We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our needs”
Review of Arbat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arbat Hotel
Ranked #114 of 315 Hotels in Moscow
Kitchener
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Met our needs”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We just had a 3 night stay at the Arbat hotel. Check in was fast and courteous. Porter took bags to our room, and our passport registration was completed in 15 minutes.

Our room was a standard 1 Queen Sized bed with a portable air conditioning unit (which was great considering the heat wave going on there at the time). Had a colour TV with 1 English channel BBC. Room had a safe. Bathroom 3 piece unit - with shower only. Lots of water pressure and hot water. Overall room was functional. It felt a bit dated - but clean. No internet in our room.

Free Wi Fi in the lobby.

Breakfast was included - it was ok - it had all the basics.

Great location to Old Arbat street - and restaurants/vendors. Only minutes to Kremlin by car.

We had a travel broker involved so our rooms were $200 US /night. Posted rates much higher. Seems a bit high even with a broker - but Moscow is an expensive place - I think the 3rd most expensive city in the world - so $200 a night for a decent room and location was pretty good.

Our experience was good - would recommend Arbat Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linesman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    71
    32
    11
    3
See reviews for
10
18
11
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2009

this place was nice, safe and very clean. the staff is friendly and the hostel has a really good location. they can deal with your registration for 800 roubles.
good points : free breakfast, good location, nice common room and bars and restaurants nearby, free internet
bad points : no locker at all, and only 2 showers.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomolleParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

The Arbat Hotel was a pleasant surprise - very clean, plenty of hot water (after travelling on the Trans Siberian this was wonderful!) and in a great position. Just a few minutes from Arbat Street and all its restaurants and shops and walking distance (about 25 mins) to Red Square and the Kremlin. Unfriendly staff? Whilst we found the majority of Russians to be a dour lot, the staff were happy to assist us with our enquiries and one even joked with us! I would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crete
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2008

I stayed there for a week beggining July 2008. Average experience, no service attitude at all except of the businness center guy. Good location but dated hotel. No black out in the rooms. It was bright allready at 04:00 so i couldn t sleep properly.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service attitude
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Yiannis21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Moscow hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

My wife and I stayed in early autumn for 6 nights. We would happily stay again. A corner "junior suite" with separate bedroom, lounge, study/alcove, bathroom and a kind of foyer where the wardrobe cupboards and fridge were located. Very quiet, light and airy and with a comfortable bed and a pleasant courtyard. Good location near Smolenskaya metro, supermarket and restaurants along Arbat Street and a quick metro trip to anywhere we wanted to go.

Breakfast was rather good: all the choice in the world including on most days a special omelette chef. Only negative is that the coffee is the rubbishy US-style brown water, but on the other hand that is common to many hotels.

In our room all very little touched since the 50s at a guess, giving a nice feel. Large bathroom recently jazzed up, but first caution: the shower module in our room was really quite tiny, despite the large room it was in, and was difficult for our small to average sizes - larger people would find it impossible!

The other caution is that internet access - in their "business centre" - is outrageously expensive, as others have noted. But maybe it is a market thing (like the outrageous cost of hotels in general in Moscow) due to the paucity of competition: we discovered it is extremely difficult to find an internet cafe in Moscow and we wasted too much time going to places listed in current edition travel guides or the local phone book to find they no longer exist. There is one half way along old Arbat Steet, but it's very seedy and very surly.

Also as commented, the reception staff are not very cheerful, but who cares and you will soon discover that is pretty standard for (at least) service occupations in Russia. You do start to get a knack for getting past that, however, especially if you have the courtesy to use a few basic Russian words or if you can share a little joke with them - being grinningly hopeless with the coins often works because so many are quite obsessed with being given exact change (is there a terrible shortage of small change - a bit like Italy in that respect?)

  • Liked — Location, quietness, space
  • Disliked — Shower, internet, price (Moscow rates)
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Yaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

This is my second review of the Arbat. After our first trip to Russia (we adopted our twins from the Russian Far East and the process required 2 trips) in March of 2006, I wrote a review and while our stay was not terrible, I vowed I would not stay in a hotel in Moscow that was not part of an American chain. Little did I know how the second trip (taken 8 months later in November of 2006) would find me, yet again, at the Arbat Hotel.
Our second trip to Russia was carefully planned assuming that we would be in Moscow twice ... once on our way to the Far East, and again on our return through Moscow ... the second time with our 6 year old, newly adopted, twin boys in tow. When the judge in our region waived our two week waiting period, our return trip through Moscow was moved up by 14 days. Every American chain was fully booked. Every other "recommended" hotel was also booked. We even tried to find an rental apartment I was so opposed to staying at the Arbat. No luck. So back to the Arbat we went. Now here is the best part of the story: I don't know what we did right this time around, but the room we had at the Arbat in November was terrific! We had a bedroom to ourselves (my husband and I), another room with a large fold-out sofa for the boys (with a TV that had at least 1 channel of cartoons - hooray!), another room with a desk and sofa, a full bath with tub and shower, and a half bath! There was a fridge for sodas we bought on Arbat Street, which was an easy walk from the hotel. The buffet breakfast, included in the rate, was fabulous. A large assortment of Russian and Western style breakfast foods, including fresh fruit, juice, pancakes, eggs, blini, yogurt, pastries, etc. Since we had the boys with us, we needed to get out during the day, and Arbat Street was very entertaining for the kids. Santa and other cartoon characters (costumed adults) strolled Arbat Street as the holiday season approached. McDonalds is also on Arbat Street ... need I say more? A few surly looking characters as well, so keep the kids in sight. While a couple of the reviews posted here mention internet service not being very good, and the mention about the rates, paying in Rubles, etc., etc. are definitely an issue, I cannot comment on those issues as (1) we had no need (or time) to seek out internet availability, and (2) our trip was a necessity to complete our adoption, so we really could not quibble about the cost, etc. Suffice it to say, that if you are traveling to Moscow and the price and location work for you, consider the Arbat. I would request seeing the room first before agreeing to it. And unsmiling desk clerks? Well, just be lovely and polite and smile at them anyway ... they LIVE in Russia; you get to go home.

  • Liked — The room was spacious and the buffet breakfast was plentiful and good
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsCaptainHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2008

Although this is supposed to be a business hotel their internet access is ridiculous, for the first 300 roubles(roughly £6) you get 5MB of data transfer and then you start paying more. If you are planning on using skype or any internet services at all then this is not the place for you.
The hotel itself was absolutely fine and the room was clean and efficient (although decor could do with some updating).
The staff were on the whole dreadful and I would pay special compliment to Irina on front desk for being the worst of the lot - she was surly and unhelpful at all times.
That said, the price of the hotel is very keen compared to many of the other central moscow hotels and the location is excellent.
Caveat Emptor......

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — surly staff and internet access
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank szlwzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Arbat
Arbat House Hotel
Arbat House Hotel
#76 of 315 in Moscow
478 reviews
Khamovniki
Eliseeff Arbat Hotel
Eliseeff Arbat Hotel
#151 of 315 in Moscow
23 reviews
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 315 in Moscow
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Khamovniki
Golden Ring Hotel
Golden Ring Hotel
#33 of 315 in Moscow
721 reviews
Tverskaya
Key Element Hotel
Key Element Hotel
#77 of 315 in Moscow
121 reviews
Tverskaya
Courtyard Moscow City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbat Hotel

Property: Arbat Hotel
Address: Plotnikov Lane, 12, Moscow 119002, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Khamovniki
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 315 Hotels in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arbat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Arbat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbat Hotel Moscow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing