We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst planetarium we've ever been to” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moscow Planetarium

Moscow Planetarium
Ranked #42 of 2,388 things to do in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The worst planetarium we've ever been to”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We always visit planetariums/imaginariums whenever we can during our family trips, but this one was a disappointment. Some installations are our of order, most are absolutely unclear what to do with, no explanations or guides are provided, or they are not very user-friendly. most of the staff is not very friendly, we've only met one staff member who explained the experiments and was nice to us. The organization is poor, when we come in, it is unclear where to turn and which way to go, and the staff is not really willing to answer questions, somostly we felt unwelcome and confused. We were unable to visit some exhibits because to go there you have to buy show tickets, shows are for older kids, not suitable for little ones. There were a couple exhibits at the lunarium which we enjoyed though, so I wouldn't say it wasn't worth visiting, but don't expect too much from it.

Helpful?
2 Thank YuliaGR
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    137
    56
    33
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Novo Mesto, Slovenia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I was really excited about visiting this place because it sounded really amazing in my guide book, but in the end the experience was sour sweet. First of all it was really annoying, because they have about 5 or 6 different halls and each one has it's own fee - and not even all that cheap. My friend and I decided on one - The Lunarium. It has different interactive displays and experiments and it's actually a lot of fun. I'd say the kids love it, but it can be interesting for adults also. It was interesting, but the mess regarding the organisation of the place made the planetarium lose a few points with me. I hoped to see more.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bad Organization”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

I was really disappointed by overall organization in Moscow Planetarium.
- the chaotic queue and a mess in the hall
- bad structure of the excursions: there are common excursions both for adults and children, but continuous questions coming from children leads to diverting the lecturer's attention away, simultaneous guide's speech from every corner refocuses your hearing
- the program "Return to the stars" is not structured and for the common people with lack of scientific knowledge

It's better to have separate programs for kids and adults having different intentions to go to planetarium.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Larissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
1,453 reviews
923 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 753 helpful votes
“Just wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I was truly amazed by the amount of dedication put into refurbishing the planetarium. It's an amazing place where you can easily spend 4 hours without noticing it. The Lunarium consists of two rooms with interactive displays where kids (and adults) can see many physical phennomena explained by experiments. Both me and my husband were running around like children, wanting to try everything. Just amazing. We didn't have much time for Uranium and Star City, but they also seemed very interesting. And the show in Big Star Hall was simply marvellous, I'm seriously looking forward to watching another movies as it's remarkable. Then there's also an interesting display on the terrace of the planetarium.
The building is newly refurbished, everything is nice, clean and new. Staff helpful and friendly, there's a nice cafe and restaurant as well as gift shop with various interesting things to buy. I highly recommend coming here with both younger and older kids and even adults would find the visit very interesting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tinde_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodø
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not very interesting for adults”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

I have attended numerous science museums like that around the globe so I wasn't very impressed. Tickets to the shows are expensive and have to be bought beforehand. Lots of kids here on weekends, so I would say that won't be very entertaining for the adults.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank NewWave69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moscow Planetarium also viewed

Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 
Moscow, Central Russia
Moscow, Central Russia
 

Been to Moscow Planetarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing