We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Not bad but very pricey””
Review of Khajuraho

Khajuraho
Ranked #1,423 of 13,809 Restaurants in Moscow
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Presnensky
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
““Not bad but very pricey””
Reviewed 21 January 2013

First of all Khajuraho is one of the most authentic looking Indian restaurant in Moscow and has a pretty nice varieties of Indian cuisine in the menu and most of them they are really delicious. Besides, the atmosphere is nice and the service is really fast compared to an average restaurant in Moscow.

Nevertheless, the portions are a bit small and very very pricey. In the earlier reviews most of the people were praising the quality/price ratio but the bill was not as I expected. For two people I ordered the dishes; chicken curry, lamb dish called as "exotic lamb", "dal" and two portions of garlic naan, and as a result I paid around 3,000 rubles which is equal to 100 USD.

To sum up, Khadzhurao is like an average Indian restaurant that you can find in London or New York but you have to pay here like 3-4 times more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzyacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    30
    11
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad but very pricey”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

First of all Khadzhurao is one of the most authentic looking Indian restaurant in Moscow and has a pretty nice varieties of Indian cuisine in the menu and most of them they are really delicious. Besides, the atmosphere is nice and the service is really fast compared to an average restaurant in Moscow.

Nevertheless, the portions are a bit small and very very pricey. In the earlier reviews most of the people were praising the quality/price ratio but the bill was not as I expected. For two people I ordered the dishes; chicken curry, lamb dish called as "exotic lamb", "dal: and two portions of garlic naan, and as a result I paid around 3,000 rubles which is equal to 100 USD.

To sum up, Khadzhurao is like an average Indian restaurant that you can find in London or New York but you have to pay here like 3-4 times more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzyacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Fast and hot Indian food”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Always love coming here due to proximity to my place and otherwise also due to excellent service. Plenty of food options and food is served quickly and hot. Taste is authentic Indian (little more buttery than required) and chef can change spice levels as per your taste buds. Have tried all veg and non veg options. One of the oldest Indian restaurants and one of my fav. Would rate it on excellent level and not expensive as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SunilR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
“Still my favourite Indian in Russia”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I love this place and have been going since it opened. With delivery pretty much all over the city makes it a culinary delight right in your home. The management are always great and very helpful. As for the food i am never dissapointed with Dhal and Onion Bhadji being my favourite. If you like it spicy you should ask them to turn up the spice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank afootandahalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Simply, one of the best”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Great, great food and great, great service. Black dahl simply delightful and same goes for the buttered chicken and minced lamb. Mmmm....

Love the the look and feel of the restaurant - the huge couches are great for relaxed, cosy eating.

Don't get hung on restaurant prices in Moscow. You get what you pay for and you're in an insanely expensive city. It's all relative.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank climb8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khajuraho also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Khajuraho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing