We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, but tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Ranked #13 of 316 Hotels in Moscow
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good service, but tired hotel”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed here for 3 days during January. Ok hotel, very good service, but really tired and too bland for my liking. It is certainly not luxurious and it is quite a push to achieve even 4 stars. The bathroom needs updating and the rooms are really basic. Wouldn't recommend it for the price they charge. At this price bracket there are plenty of other hotels that do what it says on the tag. I got the feeling a lot of people stay there just because they know the name and to collect loyalty points.
On the plus side, It is well positioned within walking distance to all the attractions, restaurants and the tube. But still, it really needs a serious facelift to compete with plenty of other good hotels in the vicinity.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelproLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    269
    39
    19
    9
See reviews for
142
274
60
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
722 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I am in Russia frequently on business and in my opinion there's no better place to stay than 'Marriott Royal Aurora'. Clean, welcoming, inviting, warm, in the centre, main attractions, so many things to do; Restaurants, 'Bolshoi Ballet', museums and many more

Room Tip: View to the main Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Feel like I spend most of my life in a Marriott hotel.... and there are differences across the brand. The hotel was lovely despite what some reviewers have said. Service was good and the room excellent. We made use of the Exec Lounge and because breakfast selection was limited over New Year we were invited to use the main restaurant at no charge..... Good value as breakfast is around £40.
As a base in Moscow it is an excellent location.... a hundred meters from the Bolshoi, opposite UMV and only 10 mins walk from Red Square.

To be fair to other reviewers, the prices are high but so is the rest of Moscow!!!

Room Tip: You wan a room at the back otherwise the road at the front can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam19H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaterinaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your Moscow stay and for your kind feedback.
We do hope to welcome you back to Aurora,

Warm regards,

Ekaterina.

Ekaterina Zhuravleva
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paphos
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed here for New Year Dec 30th to Jan 2nd 2013 - hotel is very centrally located within a stones throw of the Bolshoi Ballet and a short walk to Red Square- Hotel is very classy and the prices match - but then everything in Moscow is expensive. Breakfast is quite extensive and there is more than enough to choose from if you are gluten intolerant, smoked eel, smoked Salmon cold meats, cheeses along with an egg station where a very young girl made me a spinach, onion and mushroom omlette. There is also fruit and typical bacon and eggs etc - no gf bread on offer but I never enquired about it. It would be more of a problem if you were also lactose intolerant.We also had access to the executive lounge where they served small appetisers throughout the day- it all looked lovely but outside of a salad some fruit or cheese there was nothing for me to nibble on- All in all an enjoyable stay here .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnieedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We were at Moscow Royal Aurora for our anniversary this year. Initially, we were going to arrive by morning but since we decided to stay longer at St. Petersburg, we arrived around 8pm after a very comfortable journey by Sapsan and (self) misguided directions within Moscow. So, it was really pleasing that Marriott upgraded us to Junior Suite.

The location is perfect - it is hardly 10 minutes walk to Red Square and Kremlin. It is 5 minutes from the metro station (unfortunately we got down at a station far far away!). The concierge gave us directions to go around Red Square and Kremlin at the night since it is very safe in Central Moscow. I'm glad we listened to him since the next day, it was snowing so heavily, we could hardly enjoy the sights. Our night time stroll was great - the bridges, St. Basil's Cathedral, Ice skating... it was awesome!

The only downside was that smoking was allowed in the lobby (even at the tables marked as non smoking with no one enforcing it) and it was a bit irritating for me as I cannot stand it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sravya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

After staying in different Moscow Marriott's and Courtyards it was the first experience in this hotel. Our arrival was at around noon on Friday - usual time when you take a Sapsan train from St. Petersburg. Upon arrival I was told that our room is not ready yet as the check-in time is 3 PM. I knew this, but honestly did not expect as I NEVER had this problem before during several years of travel to Moscow. I was offered an "upgraded" room for about 150 USD extra a night. When I asked if they would consider to upgrade me for free as an Elite Marriott member, I was told by the front desk manager that they can "sell this room if I do not take it". Due to the meetings I had to go, I took this room, but it was obvious from her tone that they do not care much about the guests - just about the money. Well, after going to the sevenths floor to the room we have found that the room was not ready. After discussion the cleaning lady had with the front desk I had to go down to the reception to claim the keys to the new room, which was nice but had no view at all facing some inner yard. To top this, our keys did not work again when we tried to enter lounge on the fiths floor - and another trip to the reception was guranteed. Other "nice" features of the hotel - over 50 USD for lunch salad and at the breakfast I was told that eggs Benedict had to be ordered from the menue. Again, every omlet station in Moscow was making them with no questions asked. You may want to add smoking in the lobby bar at lunch at almost EVERY table, even with "No-smoking" sign in "no-smoking" area. It was obvious that no one is trying to enforce this. It is a very convinient hotel in the center of Moscow, but at this cost I would recommend something else until its "American" management brings the place to the better standards.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murom, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I've stayed in Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel for 2 days. It is a typical Marriott hotel - clean and very old fashioned. You can find a good room rate over the internet as the rack rates are extremely overpriced. In the room anything worked fine and there is nothing to complain.

The location is nice and convinient to reach the main sights in Moscow. There are a lot of luxury shops on the streets nearby - Louis Vuitton, Cartier, Prada etc. Try also TSUM and GUM shops - they are fully packed with luxury. If you need something more democratic - try the mall under Manezhnaya square (just 1 munut walk from the Red Square). If you seek any places to eat walk along Tverskaya street. Thare are a lot of cafes, bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: ask for rooms on the top floors do not touch anything in th minibar - the prices are about 10x more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aexander_M-1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
Hotel Metropol Moscow
Hotel Metropol Moscow
#10 of 316 in Moscow
3,005 reviews
Tverskaya
Hotel National, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tverskaya
The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 316 in Moscow
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel

Property: Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel
Address: Petrovka St., 11, Moscow 107031, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Tverskaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#8 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#9 Family Hotel in Moscow
#11 Business Hotel in Moscow
#13 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora hotel. It`s the only hotel in Russia provides a butler service to all guests. This luxury Moscow hotel in city center is the perfect base to explore everything this metropolis has to offer. With 232 guest rooms and suites, all day dining Aurora restaurant, famous for Sunday brunches, Polo Club restaurant, the original steak house in Moscow, you will have precious memories of your visit. The lobby bar is an ideal place both for an internal drink or a meeting with business partner. The event management team in Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora hotel has a high level of expertise in ensuring the smooth running of any event. There are 6 meeting rooms, 580sqm of total meeting space in the hotel. Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora hotel offers popular service - outside catering. The hotel is few minutes away from historical places of interest such as Red Square, Arbat street and most popular shopping centers: TSUM and GUM. Warm and welcoming service coupled with fantastic amenities make us a unique Royal hotel in Moscow city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moscow Marriott Royal Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Moscow
Moscow Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing