We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow
Ranked #25 of 327 Hotels in Moscow
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We were attending a sporting event in the Olympic Stadium, which was directly across the street from this Marriott. After much deliberation we decided to stay on the club floor - this included breakfast, light dinner with soft drinks, wine and beer and 24hr internet - the floor was also secure as you required the room key to access the lounge. During our 9 day stay the food was consistently great, the rooms very clean, quiet and comfortable even though a bit small and the staff were friendly and very helpful. We used the free shuttle into Red Square and figured out way back on the subway - metro station is only 10/15 min walk from the hotel and with a fixed 28 ruble fee it is a very cheap way to get around. If we ever get a chance to go back to Moscow I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 487 of 2,514 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

Renaissance Moscow really is a nice 4 star hotel. Rooms on the small size - but ok. The Staff is very friendly and helpfull. The hotel is secure which is important in Moscow. There are not the usual crowd of prostitues in the lobby as You often see in other hotels- That is very nice.
But everything is so expensive. We had dinner in all the restaurants, as we were too tired to go out. And it was a complete rip off! Let me give an example : 2 burgers, 1 salad, 1 softdrink , 1 glass of redwine, 1 small bottle of water. RUB 7500 or EUR 194 .
Two sandwiches bought from the bakery in the hotel lobby : RUB 905 or EUR 23.
I do not understand why the hotel management prefers the restaurants to be empty. And they were empty, only 2-3 tables were occupied. The prices simply scares people away from the hotel, leaving it with a dull atmosphere. And the area does not offer a lot of restaurants outside the hotel, that is a problem. I would like to stay again - if prices for extras were lower.
With the present price level - I certainely will not. I fell robbed !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robchick, General Manager at AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear awssi,

Thank you very much indeed for giving feedback about your experience at the Renaissance Moscow Olympic Hotel. I am particularly pleased to here that you found our associates friendly and helpful, and that you felt safe in the hotel.

With regards the pricing of food and drinks, perhaps you could make contact with me directly as I cannot seem to arrive at the same bill total, based on the items that you listed. It seems that the price you mention is approximatley 50% higher than our menus suggest.

If you could contact me on robert.rudge@marriott.com I would be grateful, and thank you for choosing our hotel for a place to stay during your time in Moscow. Kind Regards, Robert Rudge, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Being far from the centre of the city, the hotel has a regular shuttle to the Red Square and Pushkin Square. However, more shuttles go to Pushkin Square than the Red Square. In fact, if you take the last shuttle to the Red Square, you will have to figure out for yourself the place at the Pushkin Square where the shuttle will arrive.

Breakfast options are as you expect to be at a Mariott property. The Italian restaurant is fantastic but the Russian one could do with a little more variety and decor.

Good for a business trip but for a personal trip you would probably look for a slightly better option

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robchick, General Manager at AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear 'Madban',

I appreciate the time that you took to post a review. The complimentary Shuttle Bus is very popular, and offers an easy option for our guests to be taken to two key spots in the city so that they can explore. Pushkin Square is a very popular drop off point, and it also can be very busy. We try to be consistent with where we pick-up/drop-off, and I will remind my associates to inform our guests of where these points are, so that they can look out for our branded bus.

On a seperate point, today we relaunched many of our menus, including our Russian restaurant 'Transsiberian' - I attended the 'tasting' session with a number of my associates last week - the food really is wonderful and truly represents the culture of Russia.

Again, thank you for your review, and I look forward to seeing you here at the hotel the next time that you are in Moscow.

Rob Rudge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Although it was an almost 4hr painful drive from DME Airport to the hotel, I would say it is worth the effort!

Renaissance Moscow is a beautiful business hotel with friendly staff at hand to assist you at every move. Check-in was very quick and all info needed was provided without having to ask for it i.e. Hotel facilities.

Well appointed, clean and spacious rooms. Plenty of TV channels to watch.
It was obviously cold in March, and the room felt a bit warmer than it should ideally have been,...drawback was it was simply not possible to control the temperature i.e. unserviceable AC.(Room 741).

Smoking and non smoking rooms were freely available, so was the attitude towards smoking throughout hotel. Hotel lobby, restaurants, breakfast room (Vienna cafe) have designated smoking areas. Unlike hotels in most other parts of the world and especially in europe, there is no fuss about smoking which as a smoker I found very accommodating.

Staff are well trained, and polite. Prompt service was provided by "At your service" staff i.e. Room service/Guest services.

Very comfortable beds. Plenty of pillows provided. Some rooms have balconies attached to them.

Room service orders are delivered within 45 minutes or less. Food presentation, quality and quantity are very satisfactory.

Vienna cafe-where breakfast is served at basement level is massive and food items are displayed all over the hall. At times, it is difficult to find "what is where"...however, again staff attentiveness and friendliness here is worth a mention.

Free wifi is available at lobby level in a dedicated area with many plug sockets. Regular free shuttle service is available to city center and back.

Overall, it was a fantastic stay at Renaissance Moscow Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AviatorDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Rudge, General Manager at AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear AviatorDXB,

Just wanted to say thank you for the detailed and great review of our hotel! We look forward to you staying with us again!

Best regards,
Robert Rudge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Very good hotel for a buisness stay in Moscow.
Especially if all other options are taken (both Marriott chain and the others).
Usually, this one is getting occupied last 8-)
Renaissance serves seminar participants and you shouldn't expect a superbly romantic atmosphere there.
Yet, the rooms (small) are all cozy and staff is very helpful.
Bed was very comfy and wiiiiide. Haven't tested the A/C (winter), but it was warm in the room.
Wi-Fi for free in the lobby, but in the room need to pay ($$$ - but does not work as it should...).
Renaissance on Olymiysky Prospekt is farhter from the city center, BUT hotel offers compolimentary shuttle bus to the Pushkin Square and Red Square. I found it very habd since both options give you quick access to the metro system, which is so much appreciated in jammed Moscow.
Bottom line - maybe not the very first choice, but quite good business-oriented hotel int he city with relatively good transportation options.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miramaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Nice hotel. Good beds as usual in Marriotts. Outside town centre. Expensive wi-fi in rooms. Free wi-fi in the lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy-Dandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

thanks to Irina who looked after my comfortable stay and delicious food and best thing they all speak english ... great and it is little far from the red square but preety good and best think you can not open the windows for fresh air..

food is great and caviar at the best.

Room Tip: want to stay away from rush then stay at renaissance and ask for the a nice big room and if upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pjainuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Presnensky
Novotel Moscow City
Novotel Moscow City
#21 of 327 in Moscow
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arbat
Mercure Arbat Moscow
Mercure Arbat Moscow
#6 of 327 in Moscow
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow

Address: Olympiyskiy Ave., 18/1, Moscow 129110, Russia (Formerly Renaissance Moscow Olympic Hotel)
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Philistine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Moscow
#8 Family Hotel in Moscow
#10 Business Hotel in Moscow
#16 Spa Hotel in Moscow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Moscow
Price Range: £50 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow 4.5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow is located next door to the Olympic Complex, 15 minutes from the historic centre, main inter-city railway stations and Aeroexpress terminals, 10 minutes' walk to local theatres. The hotel offers its guests a complimentary shuttle service to the Moscow Metro, the city centre, business centres and exhibition halls. We offer individual service to satisfy your business and leisure expectations: 492 guest rooms, 12 conference rooms of different capacity from 18 up to 650 people, Priority check-in, VIP Lounge, Executive Rooms, Studios and Suites, restaurants and bars, 24 hour in-room dining, health club, swimming pool and saunas, business centre facilities, car parking facilities and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. According to main travel portals our guests consistently rank us among the top hotels in Moscow. The hotel joined the Halal Friendly Hotels program and China Friendly Hotels program and offers special facilities for Muslims and Chinese guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your AZIMUT Hotel Olympic Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Moscow
Moscow Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing