We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
The Moscow Academic Musical Theatre of Stanislavskiy and Nemirovich-Danchenko
Book In Advance
More Info
US$197.33*
and up
Backstage Tour at Stanislavsky and Nemirovich-Danchenko Music Theatre
Ranked #57 of 2,393 things to do in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent productions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stanislavsky Theatre is a very good choice for opera. I have seen about a dozen productions there, they were visually beautifull and musically perfect. It is a good alternative, specially when the tickets to Bolshoi are overpriced and virtually impossible to get outside the black market.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcosH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    31
    0
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
120 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Opera at the "Stan and Dan"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

We went to see Tosca tonight, breaking my rule to watch only Russian operas in Russia. I do this so the sur-titles will be in English if the opera is sung in Russian, and because I like listening to the opera of the country I am in. I am sorry I broke my own rule.
Generally, I like this theatre, and the ballet and opera performed there are solid and professional. I like the intimate size of the theatre and the blue, gold and white color theme. Acoustics are good and the seating is comfortable enough. Programmes are in English and Russian. Decent food is available at intervals.
I like opera but I am not an expert. I thought the singing and the orchestra were good, but not exceptional, and I kept wondering at a blonde Tosca. Italian passion was missing, I thought, as did my companions.
The next opera I go to in Russia will, however, be Russian.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bigger than 'big'.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

In Russian, the Bolshoy Theatre is translated as 'big'. Well, this very theatre is bigger than the big one. Not in direct meaning, of course. It is my opinion. I have been in this theatre many times. I love it!!! The performances there are really great! You will enjoy it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Variety dance show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I saw a beautiful show featuring dances and costumes from many of the former USSR republics. I went with native Russian friends and really enjoyed the fantastic dancing and show. The dancers were excellent!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Went to see Carmen, the atmosphere is great, and the opera was fantastic, silly me did not take into account that its sung in french and surtitles in russian, still an experience

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank gruenchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Moscow Academic Musical Theatre of Stanislavskiy and Nemirovich-Danchenko also viewed

 

Been to The Moscow Academic Musical Theatre of Stanislavskiy and Nemirovich-Danchenko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing