We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good if your not fussy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TNT Hostel Moscow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TNT Hostel Moscow
Ranked #568 of 1,423 Speciality Lodging in Moscow
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good if your not fussy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Can I start by saying the service we received at this hostel was immaculate and although I don't think Russia is for me everything I needed the hostel helped with/did. We booked a private transfer to the hostel and we were very glad we did as on your own this hostel could be hard to find, however, if you ring when you arrive someone will come down and meet you. The hostel were also very helpful in regards to our visas and as we were only staying 3 days did not charge us to register our visa. We booked a private transfer back to the airport at the end of our stay and again this was sorted quickly. Allow yourself at least 2 hours to get the airport as traffic in Moscow is in the words of Michael McIntire 'a nightmare!'. Taking into account all of the above and the fact any queries about places to visit were always sorted I would say service, for us, was a pro of this place.

Now onto the room: we stayed in a private room so cannot comment on the dorms but as we are not fussy the room served its purpose. It was clean, comfortable and we had a tv. Accommodation in Moscow is really expensive but you know that on booking so can't say they overcharged.

There is only one bathroom and a very small toilet to share between everyone. I would suggest a pair of flip flops as the floor can be a bit sticky. They are a bit smelly but not unbearable. I used the toilet in the shower room mainly as then you could smell shower gel.

All in all a small but perfectly adequate hostel. If you know you are fussy or a complainer it might not be for you but for us it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helenkm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    11
    9
    8
    1
See reviews for
1
10
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

This hostel did the job I suppose, it provided a bed and a tiny kitchen...which was just accessible. The staff seemed distant and unfriendly at times but that may have been the language barriers. It only has one shower too, making it a bit of a nightmare at times!

As for location, you're pretty close to the Kremlin, Red Square and various museums which are great to do in the day, you'll have to prepare yourself for opening times though, as they're quite unpredictable!

I'd say you're quite close to nightlife too, however it can be a right challenge getting in anywhere, as their 'face control' is ridiculous, we were turned away from countless clubs and pubs...so if you're going out, make sure you have plenty if women with you! (Maybe even a 500 RUB bribe if you're desperate)

Overall, like I said, the hostel did the job, we met some cool like minded people travelling and studying which made the stay a bit brighter, the beds weren't the best and the kitchen is tiny, but I guess it's worth the price!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendallsurprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathalbyn, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Great location but staff seemed very lazy. Bathroom (only 1!!!) was filthy! iPhone stolen from room and miraculously reappeared in communal area minus it's cover after complaining to staff. Very difficult to find.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sarzybarzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Moscow hotels

Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

This hostel is a nice place to stay if you can find it. Staff is very friendly, helpful. They've got kitchen, bathroom, and additional (very) small toilet.
Located close to Red Square. You can walk to there from hostel and Kremlin Palace, State Historical Museum and St. Basil's Cathedral.
One disadvantege is it's nearly impossible to find. There is a small hostelworld.com sticker on the door which is very easy to miss.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed here in November. The hostel is very centrally located, easily accessible from virtually anywhere with subway. We stayed at the deluxe room (private bathroom and shower), so I cannot comment on the communal showers and bathrooms - ours was very nice. It was expensive of course, but so are private rooms everywhere in Moscow. Receptionists were nice and wifi worked well, nothing really bothered us.

Except, of course, how to initially find the hotel, as many have said before. If we hadn't written down the exact directions from one of the comments on the website, I don't know how we would have found it. Is it somehow forbidden to but even a small sticker on the front door? Otherwise a nice experience.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rosettaxv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celje, Slovenia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

It is walking distance from Kremlin (15 min). It is a bit tricky to find beacuse it is not marked on the street and it occupies one floor (6th, if I'm not mistaken) in the multifloor old building.They have only one double room with en suite bathroom and one twin room with shared bathroom. Others rooms are dormitories. I have booked double room. It was completely adequate for our needs. Clean and safe. The staff was nice and informative. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prevajalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Overall decent experience.
Two minus points:
1) Almost impossible to find. House has no signs at all, no names, no bell. Needed to ask some from a shop in the basement to let us in.
2) Just one shower and an additional toilet for a max occupation of 24 people.

Place was quite booked, so taking a shower was not really easy. Quite noisy at night. Kitchen is okay. We stayed in agroup of 3 but got just one key. Mattress is a cheap one from IKEA, not really comfortable, but with the additional blanket it's getting better.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Godunov Hotel
#100 of 308 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Tverskaya
Peter I
Peter I
#43 of 308 in Moscow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Tverskaya
Hostel Bolshoi
Hostel Bolshoi
#16 of 1,423 in Moscow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Presnensky
Novotel Moscow City
Novotel Moscow City
#26 of 308 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#12 of 308 in Moscow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TNT Hostel Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TNT Hostel Moscow

Property: TNT Hostel Moscow
Address: Per. Zvonarsky. 5 | 3 Этаж, Moscow 107031, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Philistine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #568 of 1,423 Speciality Lodging in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — TNT Hostel Moscow 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TNT Hostel Moscow is located in the heart of Moscow's historic and cultural center. Just 10 minutes walk from the Red Square and the Bolshoi Theatre and 2 minutes from the Metro Trubnaya. Comfortable rooms, great location, low prices, it's cheap and comfortable accommodation in the center of Moscow. Our hostel is ideal for travelers, backpackers, business travelers employees, small tourist and business groups up to 20 people. The hostel has everything you need for your stay - kitchen, shower room, free WiFi, Internet cafe, reception, luggage storage, laundry facilities, free tea and coffee. Next to the hostel there is a parking lot of cafes and restaurants. All major attractions are within walking distance. Our staff speaks many languages ​​and always happy to help our guests. For the convenience of our guests, we offer transfers and excursions. We offer visa support for our foreign guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your TNT Hostel Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing