We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 22:00
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Moscow Private Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Moscow
from US$35.50
More Info
from US$179.00
More Info
from US$485.00
More Info
from US$69.00
More Info
Reviews (1,097)
Filter reviews
1,094 results
Traveller rating
1,015
60
11
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,015
60
11
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking tour day tour traditional lunch kremlin tour great tour vodka tasting red square hotel lobby russian history kremlin grounds sergiev posad perfect guide great sense of humor spoke very good english informative tour private guide main sights
Filter
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 1,094 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I did a night tour with Svetlana ... she was great in migrating the unexpected traffic due to Putin's leaving from the Kremlin causing jams, and gave me a full run down on all the sites that we were supposed to see, eventhough it took a longer time. She was patient, and informative, and was real and true to herself and the gave me a down to the ground perspectives of Russians. Thank you so much! One more thing, Svetlana has a great smile.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank toni54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Thank you Moscow tours, did 3 days with you first day was with Alexandra for a 1st day in Moscow walking tour, knowledge and attitude were superb, Russian lunch not so good. But Hubby enjoyed, 2nd day was a walking tour with Daria, she has to be the best guide in Moscow, superb, long day as we has a Kremlin Tour, Stalins Bunker and had booked the Gulag Museum, but after 7 hours had had enough so left it at Stalins Bunker, and went for a late lunch on Red square, will have to go back and do the Gulag again, Daria was exceptional, her knowledge and English was superb and we felt quite sad leaving her at the end of the day. Many many thanks Daria. Our last night we did a driving tour which was good went to all the lit up main attractions very pretty 2 hour trip. Would really recommend them all.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank lynntilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

My wife and I took the Sergiev Posad Tour with Private Moscow Tours.

They have a very good and prompt backroom staff who are quick in replying to any queries. We got good guidance from Anna for visa application.

We finally booked only one tour with them though since they're one of the more expensive tour operators. Olga was our guide for the day. How this works is the guide takes you to Sergiev Posad and back by train (one hour plus each way). So, in a six hour tour, close to three hours goes in catching metros and trains. We felt the tour was a bit rushed due to this. There was quite a long wait to get in to see the cathedrals since a guide who is licensed to practice there has to be hired by our guide. Since there were a lot of tourists, this took 25 minutes. Add to that half an hour to walk from station back and forth, hardly two hours are left in the actual attraction.

So, the guide there, Elena, was brilliant in her explanation and thorough in answering anything regarding that place. After the tour which was supposed to be for an hour, but we took a little longer, we had little time to shop for souvenirs there and rush back. I understand this is due to lesser frequency of trains plying to and fro from Moscow.

All through, Olga was patient, helpful and thoughtful helping us shop, never said no to any last minute photo requests, even bought us chocolates for the journey back. She favoured monologues during train journey a bit too much, but that's ok since she was very nice otherwise.

Good tour company, good guide, but this particular tour is a bit time crunched.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Pavan_Jois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Alexandra was very good. Great English, knowledgeable and accommodating. Worth every ruble. Company very easy to work with. You should also use there pickup service, very affordable.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Wood's S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Firstly, I must commend the efficient and quick response by the administrators of this agency. When planning and booking the tours, both the Moscow and St Petersburg tours, Anna was very prompt in her responses and flexible in customising the itinerary to suit us. As such, we had high expectations as we took our first tour, which was the Moscow Night driving tour recently. However, we were shocked when the car arrived. It was a small compact car and looked like somebody's family car. When we got in the car, it smelled awful - full of body odour. It was an extremely stifling experience as most times I had to cover my nose and mouth as the stench was unbearable, especially early on in the trip. Imagine 3 people squeezed in the back of a small smelly car. I don't wish to sound rude but given the high price that we paid for 3 adults for this tour, we expected a more professional delivery of service. The driver did not look professional too. They could have given us a midsized clean car at the minimum (not minivan). On our Kremlin tour 2 days later, the guide was not great either. She was very soft spoken and given that there was only 3 of us, we were still straining to hear her. We later found out that she had a sore throat, as she had an extremely busy full day and night tour the previous day. That accounted for her lethargy too. It was quite a dull and lifeless tour. So, again we are paying premium prices for these tours (we found out that the entry fee only cost 500 roubles per pax or so). So, an additional 6000 RUB for a lethargic guide with a sore throat is not value for money. This led us to review our 3 St Petersburg tours that we had booked and scaled it down to the bare minimum. The guide was excellent for our tour of Peterhof. So basically we relied on the TA reviews, when we booked these tours. Scorecard :1 out of 3 tours was great and similar in experience to the other TA reviews. Maybe, it was just our bad luck.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Bdcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SlavaMoscow, Владелец at Moscow Private Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Dear Chris,

Firstly we would like thank you for the comprehensive review and sharing both positive and negative experience, which we will take into account immediately.
We really appreciate that you mentioned our way of communicating the customers, we do our best to keep up the high standards. It was also great to know that you enjoyed our tour in St Petersburg, as we are the only private tours agency in Russia which manages both Moscow and St Petersburg tours at the same time.

Regarding your complaints and for your critics: as far as we understand the major and the most critical point was the car size.
To be honest we were really surprised to get the comment like that about the car size, as we offered you a bigger car at the stage of planning the tour but you insisted on a regular car telling us you would be fine there as you wanted to cut a bit the possible tour costs. Therefore, we were surprised and upset with this complaint, as it doesn’t seem very fair.

As you could see it from your own experience, with a bigger car in St Pete, which you agreed to book after our suggestions it went much more comfortable.

As for the smell in the car - needless to say this is unacceptable. But at the same time, it is quite hard to confirm as this thing is very subjective. Of course, we immediately asked the guide and contacted other customers, who used that car recently, but noone confirmed the bad smell. However, we did take your complaint into account and released a special instruction and warning for the drivers regarding the smell in their cars.

Talking about for the speaking abilities of the guide in the Kremlin - we are really sorry that it affected your tour quality. Unfortunately the voice problem is difficult to predict and the Kremlin rules (which are not set by us) don’t allow to change the guide and require to have the guide’s name confirmed in advance.
Anyway, apart the not very loud guide voice you received the best-in-class service in the Kremlin with the personal guide and skip-the-line tickets for a very good value. I can assure you that you got the best rate in the city for a private guided tour in the Kremlin. Moreover we have never concealed the public rates and believe that going to the Kremlin on your own is an alternative for those tourists, who prefer to cut costs. And our guides help those tourists to get the tickets and always recommend them what shouldn’t be missed when they go on their own without any extra fee.

To assume, we would like to thank you again for your relevant comments, which were noted and respective measures were taken, but we unfortunately can’t agree that your overall mark is fair enough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews