorientating. The hotel is located on a quiet side street next to a church with a blue bell tower.

The hotel is split into two parts – a hostel block with dorm rooms and shared bathrooms and a separate building for hotel rooms with ensuite bathrooms. The vibe of the hotel is more like a hostel with some private rooms attached.

The room we stayed in (a double with ensuite bathroom) was odd and not appropriate for less mobile travellers as the bed was on a loft accessed via a ladder. Not sure if all rooms are loft style. Even with the loft set up the room felt small. Both room and bathroom were clean. In terms of street noise it was quiet but the walls are thin.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank White_T_Shirt_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

+ excellent location within walking distance from Kremlin
+ price (3500 RUB per night for a double room)
+ no street noise, since located in a quiet dead-end-street

renovation works were in progress in early September 2012

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micha4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warmun, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed in a good, well lit room with a good, freshly renovated bathroom attached.
No flyscreens which can be annoying in summer!

Our 6 month old child was accepted without question.
'Left luggage' service available - though little space, unlocked, not suitable for valuables.
Shared kitchen area was small but OK.
No other issues at all.

Quiet area, a bit out of the way. As others comment, a bit of a walk to the metro, but no major obstacles if you allow enough time.
Good supermarket nearby.

One annoyance: staff were unwilling to register our passports/tourist visas and advised us to get this done elsewhere. This just deferred the problem. This may just reflect the complexity of the task, but a reputable hotel/hostel should offer to register guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boabnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed here for three nights in May/June 2012. It was fairly easy to find some the Metro stop as there is only one street that really brings you to the hotel. Once you see the Blue Basilica in the pictures you know it is close. My room was comfortable and quiet even though it faced the street, there is no street traffic. I did not have breakfast because I kept forgetting to inform them the night prior, but there is a nice grocery nearby that has fruit and other things. The showers were always clean and I had hot water each morning except one, but I slept in and expected that would be the case. I did have to share a bath, not sure with how many rooms, but it was fine. Wifi was everywhere and free, which is always a plus. Red Square is close, about 15 mins. and the Metro will take you anywhere in no time at all. For the price, it was convenient, comfortable and clean

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abmullins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Zamoskvorechye
Mercure Moscow Paveletskaya
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Four Seasons Hotel Moscow
Hotel Voyager
#196 of 308 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kitai-Gorod
#117 of 308 in Moscow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
City Comfort Hotel
#149 of 519 in Moscow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basilica Hostel & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basilica Hostel & Hotel

Property: Basilica Hostel & Hotel
Address: Serebryanicheskiy Lane, 1a, Moscow 109028, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Basmanny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #583 of 1,423 Speciality Lodging in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Basilica Hostel & Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Basilica Hostel & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing